We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sharyn F

Terrible

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 weeks ago
Absolutely uninhabitable. Very dirty carpets, very old fittings and furnishings, lift not working. We were horrified. I'm very surprised that this passes regulations. We could not stay and cancelled our booking. Roja, Assistant Manager was absolutely lovely and did her very best, offering us an upgrade, but that room, too, was awful. We found a new, beautifully appointed luxurious 2 bedroom apartment elsewhere for $80 less.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$167
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.4 km from BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$262
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.6 km from BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$156
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$145
  • Hotels.com
3.4 km from BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden Villa
AU$141
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.6 km from BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$126
  • Priceline
3.0 km from BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$136
  • Priceline
1.2 km from BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$256
  • Booking.com
4.0 km from BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • AbyAdina.com
    AU$193
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$184
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Free Wifi
Room service
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$134
  • Booking.com
6.9 km from BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rydges Canberra Dominion Suite bedroom
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$133
  • Algotels
3.3 km from BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Canberra
Reviews (1,265)
Filter reviews
1,265 results
Traveller rating
280
504
241
141
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
280
504
241
141
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location bedroom apartment parliament house lake burley griffin full kitchen beds were comfortable bit dated central location underground parking balcony accommodation laundry floriade gym
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,265 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2024

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment, phone didn’t work, kettle broken, no bedding for sofa bed, lots of dust, dirty floors, loud air conditioning, bathroom had holes a the tiles and was very rundown. We had another booking for a week, later in the year that we have cancelled, and we will stay somewhere else. For an Accor hotel (and I stay in lots of Accor hotels) this is of a very low standard.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncanm39
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2024

Central location to enjoy the city and walk the attractions.
Ample parking available with good amenities, including centrally heated pool and gym.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 April 2024

Our apartment smelt of cigarettes and the carpet was stained and dirty. Extremely loud traffic and construction noise which made it hard to sleep or enjoy the beautiful lake view. Cobwebs covered the balcony. Last guest left food in the cupboard and freezer which was not cleaned out.King bed lumpy and uncomfortable with 2 single bed stained and dirty doonas. No remote control in bedroom so we couldn’t use the TV and reception didn’t care. Ensuite had a very little shower which was unusable. Dishwasher dirty and smelly. Gym and sauna in underground carpark not inviting. No mid week clean even though we were there 8 nights .Rubbish bins near lifts over flowing and recycle bin on our floor full for days. Large apartment.Not up to Accor high standards and needs refurbishing.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joe Sergi, General Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2024

Dear Wendy,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review and feedback - We are glad to hear you enjoyed our great lake views however very dissapointed to hear about the issues raised during your stay.

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. This review has been passed onto our respective teams to improve the standard and cleanliness within this apartment in the hope we can improve on the shortfalls mentioned. I have also flagged this with our Reception's Assistant Manager as the team are typically very willing to assist with any requests or issues raised as we obviously do not want guests to check out feeling as though there concerns have not been addressed.

Again I appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future if given another opporuntiy to provide you with a much more enjoyable experience.

Sincerely,
Joe Sergi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2024 via mobile

The spacious centrally located 2 bedroom 2 Bathroom in need of renovation apartment on a high floor with balcony had brilliant views of Lake Burley Griffin & Parliament House. 20 minutes walk to Canberra City Centre.

The apartment had a oven, stovetop dishwasher, microwave, utensil, plated, washing machine and dryer.

Unfortunately the dryer did not work, carpet throughout stained and poorly painted walls had gauges in the plaster. Reluctantly used the oven and stovetop because the smoke alarm would go off even when all of the exterior doors to the balcony were opened.

The apartment was cleaned to the best its ability ,due the bathrooms being poorly maintained, permanent stains on the carpet, gauges out of the plastered wall and poorly painted surfaces.

Even though the apartment was in a high floor, family light sleepers were woken by traffic from the motorway below.

The secure under ground car parking, $12 a day was convenient.

Room tip: Contact hotel prior to arrival for your preferred bed configuration such as single or doubles
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 403paulinep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joe Sergi, General Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2024

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra. we are glad to hear you enjoyed our spacious rooms, views & location however I am sorry that your entire experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At BreakFree, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Each Unit is privately owned therefore Management are taking further steps in relation to refreshing this Unit in the near future in the hope we can rectify these shortfalls.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2024

Room was dirty and smelt like curry. The whole facility was actually even the lift. Paid for 3 bedroom lake view was told 3 bedroom don’t have lake view room only city view which was a construction site.
Only 4 towels provided even though the apartment slept 6.
Pool area was very over grown and pool dirty, hotel was nothing like pictures shown, very old and run down and over priced for what it is, I didn’t find the location convenient at all, and they advertise free fast internet but they charge you for it, or at least try, when you attempt to log on. We didn’t use it.
Pretty average stay, I’ve stayed in a lot nicer places for less.

Room tip: Can’t swim in pool, over grown and dirty, pictures look nothing like what you are getting
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Necia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joe Sergi, General Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2024

Dear Necia

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. This review has been passed onto our respective teams to improve the standard and cleanliness within this apartment and also the public area items mentioned. In relation to the room type booked as mentioned we do not categorise our 3 Bedroom Apartments into City or Lake view although i am sorry if this was not communicated or clear during the booking process. Furthermore Internet is free at the property and a code is given to all guests on their room key wallet during check in, in future we would recommend contacting our Reception team directly and sharing these concerns as the team would of been more than happy to assist further.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Joe Sergi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews