We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
janet f

Reliable hotel chain with above average facilities

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Apr 2024
One bed apartment had comfy king bed , two TVs and good sized bathroom with decent shampoo. Step into bath was high but it had railings . Kitchen area is near front door and is a small dark space with basic kitchen - microwave , two bar fridges , toaster ( broken replaced with another broken one) - no sharp knives or salad bowls or comfy couch ( that was in bedroom) . Excellent large pool, spa, sauna and outside deck but lots of families using it most of the time . Breakfast was buffet and included hot and cold food and was good . Parking expensive but we parked for free in the street as it is free on weekends and holidays . Easter weekend they had a 15% surcharge on food so either get included when you book or pay $40 . Location was fabulous near tram, coach and 5 min walk to main shopping mall and restaurants . Can recommend the Ride Shop on Lonsdale for bike hire - easy town to bike around with lots of separated bike lanes and a mostly flat city . Staff stored my bike for me . Helpful staff especially the level 2 cleaning team . Level 2 is also the pool/gym floor so can get noisy try to stay away from the pool corridor and ask for a west facing room as ours got hot in the arvo .
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Pool is very popular with families I swam around 1pm and it was very quiet. Rooms near the pool...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica James, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review
Responded 14 Apr 2024
Dear N9288HRjanetf,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Novotel Canberra and thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a detailed review of your recent experience at our property.

It is fantastic to hear that enjoyed our facilities including your spacious room, our restaurant and our pool leisure area. It is also wonderful to hear that our central location suited your needs and that our team were very helpful.

We are very sorry to hear that two of the toasters provided did not work, this has been passed onto our Executive Housekeeper to investigate and address immediately. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this caused.

We hope to warmly welcome you back to Novotel Canberra on your next visit to the nation's capital!

Sincerely,

Jessica James
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$155
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.1 km from Novotel Canberra
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$215
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Novotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$275
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.7 km from Novotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Official Hotel
AU$141
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$128
  • Hotels.com
4.2 km from Novotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
Tripadvisor
AU$215
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.8 km from Novotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$328
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.5 km from Novotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Tripadvisor
AU$199
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
6.6 km from Novotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rydges Canberra Dominion Suite bedroom
Tripadvisor
AU$230
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
4.1 km from Novotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$184
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.7 km from Novotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Pool
Garden Villa
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$161
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Novotel Canberra
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Canberra
Reviews (4,006)
Filter reviews
4,006 results
Traveller rating
962
1,726
837
303
178
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
962
1,726
837
303
178
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central location northbourne avenue per day war memorial parking gym cbd australia eateries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 4,006 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2024

The beds were amazing, so soft and comfortable.
The Staff were amazing, the front desk were always happy to give any help they could. The restaurant team gave an amazing experience and the housekeeping team were incredibly professional when cleaning my room.
Cannot wait to stay again!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica James, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

Dear DeanrH805kn,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Novotel Canberra.

We are thrilled to hear that your recent experience with us was outstanding.

It is fantastic to hear that you found our beds very comfortable and our team both amazing and professional. This feedback will be shared and celebrated with the whole team.

We look forward to warmly welcoming you back on your next visit to the Nation's Capital.

Sincerely,

Jessica James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2024

We stayed here when our flight was diverted to Canberra. The desk clerk handled the rush of displaced passengers sent here well. The rooms were very comfortable. The location is in a lively area, convenient to restaurants and a hopping nightlife..

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SteveAntpitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica James, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2024

Dear SteveAntpitta,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time at our property and in Canberra even if that was not your original plans.

We are thrilled to hear that our front office team were able to quickly assist and that our central location suited your needs.

We hope to warmly welcome you back on your next visit to the Nation's Capital and appreciate you taking the time to provide us with this review.

Sincerely,

Jessica James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2023 via mobile

I stayed at the Novotel Brisbane 5 days ago, and the Novotel Canberra this week, these two properties are polar opposites when it comes to experience/inclusions/value for money, with the Novotel Canberra a 3 star motel compared to the 4.5 star Novotel Brisbane - I was shocked at how the experience could vary so much within the same brand.

Comparison between the two:
Novotel Canberra - (NC)
Novotel Brisbane - (NB)

1. Room service:
NB: Full room service was available
NC: It states its available from 4pm. I requested food at 5pm, "sorry sir, the kitchen doesn't open til 5.30pm". Ugh

2. Minibar
NB: Fully stocked minibar replenished daily.
NC: No minibar on offer whatsoever, nothing...

3. Coffee
NB: Barista coffee is served standard with breakfast each morning.
NC: Barista coffee only available at an additional charge, even when breakfast is included.

4. Breakfast
NB: Eggs anyway you like, omelette, poached, sunny side up, whatever - just ask.
NC: I requested an omelette, "that'll be an additional cost on top of what you've already paid for breakfast". Are you serious!? What's the point of paying for breakfast??

5. Drinks
Asked front desk at 11pm for a can of soft drink and charge it to my room. "We have no drinks as the bar is closed". They could not even get a can that could be fetched from the fridge and charge it to the room. So with no minibar, and nothing available for purchase - uber delivery came in handy.

6. Pre-ordering
NB: Inroom card to pre-order breakfast for delivery, just fill in and leave it outside at night.
NC: No such thing exists

Gerneral stuff:
Im 5ft 8 and the shower head was 1cm off the top of my head, hate to have been any taller.

Shower over bath too so avoid if you have mobility issues.

Stained curtains, chipped cupboards, room carpet filthy and in desperate need of replacing.

The only saving grace here is location (however there are plenty of other properties in the same location so you have choice), and all staff were friendly.

Avoid if you want 3 star or above. Stay if you're ok with motel style, lack of services, lack of amenities and wanting to pay for extras that should already be included.

Hot tip: Canberra accom can book out well in advance, especially if parliament is sitting. Make sure to book as far in advance as you can to avoid disappointment.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica James, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Dear Anthony,

Thank you for staying with us at Novotel Canberra.

We are very sorry to hear that your recent experience with us did not meet your expectations.

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with this detailed feedback and comparison with Novotel Brisbane.

We are currently reviewing many of our services including breakfast offering, mini bar and room service and will be making changes and improvements in the coming months.

We will investigate with our front office team on why a drink was not offered, this is not our usual service standards and we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this caused.

It is our hope that we get the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jessica James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2023 via mobile

Limited Refurbished Rooms - the majority of the time over the last two years stayed at the hotel was in the style of a 2 Star motel room with a 5 Star pricing. There should definitely be clarity that the rooms on website are extremely limited!

I have let me company know and will be delisting the hotel from our hotel options.

Room tip: Sitting time at Parliament- where it is double to price
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Collin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica James, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Dear Collin,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Novotel Canberra.

We are very sorry to hear that your recent experiences at our property have not met your expectations.

We are currently working with our owners on plans to refresh the rooms at Novotel Canberra which we are very excited about.

We hope to get the opportunity to better serve you and welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jessica James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2023 via mobile

Very Average. The rooms are quite basic, a bit worn out (some rooms more than others), but not terrible. The hotel has a very good location, in the CBD, and practically walking distance from everywhere. Breakfast at the hotel was simple, very average. I have been here a few times before, and the breakfast quality has decreased significantly. As for facilities, the hotel has a small indoor pool, very nice.

Room tip: Try to avoid rooms on the 2nd floor, as you will hear screaming children at 5 in the morning on their way to the pool.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Everly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica James, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

Dear Everly,

Thank you for again choosing to stay with us at Novotel Canberra.

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with this detailed feedback.

It is great to hear that our central location suits your needs. We are however sorry to hear that you found your room worn out on this occasion. This feedback along with your feedback on breakfast has been passed onto relevant leaders to investigate and address immediately.

We hope to get the opportunity to better serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jessica James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews