We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,644)
Filter reviews
1,644 results
Traveller rating
439
743
325
86
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
439
743
325
86
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glebe park park view redsalt restaurant red salt restaurant desk area two double beds national convention centre room service buffet breakfast outdoor pool central location bit dated an upgrade an update per day war memorial long weekend
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 1,644 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

The Crowne Plaza is a lovely hotel in a great location, close to a large shopping precinct and restaurants and a short drive to the major attractions Canberra has to offer. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are clean. The breakfast was excellent, including an omelette bar and real barista made coffees (not just pods). Parking is $21 a day but you can come and go as you please, street parking is metered. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our 2 night stay here and would definitely stay again when we return to Canberra.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bellesfleurs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCanb, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear bellesfleurs2016,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay.

We appreciate you all your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Crowne Plaza Canberra Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed at Crowne Plaza at Canberra for a week and left feeling very disappointed with what we paid for. The staff were all very friendly and room was comfortable, however the bathroom felt old and outdated. Toilet seat was damaged and uncomfortable to sit on.

Our biggest disappointment was with the buffet breakfast. Each morning we noticed that the restaurant ran out of food such as scrambled eggs, waffles and other hot food and took almost 20 minutes each time to replace. There was only one morning during our stay when we didn’t have to wait in a long line for food to be refilled. Restaurant also ran out of cutlery and plates on couple of mornings. My kids had to wait 15-20 minutes for spoons to eat their cereal (this was after asking 3 different staff for the spoons). We found that the spread was limited and service was extremely slow. Staff were friendly, however we left feeling very disappointed with what we had paid and what we experienced. It’s unacceptable that customers have to wait lengthy periods for the buffet to be refilled. This is the first time we have experienced such poor quality of food and service at a hotel buffet, especially for Crowne Plaza’s standard. We have stayed at the same hotel a number of years ago and have to say the standard of buffet has really gone down. We will define be exploring other hotels for our next stay in Canberra.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Coco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCanb, Marketing Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear Coco S

Thank you for taking the time to post a review - your feedback is appreciated. We are pleased to read your positive feedback about our friendly staff and the comfortable room.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the breakfast buffet during your stay. Unfortunately we were overwhelmed with the number of people eating breakfast at Redsalt during the school holidays, which resulted in us not meeting the high standard of breakfast experience that we aim for. While we had as many staff working in the restaurant as possible, including team members from other departments helping out, unfortunately we couldn't keep up with the demand during those busy mornings. There were some learnings from this which we have already worked on, including buying a second toaster and juicer, which should help reduce waiting times during the next busy period.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel again in the future.

Kind regards
Michelle, Crowne Plaza Canberra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

Ahhh it’s like coming home. Very comfy rooms, suitably warmed on a cold day, nice staff, moderate rates (for a city hotel), good fairly secure parking (but it is expensive parking -$21) then again it is soooo convenient to the city.

4.5 star

Room tip: When booking - be specific about floor and outlook. They DO try and accommodate your request.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbadert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCanb, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear sbadert,

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review.

Thank you for your feedback and we agree the underground parking is worth the additional value, as its secure and convenient, especially in the cooler months.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Crowne Plaza Canberra Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

I stayed for 8 nights whilst relocating to Canberra. The hotel is easy to find, centrally located close to civic shopping centre. There is a car park under the hotel, remember to get a long stay parking ticket ($10 per night) if your there for more than 5 nights. Also, it can get full quickly, especially at weekends, so be aware that you will have to park in a public car park about 5 mins walk away. Staff at check-in and throughout the hotel are very courteous and helpful and a credit to the chain and Australian hospitality. Rooms are well equipped and a good size. Avoid the rooms above the entrance to the casino, noisy is all I will say! Breakfast is great, lots of choices but avoid weekends between 8-10 if you can, it's bedlam! Gym is a good size, lots of equipment. WiFi signal is good and I had no issues streaming Netflix. I did have issues on checkout but thankfully it got sorted. Hence the score of only 4.
Nonetheless, a good hotel with great staff and centrally located for Canberra

Room tip: Room overlooking Glebe park and not the casino!
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scopie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCanb, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear scopie100,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay.

We appreciate all your feedback and recommendations.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Crowne Plaza Canberra Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

We’ve stayed here quite a number of times and it was one of our favourite places in the ACT, this trip we were no impressed. Our room was fine as was check in and our staff. It was the restaurant we had booked dinner and it was a problem from the start. Slow service, we only ordered pasta, yet the table next to us who ordered steaks were seated after us, ordered after us and got their meal before we did. One of our meals was not what we ordered but we chose not to have it replaced after waiting so long. The staff blamed it in the school holidays. Like it was some kind of surprise sprung unexpectedly on them? Breakfast was what can only be described as a disgrace compared to other times here. Empty dishes in many sections of the buffet over and over. Half cooked food such as the grilled tomatoes. A Long long wait for coffee. This Crowne Plaza no longer compares to its namesakes in NSW like the Hunter Valley.
I guess it’s time to try somewhere else on our regular trips to Canberra.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Linvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCanb, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear Linvale,

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review of your stay.

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your F&B Experience. This has been passed onto our new Restaurant & Bars Manager for follow up and action.

Please know this is not the experience we aim to provide our guests.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Crowne Plaza Canberra Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews