We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Disappointed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra on Northbourne Canberra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Checked in to find extremely strong smelling toiletries. due to asthma/allergies i threw them out and requested to Reception they not be replaced. Next day they weren't but the day after toiletries back in the room. Complained to Reception. Fire Alarms went off 2 nights in a row at exactly the same time..... 3am..... coincidence or what.... Apparently someone had used stove top to cook garlic bread 4th floor! They weren't kicked out and the same thing happened next night. Not Happy Jan.
Also carpet absolutely sodden under the air-con, put stuff down without realising - wet gear.
Restaurant bit below par food wise as well. only had one meal there fortunately. Creamy mash turned out to be dry smashed kipflers. First night loud banging/noise from corridor so overall not a relaxing time.
We had also used wine glasses and these were still left dirty the next day.

Room Tip: Rooms on Northbourne Avenue - traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. I understand the frustration that the fire alarms caused; we had this occur on the Saturday and Sunday mornings at approximately 0300hrs, both due to different reasons out of our control.
On both Friday and Saturday evenings at approximately 0300hrs we had the fire alarms sound at the hotel; on the first night this was due to another guest burning food in their oven, and on the second evening due to the hallway alarms ‘break glass’ set off, which again sets the alarm to full evacuation mode– unfortunately we could not ascertain who set the hallway alarm off, however these were unrelated incidents each evening.
With regards to the quality of the food and the servicing of your room, I am sorry that this was not your liking or expectations. This is not up to our usual standard and I have brought this feedback directly to our Head Chef and Housekeeping Manager who has implemented the necessary training to ensure this doesn't happen in the future.
With regards to the noise from the hallways; we had additional security available during the weekend and had a zero-tolerance policy for unruly behaviour.
Once again i do apologies for these disturbances during your stay and hope that you can return in the future for a much more enjoyable experience.

Yours sincerely,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    371
    211
    66
    43
See reviews for
254
216
54
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I was booked into a one bedroom apartment by my employer and the room is quite spacious with a fully equipped kitchen, clean bathroom, washing machine and dryer. Mind you, parking for guests is not free and is subject to availability.

Though the paid and limited hotel parking shocked me, what amazed me even more was the lack of free wi-fi. What's worse is that the cheapest 'package' costs $25 for 1 day/400mb - ridiculous. I expected a hotel such as the Mantra to at least provide guests with free internet services. If your mobile phone can be used as a personal hotspot then use it. That's the best way to get online in your room. Otherwise, walk down to McDonald's down the street.

The next issue was the alarms. Beware of alarms suddenly going off in the evening and late in the night i.e. 3am. The alarm is deafening and on top of that you have the fire truck sirens. When asked about the alarms, the staff told me that they were investigating the matter. However after reading some other reviews, it seems like this has been happening for a couple of months now. It's bizarre that it still hasn't been fixed yet.

Location of the hotel is fantastic, however very noisy. People are constantly shouting on the streets and from balconies. It's quite difficult to enjoy my time in the room with the balcony door opened in the evening. Summernants doesn't help either. Revheads are everywhere and well...you get the picture.

Overall, I would not choose to stay at the Mantra if I had to visit Canberra for personal reasons. There has to be other places to stay at, so keep your options open.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Overall I was impressed with the offering at this hotel. My one bed apartment was clean and fully functioning with a full kitchen.

Conveniently there is some takeaway shops within walking distance.

Bit of an issue with the street noise from Northbourne avenue (one of the only places in CBR that actually has traffic). It's a little noisy with the windows open at night. I also found the bed to be very firm - not my cup of tea. Some free Internet in the lobby also wouldn't go astray.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kroppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We came to Canberra for a night and found the Mantra to be entirely adequate for our needs. It was well located, good value (on wotif.com), the rooms were large and clean and the service impeccable. Recommended

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben78g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed here for the ironman, with bikes and lots of stuff, the room with a kitchen was a great size for everything. The rooms were clean, and very tidy. The only 2 complaints I had, were the microwave is in a bad spot for some one short, and a lower level room, we could hear people drinking across the road, both thing are a little out of your hands. The zipp restaurants was very nice. And thank you for our small late check out (we really needed it!) the staff were lovely and we will stay there next year again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.
We are very happy that we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable stay.
With regards to the microwave location, please accept my apologies for this as some apartments do have the dedicated space higher than others. When next staying please advise our friendly Team and we can arrange a more appropriate location.
We look forward to welcoming you back when the next ironman series is here in Canberra!
Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 km away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
1.7 km away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
0.3 km away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#13 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.4 km away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#23 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
1.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Northbourne Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Northbourne Canberra

Property: Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Address: 84 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2612, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price range (per night): $118 - $427
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Northbourne Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Northbourne is centrally located on the north side of Canberra's CBD and a short stroll from the city's thriving shopping, dining precinct, business centre and famous attractions. Offering guests a choice of Hotel Rooms, One or Two Bedroom Apartments, all fully-equipped with air-conditioning, kitchenette, bathroom, laundry facilities, wireless internet, cable TV, in-house movies, sound system with CD player, mini bar, kitchen and laundry facilities (apartments), lounge and dining area, tea and coffee making facilities, large private balcony, ironing facilities and voicemail message service. The hotel ensures your comfort, with a wide range of hotel services including 24-hour reception, in-room internet access, express checkout and internet kiosk. Guests will also enjoy the leisure facilities, including a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and fully-equipped gymnasium. Stock Kitchen & Bar is a fully licensed restaurant and bar, located onsite. Offering an a la carte menu, Stock Kitchen & Bar is the perfect venue to enjoy a quiet meal or catch up with colleagues or friends over a casual drink The hotel boasts conference facilities for up to 150 delegates with four conference rooms available for hire. Mantra on Northbourne also offers a dedicated Conference Executive who will assist you to plan and manage your next successful event, conference or meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra on Northbourne Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Northbourne Canberra Hotel Canberra
Mantra On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Canberra Mantra On Northbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing