We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
N937MNmichaelr
Berowra Heights, Australia

Dissappointing

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Nov 2023
Very unclean. The room was definitely not as presented on the Accor site. Staff were very pleasant, which was great and the location is also great but the owners of the room need a wake up call.
Hope this helps
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joe Sergi, General Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review
Responded 30 Nov 2023
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At BreakFree, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Kind Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$124
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.4 km from BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$181
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby
AU$188
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.1 km from BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$298
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$298
1.6 km from BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Official Site
    AU$179
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.2 km from BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$215
  • AbyAdina.com
    AU$211
0.5 km from BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Free Wifi
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$132
  • Algotels
3.0 km from BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Free parking
Pool
  • VibeHotels.com
    AU$169
  • Expedia.com
    AU$172
  • Hotels.com
6.2 km from BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$265
  • Expedia.com
    AU$276
4.0 km from BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Wyndham
    AU$119
  • Algotels
6.9 km from BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Canberra
Reviews (1,265)
Filter reviews
1,265 results
Traveller rating
280
504
241
141
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
280
504
241
141
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location bedroom apartment parliament house lake burley griffin full kitchen beds were comfortable bit dated central location underground parking balcony accommodation laundry floriade gym
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,265 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2023

Picture on the website in no way matched my experience. Breakfast while good value at prebooking was just okay for the price paid. The breakfast restaurant is located in another hotel. Or booking showed a veranda, but we did not have one. Both TVs constantly turned turned off.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mobile38949087077
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joe Sergi, General Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2023

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At BreakFree, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2023

First, it is not a hotel, it is an apartment building, so do not expect 24-hour reception desk or breakfast or other meals. Second, the apartments are huge, the one I stayed had 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom besides kitchen, living room and washer/dryer. However, the decoration is dated with very odd artwork throughout the apartment, and the carpet seems dirty. Third, the closets had doors that did not work well, drawers that did not fit the closet and broken hangers with nail points showing. Therefore, I maintained the closet open, and I had to organize the additional linen in the closet because it was folded in a very clumsy way. When I did so, I was horrified to notice strange stains in the blankets and duvets, they seemed to be folded after being used (seemed very dirty). Fourth, the bathroom fan was also dirty with lint and dust. Toiletries were nice, although the dispensers of some of them did not work well, seemed clogged. Fifth, when I arrived, the lights were on, and so was the dishwasher with only one sharp knife being washed, I felt uneasy to think that there could be someone else in the apartment (CSI/Criminal Minds chapters came to mind). Finally, the equipment for automated taxi call in the front desk did not work, after 15 minutes waiting for the cab, I gave up and went to the nearest hotel to call a taxi and avoid losing my flight. It was the lowest point of my stay in Canberra. The price is too high considering all the points aforementioned...

Room tip: Go to other hotels, this is not worthwhile.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank flamori
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2023 via mobile

Our family needed an overnight stay in Canberra and this hotel fitted the bill.

It was the cheapest and in the best location for me and my family. The room was furnished in contemporary furniture and was spotlessly clean.

Guest services were very friendly and helpful.

Room tip: Parking is extra (we paid $12/day). We parked outside and there was plenty of space available.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2023 via mobile

Wish I had of read the reviews before booking and staying at this place. Room was absolutely filthy, with stained carpets, dirty walls and an appalling kitchen and laundry which we decided not to use as clearly no one has bothered to clean it properly in a long time. Combined with a charge for internet service, this place is stuck in the early 2000s and is in desperate need of a renno. Also don’t bother booking and paying for a lake view room - can only see it when the wind blows the trees. Certainly looks nothing like the website. Lift your game!

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank BT1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2023

My three friends and I recently stayed in a 3 bedroom unit at the BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra.
Our advice would be to avoid Unit 101 at all costs.
On checking the bathroom, we noticed there was no shower curtain over the shower/bath in the main bathroom. This was quickly installed after we complained.
One of the bed lamps in the main bedroom couldn’t be plugged into the power point as the cord wouldn’t reach.
The tiles were broken and mouldy in the en-suite
The air conditioner was not working properly.
The toilet wouldn’t flush.
We were offered to use the toilet in another unit which was a long way down the corridor from our unit 101.
We couldn’t stay in the other unit as it hadn’t been cleaned, only able to use the toilet.
We refused to accept this and two of us were offered the Penthouse on the 20th floor, of course we found this more than acceptable.
We stayed in the Penthouse for 3 days before being moved to Unit 907 on the 9th floor to complete our holiday.
Our 2 other travelers were offered Unit 105 on the 1st floor the following day.
They were more than happy to do that, after the condition of Unit 101.
We were all given a refund for our first nights stay, plus drink vouchers for a nearby Restaurant, plus free parking for the duration of our stay.
All in all, our holiday was very enjoyable after such a bad start.
All of this was due to the Manager, Oliver, being so professional.
He couldn’t have been more caring and attentive.
We have no complaints re the management only the state of Unit 101

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews