We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Queensland Traveller
Brisbane, Australia

A pretty awful hotel. Avoid.

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Jan 2024
Didnt enjoy my stay at Peppers Gallery. Many of the basics are missing here.

At check-in the piano was so loud I couldnt hear receptionist properly. We had to speak loudly to try communicate. I was sure i heard breakfast was at 6am, which it wasnt.

My room was on Level 2 and away from reception. The distance was no issue, but there are 3 sets of 5-6 step stairs to navigate. Even if i took the lift the experience was not nice.

Room is was not to high standard. No towel rails, though the awful bathroom doors have short raise suitable for a face cloth.

Basic amenities not in room, but a note instead asking to call reception if you want some. Using the iron is not nice experience either becasue the most suitable place to use is in the bathroom, and its not a large space.

Closet was very dusty and since its only a wide open space using the kettle wasnt going to be a hygenic experience due to the dustyness.

Side table had some fluid smeared underneath the glass surface, dont even want to imagine what it was.
The matress is not flat and has a significant groove on one side.

TV was not a smart tv and not nice to use. Controller didnt seem to work well and the tv had a delay in responding to the button press on the remote.

From the poor communication at check-in (from overbearingly loud piano) i was early for breakfast following morning. Sat around for 20mins.

Coffee machine had issues each morning. Long black doesnt work on the machine. The flat white i tried had no coffee, just water and milk.

Location is about a 15 minute boring walk to city.

Positives - Staff seemed nice.

I will not be staying here again. First Peppers experience.
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: Coffee?? Forget it. Machine is awful... when its working.
Trip type: Travelled on business
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peppers Gallery, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra, responded to this review
Responded 29 Jan 2024
Dear Destination653500,
Thank you for taking time to post a review from your stay. I am disappointed to hear of your experience as this is not what we want our guests to have staying at Peppers Gallery.
Being a heritage property, our hotel comes with plenty of charm and some quirks such as sets of steps in the corridors, numerous mirrors in corridors, artwork in rooms etc. On occasion when our guests require a room move to ensure better experience our team are always on hand to assist. Regarding amenities in our rooms, as part of our sustainability initiatives to minimise waste, certain amenities are only available at your request. I have taken feedback regarding housekeeping to discuss with my team to ensure our quality checks are to standards before releasing the room for our guests to check in. I would like to once again thank you for your feedback, as it is feedback such as yours assist us to further improve the services we offer to our guests and always strive to provide a memorable experience. If you are planning to stay in Canberra soon please do get in touch with us so that we can ensure we can showcase our hotel and its service as experienced by our loyal guests.

Anand Unnikrishnan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$179
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$171
  • Agoda.com
    AU$142
  • Priceline
    AU$188
1.2 km from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$211
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$205
  • Priceline
    AU$205
  • Expedia.com
    AU$215
0.7 km from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Room service
AU$166
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$166
  • Agoda.com
    AU$144
  • Expedia.com
    AU$166
2.5 km from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$237
  • Vio.com
    AU$118
  • Expedia.com
    AU$125
3.0 km from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Free parking
Pool
AU$132
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$123
  • Agoda.com
    AU$119
  • Expedia.com
    AU$122
3.5 km from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
AU$143
  • Priceline
    AU$151
  • Expedia.com
    AU$151
  • Hotel Website
    AU$151
0.2 km from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$169
  • Booking.com
    AU$182
  • Expedia.com
    AU$172
  • Priceline
    AU$214
6.4 km from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$214
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$214
  • Agoda.com
    AU$188
  • Expedia.com
    AU$228
4.1 km from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$298
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$297
  • Priceline
    AU$298
  • Hotels.com
    AU$298
1.6 km from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$143
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$159
  • Wyndham
    AU$119
  • Expedia.com
    AU$159
6.7 km from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Canberra
Reviews (2,338)
Filter reviews
2,338 results
Traveller rating
812
859
420
164
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
812
859
420
164
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premier room new acton street parking comfortable bed coffee machine reception staff city centre business trip an upgrade across the road bicicletta anu cinema precinct bath floriade blinds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 2,338 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2023

Hotel is in a good postilion and very clean and tidy. Rooms are generous. There is limited parking and not on site. Breakfast was enjoyble if not a little disorganized. There are a few good restaurants close by.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Jenni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peppers Gallery, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2024

Dear Jennib987,
Thank you for taking time to post a review from our stay. Glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the services offered. I have taken note on breakfast service for further action. I look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.
Anand Unnikrishnan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2023 via mobile

Whilst not very good it was good. Zero issue check in reception lovely and cheerful and afforded me an upgrade. Room decent size and clean a little worn esp bed head I was a little scared just how it bacme so ...worn like it'd been chewed! The room was fine for a solo traveller and worked from the desk.
Bed soft.
No view
Air Con was very efficient and my cleaner must be a polar bear as was set to 16c each day
Wifi great
TV had a usb port love that
Bathroom style over functional toilet slow to flush
Pod coffee a treat but no bottle opener in room
Body products lovely
Buffet breakfast so so more a sides to your main should one opt for off the menu
Fine location I found walkable to Civic but lacking in a variety of eats
No gym
Would stay again as quiet and was walking distance to all my wants

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank joancollins69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peppers Gallery, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2023

Dear Joan,

We are so pleased to hear that your check-in experience was pleasant and that you received an upgrade. We appreciate your positive feedback and have taken notes for further improvement.

Thank you again for taking time to leave us your honest review, it truly means a lot to us here at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra. We hope you will consider staying with us again on your next visit!


Anand Unnikrishnan
General Manager
Peppers Gallery Canberra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2023

The front desk staff is rude and breakfast staff was so understaffed.
1. We had dirty dishes infront of our room when we checked in at 2 pm
2. Being a long time Accor member, no complimentary drink in the room. Had to request.
3. Toiletries was limited supply, when requested by calling Front Desk, they asked to get it from the front desk and it was not delivered in the room. When we went to check the Front Desk staff, they were gossiping and then they lied that they got the room number wrong.
4. Breakfast staff was under staffed and long que and struggling to manage the demand.
5 This hotel doesnt deserve to be a part of Accor. It needs a full revamp on Accor global standards on staff training.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Samit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peppers Gallery, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2023

Dear Sammit,
Thank you for taking time to write us a review from your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear of your experience. We will be touch with you to discuss your feedback further to ensure the issues you have raised are addressed immediately. I can assure you that this experience you have experienced is not what we are known for and this is a very rare occasion at Peppers Gallery. We are know for the wonderful and personalised service our staff provide and this is well highlighted by many reviews from our loyal guests staying at the hotel. I hope that you would provide my team another chance in the near future to showcase the hospitality we are known for.

Thank you
Anand Unnikrishnan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2023 via mobile

The hotel was in a quiet & convenient location to the centre of Canberra. The Queen room was very small with a comfortable bed, an extremely low armchair, desk & chair. We had lunch on the first day there & dinner on our second night in the restaurant. The problems we encountered were: poor service in the restaurant particularly at breakfast the first day though the second morning was somewhat better; the breakfast offered was very meagre & comprised a continental buffet with eggs only, cooked to order; the restaurant was dark & in need of refurbishment; many of the staff in the restaurant appeared to be untrained & uninformed about what was included with the Luxury Escapes package; and, the Manager, who insisted the free drink was only beer or house wine. When asked about a cocktail he told us they did not have a cocktail of the month & that was that. On our second night in the restaurant we were told they were trialling an “all you can eat $30.00 pizza” night. We were given a menu which listed pizzas with prices for each one & other meals that could be ordered. We noticed other diners ordering dishes other than pizza. We ordered two pizzas worth $53.00 but when paying we saw we’d been charged $60.00. After querying this, the manager was called & insisted it was $30.00 each regardless of what or how many pizzas we had & he refused to reduce the bill. After trying to rationalise with him about the fact we’d been given a menu with individual pizza prices he persisted in essentially saying we could have more. We had eaten enough, however, because he was so intransigent we then ordered another pizza which was wasted. Our main issue was with the Manager & management of this hotel. The two young men we dealt with at Reception & the Chef were doing a good job. We will not be returning to this hotel.

Room tip: If staying over a weekend there is plenty of free parking near the hotel.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank LaraineA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peppers Gallery, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2023

Dear Laraine,
Thank you for taking time to write to us about your luxury escapes experience at Pepper Gallery. I am really disappointed to hear of your experience. Please rest assured that I am working with my team to address the issues you have raised to ensure they never occur again. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused and we will be in touch to discuss further and hopefully welcome you back to showcase the hospitality we are know for.
Thank you

Anand Unnikrishnan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2023

Great location, large rooms, excellent restaurant, great staff. We stayed on our way home from the snow. Very pleasant hotel with excellent rooms and facilities. We enjoyed the whole experience very much.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GaryFMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peppers Gallery, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2023

Dear Gary,
Thank you for taking time to write about your experience. Wonderful to hear you have a great stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back for your next stay at Peppers Gallery.

Anand Unnikrishnan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews