We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
National Portrait Gallery
Open today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Canberra
from USD 44.50
More Info
from USD 11.10
More Info
from USD 244.90
More Info
Reviews (1,642)
Filter reviews
1,619 results
Traveller rating
1,044
488
70
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,044
488
70
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great portraits famous australians walks of life australian history book shop high court worth a visit on display free entry captain cook couple of hours special exhibition gift shop beautiful building few hours old parliament house great place to visit
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,619 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Every time we visit Canberra we make it a point to return here as the portraits change and are always beautifully displayed and of great interest in helping to show those remarkable people in our past and present history. Love the fact that a separate building specialises in portraits only.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

Don’t miss this Gallery I preferred it to the National Gallery which was really good.
You journey through time and art trends and explore some history that will amaze you and make you proud of your country.
There are all sorts of mediums on display by such a huge talent pool of artists,photographers and sculptors. Wether your arty or not just go, the stories of each subject with draw you into who they are and the achievements of each one.
Go spend a couple of really good hours, stop for a great coffee and then walk across to the National Gallery as they are so close. But don’t miss this.

Thank judip37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited the portrait gallery as the weather had become wet. However we really enjoyed our visit and would recommend to anyone.

Thank Warrens_of_Conder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortraitGallery, Marketing Communications Coordinator at National Portrait Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks Warrens_of_Condor. We're glad we could keep you dry and entertained!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed the Portrait Gallery and would recommend a leisurely walk among the works - so beautiful - particularly loved Quentin Bryce

Thank elaynemargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The gallery has a great collection of paintings. The collection has all mediums of paintings. So many faces that I had not thought of for so long.....all Australian. A great place to visit when in Canberra.

Thank 116damiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This. Afternoon came to the gallery How fortunate was I ?
Got on a tour of myself and one other person Lucy was our guide
Thank you Lucy for a very informative tour
What a great gift to the Australian people these 20 commissioned portraits. All so different. Well done !

Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

You might not think that a gallery of portraits is an interesting place to visit. However, Australia’s National Portrait Gallery is indeed a very interesting place to visit for a couple of hours. There are dozens of portraits of Australian members of the arts, science, business and other communities. Each portrait includes a detailed description of the person with a description of the artists. Portraits do not have to be just paintings. There are many other for varieties of portraits present in this extensive collection. Look for the portraits of Olivia Newton John, Germaine Greer, author Thomas Kineally, and Nicole Kidman.

Thank Sandy5259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Always interesting to go to this gallery. Always something new. The new celebratory portraits are a treat.

Thank Asti65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The talent of these artists took my breath away. Do include this Gallery on you itinerary when visiting Canberra. A must.

Thank diane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Like the National Gallery just across the road, this is a place that you can just drop in to to browse for an hour or so without making an event of it. A typical Canberra gem.

Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews