We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Ranked #31 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location but seen better days”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed here for two nights. great location cost to many good restaurants and surrounding attractions. Hotel itself looks upmarket at reception but when you get to the rooms it was a little dated. The rooms are a good size with very comfy bed .

On the down side the curtains did not cover the entire window so morning sun wakes you very early for a weekend. My advice is do not get an east facing room. the towels supplied were quite hard and rough
Breakfast is very nice although service on the Sunday was a bit ordinary due to small numbers of staff on duty.

Room Tip: Away from eastern side if you like sleeping in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear PaulDev

Thank you for submitting your comments regarding your stay at Rydges Capital Hill. I was pleased to read that you found the location of the hotel to suit your needs. We are close to some great restaurants in Manuka and Kingston. We are also close to some of Canberra’s greatest attractions. I was disappointed to read that you felt the hotel rooms were dated and the Breakfast was not up to standard. I have passed on your comments to the Food & Beverage Manager who will organise extra staff on busy Sunday mornings and to the Hotel General Manager regarding the room Decor.
Thank you again for expressing your opinion regarding your stay. All guests feedback is vital to our hotel as it helps us to understand areas for improvement. I hope we can welcome you back to Rydges Capital Hill for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    377
    294
    107
    65
See reviews for
266
339
61
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I have stayed at a few hotels in Canberra and many are getting on in age a bit which other contributors note. What I like about Rydges Capital Hill are the staff, they are interested and will go out of their way to assist. On this visit I arrived around 11pm and wanted to have a drink with a colleague and teh duty manager made very prompt arrangements for us though the bar had just closed. The rooms are comfortable, the bed pretty good and pillows OK. If Parliament is sitting you will have breakfast with many well known faces in the room and this place seems to have unlimited newspapers papers available and great variety. Importantly this hotel is just a 12 minute walk to my favourite restaurant in Canberra, Portia's Place - you must visit and include the duck. I like the bar at the Rydges and they have a good variety of beers on tap and excellent service. If you are going to talk about the politicians you have seen during the day this has to be a good place to have a beer and relax. I will be going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrumanWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear TrumanWA

Thank you for posting your comment regarding your recent stay at Rydges Capital Hill. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable visit and found the hotels location to suit your needs. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2012

In Canberra for a day of business and decided to stay at Rydges Capital Hill. Although the foyer sets the expectation of an up market hotel the rooms fail to deliver on that expectation. Very disappointing and value for money is just not there. I really expected something better of a hotel in our nations capital. Will try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrixiaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear TrixiaM

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at Rydges Capital Hill. Im sorry you feel that the hotel is not to your expectation and was not value for money. We pride ourselves on our impecable service and value for money and to see that we did not deliver is dissapointing. Please accept my apologies.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments regarding yiur stay at Rydges Capital Hill. I hope we are able to welcome you back for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

A dated hotel, yet rooms were surprisingly warm and inviting on a cold weekend (albeit very aged).
Staff very helpful and professional.
Location is only short drive from attractions and short walk to Manuka, although not the shortest walk on a cold night!
Certainly a decent place to stay for the heavily discounted price we paid.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Dbth2

Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback regarding your stay at Rydges Capital Hill. I was pleased to see that you overall enjoyed your stay despite the cold weather. I was also pleased to read that you found the hotel to be of good value with the price that you paid.
Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your stay at Rydges Capital Hill. I hope we are able to welcome you back on hopefully a sunny & warm day in the future.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Husband & I (late 40s) stayed in Jan 2012 for one night using a discount package ($119 in Queen Superior including full breakfast). Hotel is showing its age and could do with a make over. Reception staff were friendly and efficient. Room was good size, clean, bed comfortable but furnishings were a mix of old and new and mini-bar provided. Flat screen TV was locked down preventing USB / other source inputs from being used, I though this quite petty. Free wi-fi but signal was low in our room, still usable though. Underground car parking was an additional $12, it was also $8.80 to use the gym but free for the pool/spa. Buffet breakfast was OK with ample choice, nothing fancy though. Papers were supplied and plenty of them. Location was close to Manuka restaurants (10min walk) and Parliament House. In summary, a comfortable hotel in need of some attention. Better value for money stays elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glammaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear ACT-YaYa

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at Rydges Capital Hill. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with some minor areas where we may need to focus some attention. I have passed on these comments to the General Manager who will personally look into these issues.
Thank you again for taking the time to express your comments regarding your stay. I hope we can welcome you back to Rydges Capital Hill in the future.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
0.5 km away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.4 km away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
1.9 km away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.9 km away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Capital Hill Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Property: Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Address: 17 Canberra Ave. | Cnr Canberra Avenue & National Circuit, Canberra 2603, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Canberra
#27 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price range (per night): $129 - $1,456
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Capital Hill Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI!! Rydges Capital Hill is the ideal Canberra hotel from which to base your stay in the Nation's Capital. Whether you are visiting for leisure or business, you'll find everything you need within close proximity at one of the best Canberra accommodation providers. This Canberra hotel is 500 metres from Parliament House, surrounded by the busy business districts of Barton and Parkes, walking distance to Manuka and Kingston, and close to most of Canberra's national attractions. The city is a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rydges Capital Hill Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Capital Hill Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Capital Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing