We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I'd stay again”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I've read other reviews saying that the rooms were tired. I would have to disagree, ours was lovely. Enormous, two full sides of window, generously stocked minibar and lovely bathroom. We were in room 127 and the bed and pillows were heaven.
My disappointment was with the restaurant. Felt very 'American' - false luxury. Big on buffet rather than fine dining. Would have been good for a hotel of that size to have both options available. That being said, food was very nice, fresh and service was fine. The gardens and beautiful art deco public spaces are great to wile away the hours.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 127 was great - quiet, large and down the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catriona777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,411
    591
    201
    76
    52
See reviews for
375
1,031
104
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed at Hyatt as part of renaissance package.

Accomodation was good with a large room provided. Only real problem was the TV control, it was not very cooperative in wanting to change channel. The brand of the tv was "Deco" never heard of it and probably why it didn't work too well
Room otherwise was very clean and week presented

The fitness centre whist providing a full gym and small pool and spa, is pretty dated with a refurb required, the showers in the change room were pretty ordinary.

Otherwise I fully recommend is hotel if staying in Canberra

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andymill71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I've stayed in a lot of Hyatt hotels and while this one has some nice retro features and is probably good for Canberra I.t is marginal for five stars.
The place is overworked and tired in many respects. The service is ordinary and the rooms, while nice enough are not what you would expect for the price.
Agree with Caitlin B about much of the hotel, and I've stayed here a few times on business so I think I know.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djt46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dushanbe
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

As so many others have written before me, the Hyatt in Canberra has some wonderful features, but unfortunately has its drawbacks. The public areas certainly have their Art Deco splendour to be proud of but somehow management have let their standards down. I have had two stayed here in the past month and both times there were no porters to be seen anywhere. When they did show up, my bags were placed in the wrong room. The rooms are looking very tired and desperately need upgrading. I read an earlier post where someone wrote that they were redoing the rooms, but I didn't see an evidence of that. Generally speaking the staff try to be helpful, but it seemed to be artificial at times. On the plus side, there is nothing so grand as to have afternoon tea in the lounge, or out in the gardens. All in all, its ok, I just wished it were better.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la_grande_dame5575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My wife and i have been visiting this hotel at least once a year since 1999. we simply love this hotel. The design integrity in maintaining the 1920's Art Deco splendour is to be applauded. From John the attentive concierge to Lee a true professional at reception, the staff for the most part are dedicated and attentive. we typically book Regency club rooms which have in my opinion the best aspect at the back of the hotel levels 2 and 3 near the Ambassador lounge. We very much enjoy the feel of the hotel with its 1920-30's ambience, with so many beautiful pictures and objet d'art tucked into every little space making a walk around the floors a real find. There is no better place to be in Canberra on a weekend winter afternoon than in the lobby sampling wonderful high tea delicacies all the while being soothed by the masterful pieces eminating from the maestro on the mini grand piano. a real treat! the Ambassador lounge is first class, the beverages, food and setting are simply devine. this space is fitted out so beautifully and gives a sense of old english gentrified club living. Bravo this lounge and all about it... a triumph. The king rooms are such a delight with cute juliette balconies giving a sun filled gaze over lake burley griffin and surrounding green space.The king size beds are simply amazing. The black marble bathroom in all its art deco splendour simply stunning. As you would expect the toiletries are simply first class. The breakfast in the promenade cafe is very comprehensive and the execution of the food commendable. If i can make one point, however, it would be to encourage the service team on breakfast duty in the Promenade to be a liitle more attentive. When asked for certain items ie. tea, coffee, more cutlery, butter, cruets etc.. please try and return in a prompt fashion. Also i would encourage the supervisors at breakfast to get a bit more involved, try and get the staff to walk through the dining room instead of skirting around the extremities. We simply could get no ones attention as a result of their walking around the outskirts of the dining room. That said I can say hand on heart this still remains one of the finest boutique heritage properties in this country. I will continue to visit this property for as long as they keep up this amazing experience. Well Done Park Hyatt Canberra.

Room Tip: Best rooms levels 2 and 3 overlooking lake Burley Griffin
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claude c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
2.5 km away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,770 reviews
2.8 km away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,201 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,545 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,059 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Property: Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Address: Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Canberra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#3 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price range (per night): $219 - $623
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Hotel Canberra 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Listed Hotel which retains many of the classic Art Deco design elements of the original building built in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Canberra
Canberra Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing