We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every Australian should visit”

Australian War Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 135.70*
and up
Canberra Day Trip from Sydney
Ranked #1 of 215 things to do in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Australian War Memorial combines a shrine, a world-class museum, and an extensive archive. The Memorial's purpose is to commemorate the sacrifice of those Australians who have died in war. Its mission is to assist Australians to remember, interpret and understand the Australian experience of war and its enduring impact on Australian society.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Adelaide
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Every Australian should visit”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I went to the AWM to do some family research and found the staff AMAZINGLY helpful. I spent the entire day there and learnt a lot. My husband spent the day enjoying the exhibits while I worked and he was very happy.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank rozmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AWM_Webmaster, AWM Webmaster at Australian War Memorial, responded to this review, 8 November 2016
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,469
    641
    53
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Guided Tours”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Well I went along to the War Memorial thinking this one was for my Hubby.
How wrong I was The tour guide was really informative and pleasant, the museum is huge, all of the exhibitions gave me an insight into the historical side of war and the people that gave so much for all Australians.

The nurses exxhibition is VG and really shows the awful conditions wounded soldiers and nurses were in.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marg10Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AWM_Webmaster, AWM Webmaster at Australian War Memorial, responded to this review, 8 November 2016
We appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“I need to go back”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

There's a lot to see here (so much that I need to go back to fully appreciate it all) - there are exhibits tracing all of the major conflicts that Australians have been involved in. The parts I was most interested in were those relating to the Second World War and the battles in our region - particularly around New Guinea as my grandfather was up there for a while.
There is also a records room with records relating to soldiers and their battles, which is a must if you have Australian soldiers in your family tree.
The building itself is also quite majestic, looking out over Lake Burley Griffin and across to Parliament House.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank rilestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AWM_Webmaster, AWM Webmaster at Australian War Memorial, responded to this review, 8 November 2016
Thank you for visiting the Memorial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“MUST SEE!”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Did not have alot of time ,but for what I seen was very interesting and touching.Would go back for sure,a must to see!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank skylarks455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AWM_Webmaster, AWM Webmaster at Australian War Memorial, responded to this review, 8 November 2016
Thank you for visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Not wanting to trivialise this at all, but the Aussies sure know how to honour those who gave their lives fighting for their country. We went on a 90 minute tour - the guide, Caroline was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. An amazing sets of buildings, with only about 15% of the exhibits being on display at any one time. The building where you find the tomb of the unknown soldier is truly amazing - the most beautiful and spectacular stain glass windows I have ever seen. Pretty cool seeing a Lancaster Bomber too.

Cafe good, and entry to the WM is free. If you only have a short time in Canberra, be sure to visit the AWM.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jazzy_Mango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AWM_Webmaster, AWM Webmaster at Australian War Memorial, responded to this review, 8 November 2016
Thank you for your five star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Australian War Memorial also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Australian War Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing