We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sydney Icon Visited But Not For The Food”

Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo
Ranked #13 of 478 Quick Bites in Sydney
Price range: USD 2 - USD 14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Harry’s Café de Wheels has proudly served customers for over 80 years, with the likes of Frank Sinatra, Sir Elton John and Prince Harry having been some of the many to sink their teeth into our iconic ‘Tiger’ Pie
Reviewed 7 September 2019

I visited this iconic place because I had been there more years ago that I wish to recall at some ridiculous hour in the early morning and ate something that resembled a pie and peas.Harry Edwards started the place in 1938 and the name Cafe De Wheels came about because the local council required that food caravans be moved 30 cm each day.It was still there and looked as I recalled, although older and more tired . I was saddened to see my photo, unlike so many famous people who had visited had been removed from the rear wall. Worth a visit even if you do not fancy a pie and peas.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysCafeDeWheels, Owner at Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2019

Thanks for visiting Jack.

Hope to see you back again soon, as with your photo we do cycle them around since we have so many.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2019

Great pie and chips but was sad got overcharged! (got charged for a seafood pie, when I had a beef pie) (Didn't realise until afterwards):(
The chips have an amazing seasoning on, so definitely worth getting them.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmuseboucheUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysCafeDeWheels, Owner at Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2019

Thanks for visiting.

We are sorry you were overcharged. if you return​ please let us know we will shout you a pie!
marketing@harryscafedewheels.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2019

This iconic cafe still serving up great pies and other tasty treats. The chips the best we have eaten in a while.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank buzimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysCafeDeWheels, Owner at Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2019

Thanks for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2019 via mobile

I tasted the two variants of their pies but sadly, both tastes bland for my palate. Although the price is reasonable, i still won't go back if I have an option to eat some place else.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank junacullador
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysCafeDeWheels, Owner at Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Hello.
Thank you for your feedback, we are sad to hear we didn't live up to your expectations. Would you mind sending​ us an email so we can talk further about your review?
marketing@harryscafedewheels.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2019

We went here after a day of sight-seeing in Sydney to try the meat pies. We got there at dusk, and the line was not too long. We didn't have to wait too long either for the food.

The meat pies were so very tasty. The pie crust was great, the fillings tasty, the mushy peas and mash potato toppings added a nice touch. The apple turnover was good as well. Glad we trekked to this location!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank austinamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysCafeDeWheels, Owner at Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2019
Google Translation

Cheers Austin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.