We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #98 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

e stayed in a small very clean and very basic room.The location was great and we were able to explore Sydney from this base using excellent public transport that was easily
accessed from the hotel.I loved the wood paneled walls in the lift lobby.

Room Tip: My room had no view so maybe you should ask for a room with a view when you are booking. I will do t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emomum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    435
    238
    90
    55
See reviews for
115
377
136
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This is essentially an old pub (hotel) but has been tastefully renovated. The hotel is located just near the Chinatown and theatre area and is only 250 metres from Central Station and the interstate coach stops. The hotel is comfortable, quiet, clean and well maintained. A warning though - the rooms are small.

If you're simply looking for somewhere inexpensive (its often possible to get a room for $70) to use as a base to explore Sydney, then this is a great option. The restaurant offers a good range of quite cheap quality meals and you can relax over a few beers in the bar at the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the central section - no view but quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dooragan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was the second time I have stayed here. Both times have been just a very quick overnight usually checking in after 9pm and checking out by 6.30am
I was impressed both times.

The location is perfect, pratically running distance to Central Station which is great for those early morning trains.

The staff are always friendly and helpful with quite a bit of knowledge of the surrounding area.

It is also walking distance to china town which is great for a late night meal.

Really well priced for how lovely and clean the rooms are and how close it is to everything.

Only thing I didn't like was the shower which in my room was over a bath which had quite a bit of a step to get up and over into the bath and back out.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mish84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

i love this hotel i stay here all the time when im in sydney,,,the rooms are fablous and its close to paddys...10/10...love it

Room Tip: ask for a room with a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We recently stayed at the Great Southern for the 3rd time. On our two previous visits we were offered an upgrade upon checking in and both times our rooms were very spacious, both times were double rooms( lounge and bedroom) with large flat screens in both rooms, and views of Sydney skyline, Darling Harbour etc.
What a surprise to arrive this time for a two nights stay to walk into the smallest hotel room in Sydney, complete with a view directly into the window of another room Wow! we requested an upgrade and were told that we could be moved into a larger room with a view the following day, we were even given the room number. We packed our bags the following morning, put them into the storeroom and came back about 3pm collected our room cards and went to our new room. (not the one allotted to us the previous day though). The room was about one square metre larger than the previous, and the view was of a different window of another room. Very disappointed.
We had commented on the standard of the buffet breakfast on our last visit but nothing has changed. For what you pay you receive a very poor selection, lukewarm, and often a wait for plates, cups or cuttlery. Also the restocking of the food as it is consumed takes a long while.
The coffee is appalling. On the second morning we tried the "Great Sanger", please don't repeat our error. This is served in a polystyrene container which you must take away, I suppose it is so that other guests cant see this train wreck of a "meal". As you have to wait for this delight, one would expect it to have been cooked for you, but no, staff must just wander out to the buffet and select some lukewarm items and throw them onto two pieces of cold soggy toast. Being handed your breakfast and expected to be on your way is also slightly demeaning.
The positives: The location, we have used the Hotel to stay prior to flying overseas and it is very very handy to Central Station, buses to get to Circular Quay, the Rocks etc, right at the Markets and not too far to walk to Darling Harbour if you wish.
The Decor, love the use of so much of the old Hotel in the refurbishment. Very nice indeed.
The Pub. They serve cold beer and good reasonably priced pub food.
We may stay again, but can't guarantee it.

Room Tip: Ask for a north or east facing room on either the 7th or 8th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimberBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#53 of 178 in Sydney
277 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Chinatown
Valentine On George
Valentine On George
#116 of 178 in Sydney
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Southern Hotel

Property: The Great Southern Hotel
Address: 717 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#82 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $116 - $261
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing