We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stopover on way to Gold Coast”
Review of Matador Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matador Motor Inn
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2017

This is a nice motel just off the Pacific Highway. Very neat and clean rooms and excellent hosts. Had free fast wifi which was good. Not too far from the city centre and a short drive to the sea front.

Room Tip: Upper floors may be better but there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sanjay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

We are pleased you enjoyed the stay we hope to see you again when next in Coffs Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017

We arrived into Coffs Harbour in the afternoon of New Year's Day and everything was closed. We were forced to eat Maccas for lunch (eek) and then face the prospect of starving until the next day lol. Stephen, the manager, made phone calls to save us the trouble of driving around to find somewhere for dinner and found us the only restaurant that was open. We did not ask him to do this, he just did it. Our room was clean and very comfortable with complimentary BOTTLED water in the fridge.We will definitely stay there again when next travelling down the coast.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2017

Thank you for your feedback it is good to know that our guests enjoy their stay at our Motel.
We like to think that we look after our guest and it is good the know that it is appreciated and look forward to our next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Great service, quiet location (except for compression braking and that's the council's fault). Comfy beds and nice shower. We really appreciated the dinner recommendations especially on the public holiday. I would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank marge31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this review we appreciate the feedback
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again when in Coffs Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

It was getting late whe we got to Coffs and at first we tried the Banana Motel across the street but athough the door was open no one came to assist us. We decided to come here to the Matador and we were really glad we did. Lady was very friendly and very helpful taking me to the room to show me how everything worked. The bed was really comfortable and the room was spotless , whoever cleans this motel does a reay good job. We will stay here again as we were more than happy. Great motel...

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Yvonne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this review we do appreciate the feedback.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Booked into this motel for 2 nights, good stay, room very clean, owners very helpful for any information. Motel on corner of highway at traffic lights with uphill climb, thought it would be noisy with traffic but heard nothing, beds supper soft, would be happy staying again

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank blackalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Thanks you for taking the time to write this review we do appreciate your feedback.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming your back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1 km away
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
0.1 km away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#14 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
201 reviews
2.9 km away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#6 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
#35 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
451 reviews
2.8 km away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
285 reviews
2.8 km away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matador Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matador Motor Inn

Address: 11 Grafton St | Cnr of Pacific Hwy and Albvany Street, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#5 Business Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: $114 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Matador Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Matador Motor Inn has been operating in Coffs Harbour as an accommodation haven continuously for more than 40 years and has been a home away from home for thousands of guests. Just five minutes’ walk to the central business district, the Matador Motor Inn is one of the most popular accommodation stop-over Motels in Coffs Harbour. For the travellers, we are situated halfway between Sydney and Brisbane. The Matador Motor Inn with its relaxing atmosphere is the choice of many travellers on the Pacific Highway. Late check-in by arrangement only please call. Having completed numerous refurbishments leveraging the property’s ’70s heritage, now more than ever the Matador is a fabulous choice if you are looking for affordable, boutique motel accommodation and outstanding customer service. You can enjoy your stay in clean, comfortable and stylish rooms. We offer a choice of configurations: from Premium Queen and King to Twin and Family room options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Matador Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matador Hotel Coffs Harbour
Matador Motel Coffs Harbour
Matador Motor Inn Coffs Harbour, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing