We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$158
Priceline
AU$177
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
AU$135
Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Things_i_do_for_wine
Melbourne, Australia

A night in our nations capital

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Apr 2024via mobile
Location is great, staff efficient and friendly, nice bar down stairs, the room was really good. Bed was excellent.

Great little cafe across the road serving good coffee and breakfast.

Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and it will be my hotel of choice when I’m next in Canberra.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mario Stanic, General Manager at Avenue Hotel Canberra, responded to this review
Responded 14 Apr 2024
Warm greetings from The Avenue, Canberra

Thank you for your time writing us a review and choosing to stay with us

I am delighted you had a fantastic time and enjoyed your stay, I am happy to read that you found the team efficient & friendly. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay to the hotel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$166
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$166
  • Vio.com
    AU$143
  • Hotels.com
    AU$166
1.3 km from Avenue Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$118
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$118
  • Agoda.com
    AU$110
  • Hotels.com
    AU$118
1.8 km from Avenue Hotel Canberra
Free parking
Pool
Garden Villa
Booking.com
AU$164
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$134
  • Agoda.com
    AU$119
  • Hotels.com
    AU$151
3.0 km from Avenue Hotel Canberra
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$298
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$298
  • Hyatt.com
  • Hotels.com
    AU$298
2.8 km from Avenue Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Pool
Official Hotel
AU$147
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$147
  • Agoda.com
    AU$125
  • Priceline
    AU$139
4.5 km from Avenue Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$120
  • Mercure
    AU$133
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$116
  • Priceline
    AU$133
1.1 km from Avenue Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
AU$169
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$169
  • StayForLong
    AU$140
  • Expedia.com
    AU$169
5.5 km from Avenue Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
AU$159
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$159
  • Agoda.com
    AU$124
  • Hotels.com
    AU$159
6.6 km from Avenue Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$160
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$149
  • Agoda.com
    AU$132
  • Hotels.com
    AU$165
6.6 km from Avenue Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$234
  • Agoda.com
    AU$197
  • Priceline
    AU$234
5.0 km from Avenue Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Canberra
Reviews (3,289)
Filter reviews
3,289 results
Traveller rating
2,392
640
152
62
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,392
640
152
62
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location one bedroom apartment spa suite nespresso machine excellent hotel buffet breakfast room service washer dryer free parking within walking distance restaurants and bars definitely stay here again city centre comfortable beds a great place to stay mini bar business trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 3,289 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2024

Great room, extremely comfortable bed and pillows! Highly recommend.
We stayed in a room with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a kitchenette. The rooms were immaculate, it was reasonably priced, check in process was easy and there is undercover parking.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discover10382586219
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mario Stanic, General Manager at Avenue Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Warm greetings from The Avenue, Canberra

Thank you for your time writing us a review and choosing to stay with us

I am delighted you had a fantastic time and enjoyed your stay and your comfortable bed & pillows. I am happy to read you check in process was easy.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2024

By far the most comfortable beds I've slept in at a hotel! I keep coming back for the best sleep ever. The room is nice and has everything you need. The only negative is the checkin and checkout process which is slow. On check in there were 3 staff members but only 1 serving so the line had quite a few people and the checkout there was only 1 who was on the phone. Also having to pay for parking when we paid a premium price for the room left a bad taste. (last stay it was included).

Room tip: Can't really go wrong staying here. Just allow time for check in and check out.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mario Stanic, General Manager at Avenue Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Warm greetings from The Avenue, Canberra

Thank you for your time writing us a review and choosing to stay with us

I am delighted you had a fantastic time and enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your excellent feedback re Comfortable bed, all guests that book directly with the hotel get a extra benfit of free parking. Your second booking was made by a OTA a online travel where we do not offer free parking and the fee is 20 per day.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2024

Surprisingly quiet rooms (we left the double-glazed windows open over night to catch the breeze). Friendly staff, quite a good hotel restaurant. Location, whilst not EXACTLY central, was a quick walk into the middle of town (and there were quite a few bars and restaurants, etc in the immediate vicinity).

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kylieandmaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mario Stanic, General Manager at Avenue Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Warm greetings from The Avenue, Canberra

Thank you for your time writing us a review and choosing to stay with us

I am delighted you had a fantastic time and enjoyed your stay & enjoyed our restaurant & bar Marble & Grain. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2024

Really enjoyed our 2 nights stay at this hotel! Conveniently located within walking distance of all really yummy cafes and restaurants , gorgeous rooms, the bed was super comfy! Great to have parking at the location! Staff were all lovely. We will definitely rebook when we return one day!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniellemaddock88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mario Stanic, General Manager at Avenue Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Warm greetings from The Avenue, Canberra

Thank you for your time writing us a review and choosing to stay with us

I am delighted you had a fantastic time and enjoyed your stay with our super comfy bed. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2024

With the exception of a room misunderstanding on check in , the correct room was fantastic and manger gave us a bottle of champagne. The restaurant was , expensive but fantastic for dinner and breakfast.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paulchidgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mario Stanic, General Manager at Avenue Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Warm greetings from The Avenue, Canberra

Thank you for your time writing us a review and choosing to stay with us

I am delighted you had a fantastic time and enjoyed your stay & Happy 30th Wedding Anniversary I glad to read that you enjoyed the champagne , we do hope to see you again. The prices in our Steak restaurant Marble & Grain are in line with other restaurants in town & lower than most.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews