We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Nearby Hotels
Burbury Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
USD 159*
USD 124*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 88*
USD 72*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
USD 103*
USD 100*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
USD 114*
USD 109*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
USD 126*
USD 103*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pavilion on Northbourne(Canberra)(Great Value!)
USD 103*
USD 76*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mercure Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
USD 169*
USD 93*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Realm(Canberra)(Great Value!)
USD 143*
USD 118*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Brassey Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
USD 119*
USD 110*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
USD 190*
USD 159*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,746)
Filter reviews
2,746 results
Traveller rating
1,702
666
225
83
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,702
666
225
83
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teaambassador loungepromenade cafeclub roomseafood buffetart decobeautiful hotelfive star hotelparliament houseold world charmlake burley griffinking roomrooms are largenational librarystandard roomwar memorialluxury
Filter
Updating list...
2,468 - 2,473 of 2,746 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This is a wonderful hotel, close to the city, galleries and museums. Nicely appointed with large comfortable rooms.
Pleasant and well trained staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IDMillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We normally wouldn't have considered staying at the Hyatt Canberra, unable to justify the cost. As a tip however, on my second phone call to the booking department I got in touch with a very helpful person, who advised that there was a deal where you get the second night for half-price. We were staying for 3 nights, so on average this deal made the stay a lot more reasonable. Also, if only staying 2 nights, or alternately 4 nights it would be better still.
I asked for a room away from the lift, easy access etc. The booking requirements were read back to me and certainly honoured by the staff at check-in.

The room was spacious and very clean. Flat screen TV and a very comfortable bed. Complimentary newspaper was good also.

It was clear that the bathroom had recently had a new shower screen installed. There were still a few traces of silastic on the tiles from the previous screen. The new screen made the shower slightly larger and the screen was of the newer frameless type. Yes, the bathrooms are black and white marble and yes, it is a bit dated, but the cost would be astronomical to change every room.

One complaint - the room next door had very noisy plumbing. Wasnt too bad, but I think it was one occupant. Had there been more in the room it may have been more of an annoyance.

I have a disability and on first entry to the hotel, there is no disabled access. I found this is due to the historic nature of the hotel and so I had to climb the stairs. I found the next day that the back of the hotel has the disabled access. That isn't to say the back of the hotel is inferior - it is quite modern in fact and very good access and parking nearby. Another tip - don't pay for parking ($25.00 per day), plenty of car parking on-site outside.

We had dinner there one evening and drinks in the lounge another afternoon. Food was perfect. All staff are attentive and polite as you would expect from a hotel of this standard and ranking.

Its very close to the Parliamentary Triangle and even walking distance to the National Library, Questacon, Old Parliament House and the Galleries. Hard to cross the road unless you walk up to a set of lights on the corner...so you have to back-track a bit but if the weather is nice, its a great place to be.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is quieter and closer to ample parking outside, don't pay for valet unless you have money to burn...you don't need it necessarily. Excellent access for people with limited mobility.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank salad2964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

After a long stint overseas with the Wife in early 2012, we again had to "frock up", this time for a business trip to our nations capital. - If you like the best, then the Park Hyatt is still the best Canberra has to offer in terms of 5 star.

Unlike many hotels, the Park Hyatt Canberra is not a high rise, it has a lot of tranquil old world charm and warmth in the entry and sitting areas, with soft lighting adding to the atmosphere and the rooms and suites are spread out far and wide over this sparse property which sprawls over the ample and tranquil grounds. - As a result, it can sometimes be a bit confusing to locate your room the first time as there are a series of signs deployed that seem to point in directions that your room is not actually in!! - In addition, for most rooms its a reasonable stroll down the vast corridors to get there.

We have stayed in this property several times, but its still a bit confusing until you get your room bearings.

However, once this is resolved, the hotel is quite nice. Canberra is a lot like Washington DC in terms of being sparsley laid out in many parts and the Park Hyatt finds itself situated in a very tranquil position which lends itself to the perfect environment if you have a desire to go into a deep sleep and never wake up ever again.

Front of house service is what you would expect from any Park Hyatt and the dress code for doormen and porters is a golf outfit from the 1920's including matching hats apparantly, so don't be alarmed if people who look like they have escaped in a time machine from this era greet you upon arrival ! - What the?

Rooms and suites have been upgraded recently with contemporary furniture, flat screen TV's, window furnishings, paint decor and Android device savvy items, such as iPhone docks. - However, the bathrooms are still in Black marble fitout, which is 1990's in drag!

That being said, a generous sized bath is offered in all rooms in addition to the shower. - Which by the way had enough pressure to peel the paint off the walls !

All in all its the best there is by a long shot in Canberra. Restaurants and bars in the hotel also offer fast efficient service and a good selection of food and beverage.

Personally, i wouldn't stay anywhere else in Canberra, this is the best they have.

Room Tip: Request one that has something to look at besides one of the car parks that are on 2 sides of the hotel. - Higher floor (3) would be nicer also.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RelaxWithMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2114
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed a Saturday night and the staff blew us away with first class service at every opportunity. This hotel seems to have lifted to the next level since our last stay, So well managed indeed.

The executive lounge was actually as good as it gets both evening canapés and drinks and continental breakfast in the morning the service & staff were faultless. Well worth the extra

We were made to feel special from the second we walked in to the moment we left nothing was too much trouble late check out a mere technicality.

We have stayed at the Cowne plaza and the Novatel in Canberra over the last three months are they are good but the Hyatt takes you to that next level and reminds you of how customers should be treated and all you wants and needs fulfilled to the highest standards. We came away so refreshed albeit a one night stay. THANK YOU

Room Tip: front of the hotel only older section
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I typically judge a hotel by its service.
The space of the room is important but ultimately a room is a room is a room.
Today I have had a typical busy business day and my needs are fairly simple - just need some space, a glass of wine, catch up on the day's news (in Canberra today, it was predominantly the circus in Parliament House) and move on from the day's pressures.
A couple of weeks ago in Perth, my judgement of the Hyatt was quite harsh - they didn't meet the standards they had promised.
Tonight in Canberra, the Park Hyatt showed what exemplary service can be.
We went to the Club Lounge and for most people the food was wonderful.
For my wife though, they went that little bit extra - they were well organised and ready for her - a special plate with no wheat or dairy and they made it seem so easy.
The hostess was wonderful - she wandered around the lounge making everyone feel at home.
From the accents, there were guests from every continent and all were made equally welcome.
That wasn't the end though - towards the end she wandered back with another plate of different desserts - normally Lynn in a "good" restaurant is offered a fruit salad if she is lucky but tonight, she had a plate of 5 or 6 variations.
We returned to the room more than happy - good sized rooms and even better, the internet works.
All in all, an exceptional hotel, almost inderstated - it doesn't need a glitzy over-the-top facade to make it look good - it exudes quality.
I have been here many times and tonight is not an exception - what is also important though are the other facilities.
Other people enjoy the afternoon here - I prefer the health club and the swimming pool - it still remains my hotelof choice in Canberra.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews