We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$298
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 June
Hyatt.com
AU$298
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 June
Enroll free for lower prices
Hotels.com
AU$298
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 June
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Dave C
Alexandria, Virginia

Posh and Historical

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Apr 2024
This is a lovingly restored art nouveau hotel of great historical importance, and a nice location near the train station. The room was comfortable and well appointed. The seafood buffet was just fine and breakfast was pretty good with a wide range of items for any culture. Very relaxing atmosphere and the grounds are immaculate. If you want to feel posh for a few days, this is the place.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A Heeney, Owner at Hyatt Hotel Canberra, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear davec747,

Thank you for your kind words about feeling posh during your stay with us! We strive to offer a luxurious experience that exceeds expectations and it's wonderful to know that we succeeded in making your visit memorable. Kindest regards, the Hyatt Hotel Canberra Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$222
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$146
Fully refundable
  • Official Hotel
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$166
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$144
  • Expedia.com
    AU$166
4.1 km from Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$118
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$112
  • Hotels.com
    AU$123
4.6 km from Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Free parking
Pool
Garden Villa
Booking.com
AU$164
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$144
  • Agoda.com
    AU$118
  • Priceline
5.0 km from Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
Tripadvisor
AU$169
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.3 km from Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Mercure
AU$133
  • Booking.com
    AU$120
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$133
3.1 km from Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Rydges Canberra Dominion Suite bedroom
Tripadvisor
AU$118
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.7 km from Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$159
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$159
  • Agoda.com
    AU$119
  • Expedia.com
    AU$159
7.9 km from Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$160
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$135
  • Hotels.com
    AU$165
8.2 km from Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Canberra
Reviews (4,455)
Filter reviews
4,455 results
Traveller rating
2,904
910
348
155
138
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,904
910
348
155
138
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea ambassador lounge promenade cafe seafood buffet beautiful hotel art deco old world charm five star hotel parliament house rooms are large lake burley griffin king room national library luxury gym heritage australia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 4,455 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2024 via mobile

We chose the Hyatt Canberra for two reasons: its reputation/history and (pragmatically) walking distance to the Canberra Marathon this past weekend. On both accounts this hotel and its staff exceeded our expectations from the moment we arrived. We were warmly welcomed and although our pre-arrival booking request for adjoining rooms could not be provided, we were delighted with the quality and standard of the accommodation, setting and staff responsiveness. On the morning of the marathon, the hotel put on an extra early coffee barista service for competitors and on our return from the event, we were granted an additional extended check out time to allow us to recover and refresh. And, it’s worth noting, the hotel seemed full while we were there (with an Iftar dinner and a wedding reception) yet nothing seemed too much trouble. So thank you to each and every staff member - you were outstanding ambassadors for your brand.

Room tip: The king rooms at the rear have a beautiful quiet tree canopy view especially in autumn. And make time for high tea: sadly we didn’t.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 688seanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A Heeney, Owner at Hyatt Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Dear 688seanh,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable visit and that the hotel was so accommodating to all our guests, in particular going the 'extra mile' to those participating in the Canberra Marathon. Please know that your kind compliments towards our staff have been shared are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, the Hyatt Hotel Canberra Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2024

This was our first stay and we will be back. The hotel itself is a beautiful building that has been maintained extremely well. The reception staff were very helpful and approachable. The room itself was a good size and well maintained. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean and very big. Self parking under cover is $30 a day and there was plenty of room.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A Heeney, Owner at Hyatt Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Dear paulmC7395YT,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Hyatt Hotel Canberra. We were thrilled to read that you loved your first visit us and that our helpful staff, luxury rooms and facilities were so appreciated. It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warmest regards, the Hyatt Hotel Canberra Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2024 via mobile

Cold indelible meals and they offered a free drink - cold because they had only one hard working waitress for 45 patrons. Saving money on holiday pay rates? The good part was the ambiance, the waitress was pleasant and the chips were hot and the wine was cold.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A Heeney, Owner at Hyatt Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Dear Ben C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Firstly, thank you for your lovely compliments towards the ambiance of our hotel and our friendly staff - it is very much appreciated. Naturally we are saddened to read your feedback on the disappointing dining experience. Please know that our Director of Food & Beverage will be reaching out to discuss your observations further. Kind regards, the Hyatt Hotel Canberra Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2024

We enjoy staying at this hotel whenever we are in Canberra. Easy access to the lake and nice rooms. A drink in the garden courtyard on a sunny day is very enjoyable and recommended. You can also rent bikes which is a great way to see Canberra

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Sydne2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A Heeney, Owner at Hyatt Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Dear Sydne2024,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our iconic hotel. We take immense pride in knowing that our guests enjoy their whole experience with us, so much so that they want to return again and again. It was our absolute pleasure having you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards, the Hyatt Hotel Canberra Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2024

The HYATT Canberra is a heritage building, charm and style is on show. The Staff are amazing, helpful, respectful. The rooms are very lovely and always clean and to a high standard. The location is central and superb.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Narelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A Heeney, Owner at Hyatt Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Dear Narelle C,

We are sincerely grateful that you took the time to leave such a lovely review. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed our luxurious and clean rooms, our amazing staff and convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hyatt Hotel Canberra soon. Warm regards, the Hyatt Hotel Canberra Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews