We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Luxurious, but decent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pacific Suites Canberra
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not Luxurious, but decent”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

There are quite a few serviced apartment hotel in this area of Canberra which provide an easy walk into the city center. Over the years I have stayed in several of them, and they tend to quite similar. If you want a short term apartment, this one is fine. If you want to stay in a fancy hotel, then stay at the Hyatt. A number of hotels in Canberra are like the city itself, clean and functional, but not exciting.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TominLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    674
    155
    50
    28
See reviews for
793
304
44
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apt. for a few nights to see Canberra's sights. You definitely need a car to get around. Lovely view from our higher floor balcony and the pool was great for the very hot weather. Although very busy, still plenty of room to cool down in the pool, and family friendly. The rooms are very spacious and have everything you need, but some of the loungeroom furniture is quite worn. They had no pool towels each time we asked - we weren't sure whether they had run out, or they don't supply them. The service wasn't that great; there was no offer to help us get our bags to the room, and when we paid at the end of our stay, we were charged a credit card surcharge, whereas if we'd booked and paid online we wouldn't have been charged the surcharge. Didn't make sense and they certainly hadn't pre-warned us that we would have to pay this charge. There are some cafes and restaurants in the street behind the hotel that are very close to walk to. Undercover parking is good and nice bathroom attached to each bedroom.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HospitalityPolice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

expensive price with poor service.
not have bathrobe, not have slipper, not have airconditioner in bedroom(canberra is so cold!!!)
not very close to center. if you don't have a car, don't live there.

Room Tip: not to choose it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Clifton on Northbourne is located on the main road leading into Canberra's centre (Civic) and is easy to find. There is a spacious three level secure car park which is serviced by two lifts so there is little waiting. Reception is small but attended by friendly and helpful staff members.

I had booked a superior room but was provided with a two bedroom apartment which was very spacious, immaculately clean and well furnished. The apartment boasted a range-top, full oven, large refrigerator, microwave, washing machine and dryer. And there were two large flat screen televisions - one in the main bedroom and one in the lounge. The bed was very comfortable and even though the property is on Northbourne Avenue there was no traffic noise.

Clifton advises that the apartments are only "serviced lightly" on a daily basis but we were more than satisfied with the service we received. Towels and bed lined are changed on request.

The location is perfect - out of the centre of Civic but close enough to walk into if necessary. It is also close to the suburb of Dickson which has a large number of interesting restaurants and cafes (check out Belluci's). There is also a huge 1st Choice outlet immediately behind the property and a Coles service station and convenience store nearby.

All-in-all we really enjoyed our stay at Clifton on Northbourne and would DEFINITELY stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burleighboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment as a group of 4 ladies. We were blown away by how spacious and modern the rooms were. There was a lovely balcony running the whole width of the apartment, with doors leading off both bedrooms and the lounge area. The kitchen was fabulous and midern and even included a drawer style dishwasher. Bathrooms were off each bedroom and were large and clean with a bath in one of the bathrooms.
These apartments were priced well and would suit a family or like us, a group of friends.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherylchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.3 km away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
1.4 km away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
5.3 km away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
4.0 km away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,538 reviews
1.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Suites Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Suites Canberra

Property: Pacific Suites Canberra
Address: 100 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2601, Australia (Formerly Clifton Suites on Northbourne)
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#4 Business Hotel in Canberra
#7 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price range (per night): $161 - $348
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pacific Suites Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Suites Canberra (formerly the Clifton Suites on Northbourne) is Canberra's multi award-winning apartment hotel, just minutes from the heart of Canberra's premier shopping, dining and entertainment district, perfect for your stay in Canberra. The hotel is in an ideal location for business travelers with a two minute walk to the CBD and a 5-10 minute drive to other government and business hubs. Pacific Suites Canberra is considered one of Canberra's finest and most innovative accommodation and corporate function venues. The hotel features four dedicated functions rooms, with options for a guest list from 4 up to 100 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Australia, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, HotelsClick, Otel, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Pacific Suites Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Clifton On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Quality Inn Canberra
Quality Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing