We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best view in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Ainslie Lookout

Mount Ainslie Lookout
Book In Advance
USD 132.86*
and up
Canberra Day Trip from Sydney Including Parliament House and the Australian War...
Ranked #6 of 199 things to do in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best view in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Except perhaps for going to the obs deck at the Telstra tower Mt Ainslie has the best views in town. Watch out of Kangaroos on the drive up - I mean literally, watch out, or you might have nasty accident.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank blindjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    773
    456
    62
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
ACT
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Takes your breath away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

If you want an excellent view of Canberra then this spot will give it to you. You need transport to get there or a good pair of walkers to get up the road. If your fortunate to be there at a time when there is no one else around then it's a pleasant spot to sit and just get lost in the breath taking views of the Capitol.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank HolidayACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Iconic view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

As a professional photographer I have been up here many times. Love the view and this should be high on your list of places to see in Canberra.

Helpful?
Thank aussieboy126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spectacular view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We visited the Black Mountain lookout/tower before coming to Mt Ainslie which we thought was a better view - and it's free. I admit there's no cafe but that wasn't a problem. We had a wonderful view of the city, mountains etc complete with approaching thunderstorm. Loved it!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank rozmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best view of Canberra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

You can see how Burley Griffin designed the city from up here, visitors to Canberra should not miss this lookout.

Helpful?
Thank OnlythebestTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Ainslie Lookout also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Mount Ainslie Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing