We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
46
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostscheese plattercooked breakfaston arrivalswimming poolquiet locationstayed for nightsoff street parkingtea and coffeevisit canberraensuitesuburbguestsgymaccommodationfacilities
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 50 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and 17 month old daughter really did make ourselves at home at Debbie and Mark's B&B. We had dinner the first night and it was great; a terrine for starters, then roast pork with crackling and vegetables (two types of potato!), Manchester pie for dessert and a cheese platter for afters! We couldn't finish most of it! The breakfast was just as generous, we didn't even touch the cereal or fruit as the cooked meal was so huge!
The bedroom was very roomy, and we had a lot of stuff as we were travelling with a toddler. The beds were comfortable and the whole place was spotlessly clean. We were able to use the bath in the main bathroom to bathe our daughter and as there was a single room free we were able to put our daughter's portacot in that room.
Debbie even went so far as to purchase a child safety gate to protect our daughter from falling down the stairs to their apartment.
Nothing was too much trouble. Recommendations on where to go, brochures in the book in our room.... All made for a great stay. We were a bit sad to leave!!

Room Tip: The twin room has a bigger ensuite and lots of storage space.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gingercats2, Owner at The Pommy Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you for your great feedback, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, you were great guests and it was a pleasure to meet you all. We purchased the safety gate as we wanted to ensure your daughter was kept safe. We look forward to meeting you again if you return to Canberra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Behind the unassuming exterior of this lovely B & B, a little bit of English "know how" awaits.
You will not be disappointed with anything about The Pommy Tree.
All the facilities have been renovated with thought and care to give you a most pleasant & relaxing experience. And Mark & Debbie have the perfect mix of interaction and privacy for their "guests".

Mark's 4am start to prepare fresh fruit, yogurt, tea & coffee, and takeaway Bacon Butties for our early morning flight was greatly appreciated and testament to their approach.

I agree totally withEverything written by previous reviewer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ozgreynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gingercats2, Owner at The Pommy Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, you and your sister were great guests and we hope you will choose The Pommy Tree on your next visit to Canberra.
Ps...Hope you enjoyed the bacon butties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Wonderful. Cannot fault this gem of a B&B or the warm hospitality from Mark and Debbie. They insist that you 'make your self at home', help yourself to tea and coffee and the snacks left out for you, and generally relax and enjoy the luxury of their beautiful home. Clean and comfortable beds. Bathroom with shower and spa bath. Amazing breakfast, thanks Mark. Wish I could have stayed for dinner! Shame it wasn't warm enough for a dip in the pool. Free wifi too, which is always a bonus. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Trek802914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gingercats2, Owner at The Pommy Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thanks for your feedback.. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us enjoying a bit of english hospitality. A dip in the pool is certainly recommended on your next visit especially in the summer months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC