We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum”
Review of Ernies Kitchen

Ernies Kitchen
Ranked #10 of 216 Restaurants in Coffs Harbour
Price range: USD 5 - USD 21
Description: Ernies Kitchen offers an Australian vibe by the way of introducing native herbs, spices, flora, & fauna, into our dishes & drinks. We source locally and Australia wide supporting home grown businesses, finally, delivering our Australian inspired concept to your taste buds. Ernies Kitchen proudly embellishes "Tyrrell's Wines" form the Hunter Valley; premium specialty coffee by "The Laughing Pug" & Australian blended teas by "Tea Leaves." We hope to see you soon at Ernies
Restaurant details
Description: Ernies Kitchen offers an Australian vibe by the way of introducing native herbs, spices, flora, & fauna, into our dishes & drinks. We source locally and Australia wide supporting home grown businesses, finally, delivering our Australian inspired concept to your taste buds. Ernies Kitchen proudly embellishes "Tyrrell's Wines" form the Hunter Valley; premium specialty coffee by "The Laughing Pug" & Australian blended teas by "Tea Leaves." We hope to see you soon at Ernies
Reviewed 10 April 2022 via mobile

Ernies have recently opened for night time dining and it's a treat.
The staff are sooooo well trained and their attention to detail is excellent. Ernie oversees their every move and what you get is service of a kind rarely seen in Coffs Harbour.
Presentation is paramount and you can really see what they are trying to achieve in every detail from napkins on hot surfaces to beautiful glassware and cutlery.
To supplement all this, the food is excellent. We had the garlic prawns for entree and they were the best I've ever had. Plump and tasty and perfectly cooked. We followed this with risotto and my partner had the steak. Perfectly cooked with baked vegetables bursting with flavor.
The setting is lovely and has indoor and outdoor dining. The amenities are clean and huge.
It's not cheap to dine at Ernie's but the experience is delightful.

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2022

This is one of the hidden gems in Coffs Harbour. Wonderful atmosphere, excellent food and the service is warm & friendly. Also many Gluten Free options.

Date of visit: April 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Footprints515194
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2022 via mobile

Whilst the food and service was adequate. Nothing to rave about. Probably a bit overpriced really. Service at the till - abysmal. No splitting g the bill despite advising they would only take cash and then added a 10% surcharge for the costs of staff on a Sunday - no not a tip for staff - a surcharge. Little to commend this joint for breakfast. I’ll go elsewhere.

Date of visit: March 2022
Thank mironatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Owner at Ernies Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2022

Thank you for your feed back! You sat on table 6. I remember you quite well. Yes, we don't spilt bills! That is our policy & you need to respect that. Your review is based on the fact we didn't spilt your bill because we are too busy on weekends to do so, during the week we are sometimes able to do this for you. An option is given to you to pay cash or card please tell the truth, yes, Because 'tap & go' carries a surcharge, & some customers choose to pay cash because they can & don't want surcharges. As small business will cannot absorb these costs & pay your bank fees, so these give you the option. Yes, a week end 10% service on bills goes towards staff penalty rates, these are normal in small businesses like ours to stay open & pay the staff. Tips are optional & having nothing to do with wages. But you didn't tip your floor attendant! We are a business every thing is fully costed in line flatiron & the current economic market. You scoffed your breakfast, loved the food, your plates were 'cleaner than clean'. Its shame you feel the need to write this review based on the facts above purely because the way we operate & you just don't like our assertion to our business. We offer incredible food & service & you know that! Customers see through reviews like these. At Ernies we aim to please Kr Ernest & Matthew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2022

A Granola Bowl is my favourite for Brekkie so I've had plenty in many different restaurants. Ernie's offering was unimaginative and lacked fresh fruit apart from 1/2 a sliced apple with minimal yoghurt. The berry coulis/syrup was way too sweet to be healthy - like a warm jam. Disappointing and over priced for the lack of effort!

Date of visit: February 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank julievan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Owner at Ernies Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2022

Hi Julievan2015,

Can we firstly say, thank you for choosing Ernies Kitchen for your breakfast experience. We appreciate your custom. We aim to go out of our way to please our guests to accommodate them to the best of our abilities.

We will now will take this opportunity to discuss the issues you raise in your review one by one. 1. You claim you have had myriad Granola Bowls in different restaurants but fail to mention where? These would of validated your point here. 2. You argue the Granola is unimaginative lacking fruit. BUT it is a 'Granola Bowl' not a 'Fruit Bowl or an Acacia Bowl' - they are all distinctly different dishes.

Our 'Granola Bowl' is clearly described on the menu that you read, pertaining to its title, with no mention of fruit. The 1/2 apple you found, is a subtle component to the dish I personally designed (the yogurt part I will discuss in due course). The 'fruit compote' (you call a berry coulis which is totally different & incorrect) is exactly what it is in definition: pieces of fruit ( local blueberries on our granola) cooked in water & sugar, so YES it will be, & is meant to be, sweet. As for it being healthy or unhealthy, it's not relevant here as that is personal taste. BUT most customers will be aware a fruit compote is sweet. It is designed to tone down the 'sourness' of the Greek yogurt. A 'coulis' has water, lemon juice, sugar & liqueur in it - with 'pureed' fruit - not pieces of fruit (certainly not what we serve). It's only fair that you should know the differences before you do a critique.

3. Had you kindly asked one of team members for 'extra yogurt' that could of been easily fixed to your satisfaction. Most of customers ask for a side of milk or alternative milk to mop the final bits of Granola. Also, you could asked at the same time for some fresh fruit to be added to your Granola Bowl as well. We have fresh banana, grapefruit, orange we use in other dishes. Julievan2015, if you don't bring these to our attention how can we fix something for you? We also ask 'all' customers on the way out 'how everything was' & here was another opportunity for you to discuss this then with myself, Matthew &/or the team. 4. And finally on the price - our menu is fully costed so we can pay our staff, our suppliers & make a living ourselves.

Finally, oh contraire Julievan2015, what is 'truly disappointing with lacking effort' is that you had ample opportunities to bring these to our attention & we could of 'met all your needs to your satisfaction' you discuss above. BUT you chose not to. Next time you are in Coffs Harbour please call the restaurant for me to personally serve you a complementary 'Granola Bowl with extra yogurt, no fruit compote BUT with added fruit' & you can then tell me in person where you have eaten Granola Bowls, with what makes you an expert on them - I love learning from others. At Ernies Kitchen we aim to please. Kr Ernest & Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2022 via mobile

Absolutely fabulous meal at Ernie’s!! Wonderful service from Ernie and Tyler who showed genuine interest in providing a quality experience. The food was delicious - well presented and cooked to perfection. The apple and custard spring rolls for dessert were simply delicious. The genuine and friendly service topped off a wonderful lunch experience.

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank Maps819281
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Ernies Kitchen also viewed

Moonee Beach, Coffs Harbour
 
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 

Been to Ernies Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.