We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and damp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra
Ranked #54 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Old and damp”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Getting long in the tooth room ok decor very 80's bathroom smelt damp poor lighting cheep pillows so for theory just ok. Is in a good location

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulwoodsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    133
    145
    61
    95
See reviews for
118
128
38
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Not worth the full price advertised as the hotel is a dated but has a warm friendly atmosphere. Bit like being in a time warp. The inhouse restaurant is expensive. The water pressure in the showers was average but the beds were comfortable. In room bar prices are the cheapest I have ever seen in a hotel. Location is within walking distance to Canberra city for resturants and take away. Great pizza at Crust Pizza just a block away. Quiet and would stay again if the price is right. Paid $100.00 on a wotif last minute deal.

Room Tip: I booked a double but it had an old wooden bunk in the room as well. Not sure is this is the case w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodieG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This was my first visit to Canberra as I live in Western Australia and had no reason to visit ACT until now. I booked a one bedroom family spa suite for four nights which was perfect for my husband, my adult daughter, my adult son, based in Canberra, who stayed with us for one night. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and was appropriately equipped and the hotel itself was well located, a 10 minute walk to the main city area with shops, cafes and bars. The restaurant The Haig was excellent and we had dinner there twice. The seared scallops are to die for. My only criticism would be the quality of the breakfast at a cost of $15 per person but then I am accustomed to cheap quality buffet breakfasts in Bali. When we return in 14 months for the next parade I will book CEA again.

Room Tip: Breakfast - better to go around the corner to a gorgeous little bakery in Girrawheen Street (check o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tinathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellharbour
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This hotel is conveniently located on Northbourne Ave, close to many attractions. The room is clean and tidy with plenty of spare blankets. It contained a kitchenette with a microwave, 2 hot plates and plenty of cutlery and plates. It did not charge extra for a child over the age of 13, which was huge plus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oboeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Through a special offer, I paid A$ 180 per night for my room. So that was A$ 360 for two nights. For American readers, that's about US$ 370 for two nights. My expectations weren't high - you don't get a lot for A$ 180 in Canberra - but I thought it would be decent. Oooh, I was wrong.

Check-in was OK. Then I went to my room. It was a "Family Spa Suite". You walk into the living room, I suppose: there were four hard chairs and a small dining table, a mini-kitchen, two fridges (no, I don't know why either), a bunk bed, and a pull-down bed thing. No sofa - nowhere to sit and relax if you were a family. And no window. Just flourescent lighting. Mmm... fluorescent. And there was a tiny TV above the cooker. Quite where you'd sit to watch this TV I don't know, but there you go.

Then, the bedroom. There was a bed, and a TV, and a nasty leatherette chair. There was a clock-radio with a broken volume control, plugged into a broken powerpoint that had one socket that worked, one that didn't, one that sparked disconcertingly, and one that you couldn't reach without pulling the bed out. The bed itself was incredibly soft, and not in a good way. The sheets were not tucked in properly; there was a scratchy old blanket and a horrible bedspread. The whole bed / bedroom smelt of urine.

There were no curtains in the bedroom, just some very gappy venetian blinds; as the room was opposite a servo (petrol station / gas station), this meant that the bedroom was flooded with light when you were trying to sleep. Still, I suppose that makes up for the completely dark, windowless living room: if you average out the light levels, they're sort of OK: it's just that the light is in the wrong places at the wrong time.

The bathroom had hot water that was dangerously hot. I believe that in Canberra, hotel water is supposed to be limited to 50C: this supply did not seem to comply with that regulation. This wouldn't be such a problem if the shower water pressure didn't fluctuate so wildly that you'd be alternately frozen and scalded as you tried to shower. Also, if you're tall, you can't get in the shower: I'm 5'7", and my head was about 6 inches from the ceiling when I stood in the shower.

Neither the living room nor the bedroom has been decorated since the 70s: the furniture is old, scuffed, and extremely ugly. It really was a depressing room to be in.

The location is interesting. It's about 5 minutes' walk from the Canberra Centre, and about A$ 15-20 by taxi from Parliament. It's also ideally located if you like going onto a street where mad people shout at lampposts.

So... horrible decor, no curtains, terrible bed, windowless cell, dangerous electricity and dangerous water...

And then, the really astonishing bit. A$ 180, the word "executive" in its name, and there's no Internet in the room. Yes, you read that right: no Internet. Now that's 70s retro! I can only assume that these "executives" after whom the hotel is named are too important to check their e-mail. It is possible to use the very weak Wi-Fi signal from the lobby: this does not reach any rooms, but you can sit in the breakfast room to use that Wi-Fi while other people eat their breakfast and stare at you. And that weak Wi-Fi signal and slow connection costs another A$ 5 per half hour! Yes, really. Not satisfied with charging you A$ 180 for an ugly, depressing, dangerous, smelly room, they charge you A$ 5 for the privilege of perching in a cafe to use the Internet.

I have very low expectations of Australian hotels. But even by Australian standards, this was appalling. I have no objection to paying A$ 180 per night, but for that I want a clean, pleasant, safe room and an Internet connection. I don't think that's too much to ask. For the money, I'd say that this was the worst hotel I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Oooh, I've got a tip for choosing a good room. Stay somewhere else. Seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BruceShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.2 km away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,632 reviews
0.4 km away
Canberra Rex Hotel
Canberra Rex Hotel
#23 of 57 in Canberra
637 reviews
0.4 km away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,544 reviews
1.8 km away
University House
University House
#29 of 57 in Canberra
339 reviews
0.6 km away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra

Property: Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra
Address: 108 Northbourne Ave & Cnr Girrahween St | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price range (per night): $101 - $192
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located two blocks north of the CBD, a five minute stroll, our 83 room boutique style hotel. Value That Impresses:The Capital Executive Apartment Hotel, located just a short stroll from the city centre down Canberra's most tree-lined boulevard, Northbourne Avenue, is your stylish and comfortable "home away from home". The 59 studio apartments and 24 one bedroom spa suites, combined with 24 hour under cover security parking, offer the holidaymaker or business traveller great value at realistic prices. Features That Please:Soak up the classic modern ambience that is our stunning three storey atrium as you enjoy a pre-dinner drink or a quiet meeting in any of the intimate lounge areas. Pamper yourself in our sauna room or one of our 2 x 8 person heated spa pools after that workout in the gym. As day becomes night, enjoy Canberra's languid summer evenings outdoors in our alfresco courtyard overlooking the stately pines of Haig Park; or, if it's just that special time together, simply phone for our prompt and friendly room service. The choice is yours. Rooms to Relax In All room types feature reverse cycle air conditioning and are serviced and maintained to a four star standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Capital Executive
Comfort Inn Canberra
Canberra Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing