We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uninspiring but good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Uninspiring but good location”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel is centrally located and a short walk to many government offices. Rooms are adequate but I have to say pretty uninspiring with dark wall paint and poor lighting. Bathroom in need of a refurb. The gym is very average. Staff are friendly but not overly responsive. I dropped my bags off at 11am and came back to check in at 6pm but my bags were not in my room. Not a huge deal but slightly annoying. Bed is good. Common areas need a refurb. Quite expensive for what I would rate no higher than a 4 star.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattA0808, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear stucorgan,

Thanks so much for taking your time to share your feedback.
Obviously we are dissappointed that the overall view was "uninspiring". Not our goal at all.
Particularly the responsiveness of the team was disappointing and we have a number of improvement programs in place that I am sure will drive improvements in overall service.
In regard to the physical building, we have also some very exciting activity planned for the coming months which will impact the facilites overall and specifically the presentation of the common areas you mentioned.
I do hope that you will take the chance on future visits to see the outcomes of these works and our efforts to raise the bar in all areas of the operation.

Yours Sincerely

Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    627
    281
    70
    38
See reviews for
289
399
81
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed for two nights on business this time, but have stayed for longer on other occasions over the years. The property hasn't changed much during that time, and although the decor could use a bit of refreshing, the hotel remains a good choice for those who need to be in downtown Canberra. It is not a cheap hotel and you are paying for the location rather than the quality, which is basic four star. It's located next to the Casino and at one end of City Walk, so is close to centrally located government offices and businesses. Most of the clientele appear to be government, military and overseas business travellers, but it is also a popular venue for conferences, and is generally pretty busy. Rooms are OK and perfectly clean but could do with updating and the sound-proofing between rooms could be better. The lighting is not very good and there are no armchairs, only a sort of divan-hassock thing, so you really have either to lie on the bed or sit at the desk. The bathroom was adequate, although the plumbing could have used attention. The bed was OK but the mattress was a bit saggy. The complimentary paper was delivered the first morning but forgotten on the second. The concierge and doormen provided excellent service but the reception staff were somewhat brusque and not particularly welcoming on arrival and did not ask whether our stay had been pleasant when we checked out. The buffet breakfast is expensive ($30) for a fairly ordinary, basic Western meal, but the quality was ok. However, the coffee service is a bottleneck and very slow if it is busy and the omelette station had closed down and the cook was already gone by 8:15 on our second morning. In-room internet is costly but there is supposed to be free internet access in the restaurant and lobby although I could not get the password login to work. I did not eat dinner at the hotel as there are many other choices along City Walk which are more attractive and better priced. There is a taxi rank next door to the hotel, in front of the Casino and I recommend using it rather than having the hotel call a cab for you, as this adds to the cost. I would use the Crowne Plaza again because it is so very convenient, and I would recommend it as a sound choice for business travellers who want the predictability of a big international chain and who need to be in central Canberra, but this latest visit made me think it needs to pull its socks up a bit, as it is getting past its prime.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattA0808, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Ozday,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share this extensive review. Thank you.
It seems obvious that our consistency and attention to detail in some areas has impacted you on this stay and I regret that we let you down.
Please accept my assurance that consistently great levels of service and product presentation is definitley our goal and we are motivated and passionate about ensuring our guests see the results of our efforts.
Hopefully our progress in these areas will further support the convenience and predictability that you mention and allow us to improve as the best option for your needs in Canberra.

Yours Sincerely

Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in February on a business trip. My room was on the second floor that fronts the street outside (Binara Street I think). This is a good 4 star hotel in my opinion although the passing pedestrian and car traffic can be a little loud. I suggest you request a room away from the street. It actually reminds me of the Embassy Suite Chain in the USA for some reason ! The room had two double beds with plenty of pillows and a comfy mattress. The room is well presented and no hint whatsoever of cigarette smoke which is nice. Furnishings are clean and tidy as was the ensuite with shower over bath. It has a mini bar refridgerator with a small stock of drinks and snacks. Also has tea and coffee making supplies. The large window has two blinds, a block out and a shade blind. Both have wind down handles. There is a nice work station with free internet access (a big plus in my opinion, both cable and wi-fi). Well done Crown. Staff at the front desk were always pleasant. Only a couple of negatives, the sink tap was just sitting on the stem. It comes off in your hand. I also have a pet hate of grime in ensuite tile grout. Whilst only a minor issue it is an issue. I did not partake of the restaurant but it does look very nice. Breakfast and dinner menu are pricey. Brekky is $28 and samples from the in room dining show steak, fish or chicken with side of veggies for $39. Club sandwich $20 and a chicken burger $24. As I said it all sounds nice but just a bit too pricey for me. Just about every night I have rung the reception desk to get the house music turned down, you can hear it in your room. Also called as I noted the bottle of chardonay in my fridge was only 1/4 full. It was obviously drunk by the previous room occupant and housekeeping failed to replenish it. That is a bit untidy so I will see if the charge me for it. Parking is very easy under the hotel in a secure park, cost is $15. Very nice garden setting and hotel atrium to relax in. Also nice TV with plenty of channels. I would stay here again. I doubt you will have any issues and all indications are you will have them fixed if you do.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back away from Binara Street. This will ensure a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gmert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Our official and event management crew recently stayed with Crowne Plaza for two consecutive weekends, for the Mountain Bike Australia National series rounds 3 & 4 in Canberra.

We found the hotel and staff to be nothing short of professional and accomodating. All of our needs as a sporting event crew were catered for to a high standard. Rooms were of high quality, and the extra touches such as discounted breakfast were very much appreciated by our crew.

I would highly recommend the Crowne Plaza and their sporting events program/partnership to anyone travelling to Canberra for any event, whether it be state, national or international level.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loz_newman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Ive stated at both Rydges hotels in Canberra as well as some others around the ACT and the crowne plaza was by far the best.
I purchased the Renaissance package and was very impressed as it also included parking and breakfast. I will definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Azz80t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.9 km away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
2.1 km away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
1.2 km away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#16 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
0.8 km away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#24 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,206 reviews
4.1 km away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Address: 1 Binara St, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#11 Family Hotel in Canberra
#12 Business Hotel in Canberra
#17 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price range (per night): $123 - $370
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter friendly service, easy accessibility and all the amenities you'll need to stay connected at Crowne Plaza Canberra. Ideally located in the heart of the Nation's Capital and within walking distance of the city's best bars, restaurants, attractions and main shopping fair, Crowne Plaza Canberra is the accommodation venue of choice for those seeking a memorable experience. Each of our 296 luxurious rooms have been designed with comfort in mind and feature ergonomic workstations and deluxe bedding to ensure you are well rested during your holiday or business stay. Excite your palate with succulent grills and fresh local produce in our signature Redsalt Restaurant, or enjoy lighter fare and a selection of wine, beer and specialty cocktails in our vibrant and popular Binara one bar. Meet with friends or hold an informal meeting with colleagues in the picturesque Atrium Lounge and enjoy an espresso coffee prepared by one of our expert baristas. Being active is a big part of enjoying life, which is why we're pleased to offer guests complimentary access to Pro-Fit Health Club with sauna and outdoor pool. Guests may also take advantage of our 24 hour Business Centre, high speed broadband and wireless connectivity in public areas designed to keep you connected. Be confident in your decision to experience Crowne Plaza Canberra and rely on exemplary service, easy access and modern facilities designed with your comfort and enjoyment in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, IHG, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Canberra
Canberra Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing