We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alivio Tourist Park Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alivio Tourist Park Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Visited friends stay at the park. Had dinner in the new cafe. Wagyu Beef Burger the best. My partner had the Thai Beef Salad, loved it. Compliments to the Chef.

Room Tip: Have dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CherylW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementOconnor, Manager at Alivio Tourist Park Canberra, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Cheryl,

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Canberra Motor Village recently. I would like to offer you my appreciation for taking the time to provide us with some fantastic feedback.

I have passed on your compliments to our Chef and hope your next meal with us is as enjoyble as you last.

Kindest Regards,

Vickie Hambrook
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    534
    185
    77
    54
See reviews for
808
262
30
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We visited Canberra for a few days to visit the National Galley Renaissance Exhibition. Having recently returned from our o/seas travels we decided to stay in a cabin rather than motel just for the convenience of having a kitchenette to do our own breakfast or dinner etc, plus its close proximity to the CBD.(we have stayed here before in a larger cabin) We booked the Acacia Cabin which is one of the smaller cabins, the main bed is in open area with kitchen and dining area then there is a separate room with two double bunks and the bathroom is next door(I think this cabin would be a bit of a squeeze for 6 people) The cabins are stocked with everything you would need and there is plenty of things to keep kids occupied like s/pool, playground, tennis court, also good walking tracks around park. There is also a cafe being completed. The only picky things for me - were the bath towels supplied really need updating they were very worn (I would suggest you bring your own if you can) Pillows were lumpy as! Also I like to read the paper in the morning which supposedly you can buy from the kiosk we tried for three mornings to get one and every time we were advised they weren't delivered. I found the cabin not the cleanest place either (maybe the person who cleaned it after the last guests needs more training) things like cobwebs in windows, dirty cutlery & crockery, toilet not properly cleaning. Don't be put off these criticisms though, as the saying goes " you get what you pay for "is usually the case - what we paid for this cabin it was really good value for money

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mcingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementOconnor, Manager at Alivio Tourist Park Canberra, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Ingham,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review and we appreciate the time you have taken to supply us with some healthy feedback.

I am very disappointed that we could not satisfy you in all aspects of your stay, we pride ourselves on ensuring we offer a high level of cleanliness, unfortunately on this particular occasion we fell short of your expectations.

Once again our sincere apologies


Kindest Regards,

Vickie Hambrook
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed here for one night in one of the Motel Rooms.
Woke the next morning with some serious bites (I counted over 60 - all swollen, red and itchy) across my forehead, cheeks, neck and arms.
Showed it to reception when checking out, but didn't receive much sympathy or appology.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementOconnor, Manager at Alivio Tourist Park Canberra, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Peter,

Thank you for sharing your views and taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay.

I sincerely apologise for any discomfort caused as a result of your stay and welcome an opportunity to make amends. As soon as we were informed of the possibility of bed bugs we took immediate action to rectify the issue by taking all necessary steps to ensure complete eradication of any pests.
I would also like to take this opportunity to repress some common misconceptions about bed bugs, specifically that they can be caused from un-cleanliness. This is not the case, they are in fact introduced into an establishment by someone bringing items in that have eggs or even bugs on them. A recent report from JPMc Hale Pest Management Inc confirms findings of bed bugs in universities, hotels, residential properties and even hospitals – this demonstrates that no establishment is immune from bed bugs.

I apologise if you felt that the situation was not handled with enough sensitivity. I can assure you that I had your best interests at heart.

I hope that you may visit us again at some stage as I’m sure that your experience will be vastly different next time around.

Kindest Regards,

Vickie Hambrook
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed in our pop top camper with a couple of friends for the summernats car festival. The toilets and showers were extrememly clean and staff were helpful, also excellent new laundry facilities, best we have seen in a caravan park. Great sized sites and a great location. We will be back

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dark_sista86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We had a terrible experience with this park, unfortunately. We were really looking forward to staying in a quiet forest-filled area of Canberra, but alas did not work out as planned.

We booked an unpowered site here (we were camping in a mini-van on our trip), and when we arrived (at 8:30pm), the unfriendly woman at the desk informed us that we would need to sleep in a tent rather than our van (!? this had never happened on our 3 week long trip). She didn't explain adequately why we weren't allowed to sleep in our van rather than a tent; she simply told us that it was "just their policy". We were refunded and slept in a car park in Canberra... not ideal, but we didn't have any other options so late at night. The inflexibility of the staff put us in a less than ideal situation. I would definitely not recommend this place to anyone because of this experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erin888899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
6.0 km away
Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park
6.2 km away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
2.6 km away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
3.0 km away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
3.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alivio Tourist Park Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alivio Tourist Park Canberra

Property: Alivio Tourist Park Canberra
Address: 20 Kunzea St | O'Connor, Canberra 2602, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Canberra
Price range (per night): $129 - $186
Hotel Class:4 star — Alivio Tourist Park Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in the heart of the city...Nestled in a quiet bushland setting less than 5 minutes from the heart of the city, we are your perfect home away from home when visiting Canberra. Featuring a huge choice of modern and spacious villas, cabins and motel rooms, a great cafe, bar, pool and spa, leisure facilities and friendly helpful staff, all just a few minutes drive from the National Capital's biggest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Alivio Tourist Park Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing