We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come home to Tall Trees”
Review of Tall Trees Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tall Trees Motel
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Come home to Tall Trees”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Having stayed in my share of Motels in Canberra (business as well as pleasure) it is a breath of fresh air knowing that I have now found Tall Trees Best Western. The reception staff Can Not be beaten they are always helpful and friendly nothing is ever too much trouble for them it's nice to know that when I check into the Motel I am greeted by helpful friendly staff members
The rooms are always clean and pristine with plenty of nice thick towels. I am a regular now there is no where else I would rather stay every 4 weeks than at Tall Trees Best Western.
Thank you to Chantell, Amanda and Pat for always making my stay like I have come home I feel safe and comfortable every stay.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room I have tried many and all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thank you so much for your sparkling review of our property. Our team works extremely hard to ensure that Tall Trees feels like home away from home, and your positive feedback is most gratifying. Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again. Wishing you all the best for 2012. With kind regards - Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    153
    122
    35
    24
See reviews for
131
138
25
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Having tried many of the tired motels in Canberra it was a great pleasure to "discover" Tall Trees Best Western. Staff are helpful & friendly, rooms are spotless, dining room staff are as for front office staff, helpful & friendly. Space to do the office work in the room and a balcony that "works".

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
We much appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our executive and business rooms. Those rooms are of a particularly generous size by any standards. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and assure you that we will make every effort to ensure that your stay will be as pleasant as the sojourn which you have described. All 79 rooms have now been totally renovated and AAA have given the property a 4 star rating. Best wishes for the festive season. Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2011

My partner and I stayed here on the foreshore weekend in Canberra and I must say although it was a booked out Saturday night I had a nice peaceful sleep considering all the other young party goers like myself alsostaying here. The rooms are newly renovated and the room I had was spacious and very clean I will definately recommend tall trees to my friends and family, I just want to mention that all the staff we dealt with were fantastic. It was good to have breakfast in the morning as well, plenty of parking and not too far from where we had to go.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weekendrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value your positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes the festive season. Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The door lock stopped working and we couldn't get into our room! The motel staff's key also did not work. This was even more distressing as we were coming back from a wedding at 10pm with two young kids, who ended up sleeping on the concrete outside while the receptionist very slowly and reluctantly handled the problem - we had to convince her that we couldn't just leave our stuff in the room until the next morning, as we had nappies and medicines in there.

She treated the whole problem like we were inconveniencing her rather than being apologetic. She also didn't seem happy about having to break into the room, however this proved alarmingly easy, as all we had to do was jiggle the LOCKED window about a bit - it unlocked and slid open and we could reach in and open the door handle from inside. We eventually got moved to another smaller room with working keys. She didn't offer to help us move and actually asked us to clear the bar fridge in the new room ourselves so we could put our food in there. We had to ask for a complimentary breakfast the next morning, since the new room had no microwave, rather than being offered one - or a decent apology.

Also during our stay, we found housekeeping had left the window we had locked open, meaning only a fly screen stopped anyone from opening the door.

The rest of the staff we encountered were ok and the rooms were otherwise decent.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank miniwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
We refer to your review. We have interviewed the staff member in question, regarding your complaints. Inevitably, she has a different version of the events and denies that she did not offer to assist in moving you and that her attitude was questionable. However, leaving that aside, it is unfortunate that the electronic lock on the door played up, and we have now taken steps to ensure that this problem is unlikely to reoccur. We have also addressed the security issue. On examining the facts, we feel that the one mistake that the receptionist made was not to immediately allow you to put the kids to bed in the other room. Had she done that, and then gone about trying to open the door, the inconvenience that you suffered would have been minimized. We assure you that we have a committment to service. On this occasion your perception was that the receptionist was not particularly helpful, and we apologise for that. Should you elect to stay with us again, our General Manager, Pat Young, will go out of her way to ensure that you have a comfortable and incident-free stay in one of our spacious, newly renovated rooms. Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year - Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I have used this place for a work a number of times and it is your standard 3 and half star place. I like the fact you get plenty of tea and coffee and sweet biscuits as I normally need that when I arrive and not interested in having to leave the hotel. Have not used the restaurant so can not comment but otherwise clean, reasonable location, quiet and acceptable staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nothing_but_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you for your review, which is generally positive. We respectfully point out that we find the review a little perplexing in that you suggest that we are "pretty standard", but you continue to stay with us. Only a few weeks ago we were inspected by AAA, which rated us 4 star. All 79 rooms have now been renovated and we suggest that, if you find our standard rooms are not entirely to your liking, you may wish to upgrade to one of our larger rooms, in the main wing of the hotel, at a small incremental cost. We look forward to welcoming you back again and assure you of our commitment to service and professionalism. Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.4 km away
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
1.2 km away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#20 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.9 km away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#21 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
4.6 km away
Ibis Budget Canberra
Ibis Budget Canberra
#48 of 57 in Canberra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
3.5 km away
Red Cedars Motel
Red Cedars Motel
#46 of 57 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Trees Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Trees Motel

Property: Tall Trees Motel
Address: 21 Stephen St, Canberra 2602, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra)
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Canberra
#30 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price range (per night): $127 - $234
Hotel Class:4 star — Tall Trees Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality boutique motel in a quiet, leafy, central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Tall Trees Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ainslie
Best Western Canberra
Canberra Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing