We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good hot dog/pie place, in an iconic location”

Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo
Ranked #13 of 478 Quick Bites in Sydney
Price range: USD 2 - USD 14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Harry’s Café de Wheels has proudly served customers for over 80 years, with the likes of Frank Sinatra, Sir Elton John and Prince Harry having been some of the many to sink their teeth into our iconic ‘Tiger’ Pie
Reviewed 27 December 2018

It's a pretty good hot dog/pie place, in an iconic location. The sausage of the hot dog isn't the highest quality, and the location is actually kinda weird, but I guess for nostalgia it's hard to beat. The toppings on the hot dog are quite good, and the chips are nice. Not much good seating around and there are seagulls everywhere once you are eating

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AndrewCxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysCafeDeWheels, Owner at Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2019

Thanks for the 4 stars Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 77 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2018 via mobile

We were staying at the Ovolo Woolloomooloo, which I highly recommend.
This is just a few steps away. Very tasty! Surprised by the portable restaurant that has been there for years! Check out all the celebrity pics who have eaten there!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank SVLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysCafeDeWheels, Owner at Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2019

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2018 via mobile

Worth a visit as it's a culinary hotspot. Many celebrities on it's wall. Australians don't have a national dish so this is as close as it gets so I suppose that's why it is a must try.

The tiger is just a pie of your choice with mash, mushy peas and gravy. Nothing to shout about. The pie didn't have much filling so it was average.

The pie, mushy peas and mash were all cold being warmed by the gravy, hence the reason why it was an average meal.

The saving grace of the meal were the chips were very good as made to order. I found the Australians did chips/fries very well in general.

The counter staff didn't understand my order although I thought I had been clear. I speak perfect English so it wasn't me, then they gave me a death stare as if it was my fault.

The eateries is a fast food van with a few seats located outside overlooking the harbour. Cheap eats in Sydney so it's good if you're on a budget.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank wendyi866
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 December 2018 via mobile

Had a late lunch at Harry’s with their awesome variety of pies. We had the tiger beef pie, the mash was great with the tasty hot pie filling and crispy crust. The best part was having it on benches overlooking the waters and naval ships, in the cool fall weather.
Bonus for the kids was being able to feed the birds with bits of pie crust and chips. Harry’s still maintains its no frills rustic charm after all these years.

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank duology
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysCafeDeWheels, Owner at Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2019

Thanks for the great feedback, we are so happy to hear your kind words​

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2018 via mobile

Wanted to try this iconic Aussie pie place and it was good. We got the Tiger which was a beef pie with smashed peas and mashed potatoes on top, a curry chicken pie, a hot dog and chili fries. With drinks, our tab came out to about 35AUD. The curry chicken was really good. The beef with peas and potatoes on top seemed like a very English thing. The hot dog was ok. The fries had lots of chili on top but also hot sauce which I'm not accustomed to. All in all, it was good. I would treat it like Pat's and Genos in Philly. Go if you're into bucket list/Bourdain/DDD/Zimmern-type food things - they actually have a pic of Bourdain adorning the outside wall (along with a host of other celebs who have been there). I did think Mocka's Pies in Port Douglas made tastier pies, just without the atmosphere of an iconic shack or the fanfare.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank StephenN1694
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysCafeDeWheels, Owner at Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2019

Thanks​ for visiting Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.