We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 am - 9:30 pm
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Via Travel
from USD 2,669.09
More Info
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
38
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
38
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I couldn't have asked for a more amazing adventure! Australia is stunningly beautiful. The variety of colors with regards to it's bodies of water, it's magestic landscape surrounded by stoic trees. The reptiles, the marsupials......the people. Australians definitely embody joie de vivre. I definitely learned how to dial it back a bit while observing them. Traveling to Australia was a breath of fresh air. I was humbled by how happy, kind and relaxed locals were. Our tour guide, Luke Holcombe was awesome! So knowledgeable, resourceful, hilarious. I definitely had the time of my life. Our tour group was great too. Small group with folks from different parts of the world in different age groups. If you're contemplating going to Australia, just stop already and buy your ticket. You won't look back.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank MariannaS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart W, Owner at Via Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi Marianna!

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of our tour and your amazing guide Luke! It really makes our small team so pleased to get feedback like yours and we are so glad you enjoyed our laid back culture and beautiful natural environment.

We all wish you a fantastic 2018 and hope you make it back to Australia one day!

Stu, Luke and the team at Via Travel Australia - Boutique East Coast Australia Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Just finished this amazing tour. We had such a fun group and all got on incredibly well. Complete mix of ages. A very small group which was also a bonus as we became like a big family, looking out for each other and making such good friendships. Luke our guide was brilliant. Extremely knowledgeable about our tour and Australian life in general. Luke had some difficult situations to deal with e.g. torrential rain and flooded roads, both caused our itinerary to be changed at the very last minute. When we arrived in Cairns the weather was fantastic and we had an amazing trip to the Great Barrier Reef.
I can thoroughly recommend this tour - very full on and tiring but a fantastic experience was had by all.
A massive thank you to Luke and fellow group members who altogether made this holiday one to never forget.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank Christine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart W, Owner at Via Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2020

Hi Christine,

I hope all is well back home in the UK.

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of your experience on our small group, boutique east coast Australia Tour from Sydney to Cairns.

Luke is a special local caring Australian, the reason he is such an incredible guide who's love and knowledge of for Australia is infectious.

We are glad you commented on how well Luke and our team handled the floods, our number one priority is to make sure everyone was safe... and still have a fantastic experience.

We are in the process of launching new boutique small group Australia tours and will be in touch to update you, in case you have time to come back one day and see more of our beautiful country!

Thanks again, Stu & the team at Via Travel Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

What a totally amazing trip. Via Travel have small group Travel sorted. It’s a long way from Sydney to Cairns even if you do fly the bit from Brisbane to Proserpine and Ralph, our brilliant tour guide, made sure we packed as much into 2 weeks as possible. I am a regular visitor to Australia but thanks to Ralph and his “let’s get off this highway and see the real Australia” attitude the whole trip has given me a greater understanding of this wonderful country, it’s geology, history and culture. There is some typically touristy stuff (Sydney, Hunter Valley) but more importantly lots of interesting places and activities off the beaten track on this tour. Although it is a very busy schedule, it seemed there was always time for a swim here, in waterfalls and swimming holes, a bit of kayaking or surfing there, and some free time to do as you wanted. A certain degree of fitness is required not to mention a love of the outdoors - bush walks and visits to small family run animal sanctuaries give a brilliant insight into Australian flora and fauna. Ralph is incredibly knowledgable about everything Australia and was always ready to share this with us and enthrall and entertain us with his stories of bush life. A week on from finishing the tour I am still on a high and already planning the next one. Thank you Ralph and Via Travel for helping me make so many wonderful memories.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Skilady56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart W, Owner at Via Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Hi Skilady56!

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review for our 14 day Sydney to Cairns east coast Australia tour and your guide Ralph. He is an gentleman and his passion for Australia, the community and environment makes his tours amazing.

It makes our small team so happy to hear your feedback about the unique style of our tours - we are very proud of the small group, off the beaten track experiences that we include in the tour :D

Thanks again from all of us at Via Travel!

Stu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

The Australian East Coast tour was breathtaking. Each day was full of a great variety of activities. The highlights include a trip to the stunning Whitehaven Beach and a 4WD excursion to Fraser Island. Luke Holcombe, our guide, was exceptional; incredibly knowledgeable, prepared, professional and delightfully witty. I would highly recommend this tour!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart W, Owner at Via Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Hey michelleaducasse!

Thanks for taking the time to drop us a review, we love that you thought the East Coast was 'breathtaking'! We do too : D

Luke is a amazing guide and your comments some him up so well! We are lucky to have him in the team!

Thanks again from myself, Luke and the small team at Via Travel Australia : D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

This is an extremely well curated taster of what the east coast has to offer.

The adventure was made all the better with our superb guide Luke Holcombe. His vast knowledge and passion for his country is inspiring, humour infectious and sensitivity towards the group considered and professional. Particularly impressive given it was his 'maiden voyage' leading this tour.

As mentioned be prepared for early starts, sleeping in a different bed (almost) every night and travelling long distances but it's so worth it. There are some absolute stunners on this trip and I feel very privileged to have experienced them. Would happily book with Via again.

Thank Nymah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart W, Owner at Via Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Hi Nymah!

Thanks for taking the time to review our small group east coast Australia tour! Luke was over the moon to have such a amazing group of individuals for his first tour with us. His experience guiding tours all over Australia certainly add to his impressive knowledge and understanding of such a big country!

Thanks for the comment that our tour is a 'extremely well curated taster of what the east coast has to offer". This really means a lot to the whole team as we have worked very hard for years to develop the itinerary and inclusions... we want our guest to see all of the great highlights that the east coast of Australia has to offer but we also want everyone to come away feeling like they have connected with the environment, people, history and modern culture....so thanks again from myself, Luke and the team at Via Travel Australia!



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews