We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good 4 Star” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Canberra
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
GreenLeadersBronze level
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good 4 Star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We booked this hotel as our Accor Advantage + "complimentary" night. It was very satisfactory, including the $18 parking, very convenient to the friend we were visiting, and the city centre, where we dined. (Our friend's preference for "The Banana Leaf' Sri Lankan Restaurant was good .. informal, relaxed). Reception and front counter generally was prompt, friendly and efficient at our off-peak times. Our room was right on Northbourne Avenue but the double-glazing ensured complete quiet; the basic kitchen facility would be very useful for anyone staying more than overnight.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktho2318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay at the Novotel Canberra. We are delighted that you enjoyed our services and facilities and we will certainly pass on your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Canberra when you are next in the Nation’s Capital.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    1,450
    622
    154
    67
See reviews for
900
1,083
281
645
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We booked a room for a night for a cousins wedding and reception in town. Hotel location was great - very central to where we had to go. We were made aware of parking fee (which was $15 then) when we phoned to inquire about parking. Buffet breakfast was great the next day. No pressure whatsoever even with a 11 month old baby.

The only negative was the parking space - was very narrow indeed. But luckily found a better spot once I returned from the cousins reception.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PraneshC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay at the Novotel Canberra.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay including the buffet breakfast in the morning. Unfortunately we cant do much regarding the parking constraints, however I am glad you found a better spot upon your return. We hope you and your family enjoyed the night and we would be delighted to welcome back you and your family any time.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is a high quality business accommodation in the heart of Canberra, well located in close walking distance from the centre of Civic from whence you can indulge your penchant for a range of fast food indulgences (grease ahoy!), or an array of over priced posh eateries, of which there are likewise plenty to choose from.
The rooms are of a decent quality modern standard, though the room I stayed in just 4 weeks ago had a very strange 'out of ensuite' bathroom basin area. Really strange, but the hand basin component of the toilet / shower ensuite was out in the living area - adjoining the ensuite but disconnected by the door. Very different / strange indeed. No doubt a space saving scheme. In any case, the rooms are very nice and I would gladly stay here again as the staff were friendly and the service appropriately in tune with my needs.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeDudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.3 km away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.9 km away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#13 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
0.6 km away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
2.0 km away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Canberra

Property: Novotel Canberra
Address: 65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Canberra
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#13 Family Hotel in Canberra
#14 Business Hotel in Canberra
#22 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price range (per night): $144 - $370
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Canberra offers premium 4.5 Star hotel accommodation in the heart of the nation's capital and close to the retail, entertainment and business district. Novotel Canberra features 286 rooms, suites and apartments, all with a comfortable, modern design. The hotel features an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym. Please note that the pool, spa and sauna will be closed from 26 April 2016 until 30 May 2016 during refurbishment of the pool and spa area. Enjoy the onsite One Restaurant for breakfast and dinner 7 days, while One Bar offers all day dining and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, ACCOR, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Canberra Hotel Canberra
Accor Canberra
Canberra Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing