We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Laraine A
Albury, Australia

Left a Bad Taste

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Sept 2023via mobile
The hotel was in a quiet & convenient location to the centre of Canberra. The Queen room was very small with a comfortable bed, an extremely low armchair, desk & chair. We had lunch on the first day there & dinner on our second night in the restaurant. The problems we encountered were: poor service in the restaurant particularly at breakfast the first day though the second morning was somewhat better; the breakfast offered was very meagre & comprised a continental buffet with eggs only, cooked to order; the restaurant was dark & in need of refurbishment; many of the staff in the restaurant appeared to be untrained & uninformed about what was included with the Luxury Escapes package; and, the Manager, who insisted the free drink was only beer or house wine. When asked about a cocktail he told us they did not have a cocktail of the month & that was that. On our second night in the restaurant we were told they were trialling an “all you can eat $30.00 pizza” night. We were given a menu which listed pizzas with prices for each one & other meals that could be ordered. We noticed other diners ordering dishes other than pizza. We ordered two pizzas worth $53.00 but when paying we saw we’d been charged $60.00. After querying this, the manager was called & insisted it was $30.00 each regardless of what or how many pizzas we had & he refused to reduce the bill. After trying to rationalise with him about the fact we’d been given a menu with individual pizza prices he persisted in essentially saying we could have more. We had eaten enough, however, because he was so intransigent we then ordered another pizza which was wasted. Our main issue was with the Manager & management of this hotel. The two young men we dealt with at Reception & the Chef were doing a good job. We will not be returning to this hotel.
Date of stay: September 2023
Room Tip: If staying over a weekend there is plenty of free parking near the hotel.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peppers Gallery, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra, responded to this review
Responded 28 Sept 2023
Dear Laraine,
Thank you for taking time to write to us about your luxury escapes experience at Pepper Gallery. I am really disappointed to hear of your experience. Please rest assured that I am working with my team to address the issues you have raised to ensure they never occur again. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused and we will be in touch to discuss further and hopefully welcome you back to showcase the hospitality we are know for.
Thank you

Anand Unnikrishnan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$166
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$166
2.5 km from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$262
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.6 km from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$144
Fully refundable
  • Official Hotel
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
3.5 km from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$118
  • Priceline
    AU$237
3.0 km from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$148
  • Official Hotel
1.2 km from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$252
  • Expedia.com
    AU$297
4.1 km from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • AbyAdina.com
    AU$193
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$189
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Room service
Garden Villa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    AU$134
  • Algotels
3.5 km from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$138
  • Algotels
6.7 km from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rydges Canberra Dominion Suite bedroom
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$136
  • Algotels
3.4 km from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Canberra
Reviews (2,337)
Filter reviews
2,337 results
Traveller rating
812
859
420
163
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
812
859
420
163
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premier room new acton street parking comfortable bed coffee machine reception staff city centre business trip an upgrade across the road bicicletta anu cinema precinct bath floriade blinds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 2,337 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2023

Great location, large rooms, excellent restaurant, great staff. We stayed on our way home from the snow. Very pleasant hotel with excellent rooms and facilities. We enjoyed the whole experience very much.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GaryFMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peppers Gallery, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2023

Dear Gary,
Thank you for taking time to write about your experience. Wonderful to hear you have a great stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back for your next stay at Peppers Gallery.

Anand Unnikrishnan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2023

Comfortable room and bed with usual amenities and a huge comfortable bath for a good soak in bath salts.
Limited breakfast buffet - good effort to curtail the apparent usual horrendous food waste - but not offered the selection of hot breakfasts

Room tip: limited hot breakfast buffet - they have a slection but not offered to me breakfast starts too late to enjoy with work commitments
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pauldT3558GI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peppers Gallery, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2023

Dear Paul,
Thank you for taking time to write about your experience. Wonderful to hear you have a great stay. I will share your thoughts on breakfast offering with my restaurant manager for review. Looking forward to welcoming you back for your next stay at Peppers Gallery.

Anand Unnikrishnan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2023

Good location for everything in Canberra, local cafes and dinner options nearby as well, in house restaurant is ok as well for convienient bite to eat, parking can be a pain but generally ok if you get a local spot

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2023

Amazing as always! Location, style, good customer service, amazing food, can reserve parking. Great customer service from booking to check out. The room is spotless and stylish. The restaurant is a great complement, as the food and the service is also top notch. We love staying at Peppers Gallery.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Manuela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2023

The overall service was good specailly check-in and check out was pretty fast. However, replacing fabric sofa with leather one and adding brush & paste the hotel could add more value in service. I personally didn't feel comfortable using the sofa durimng my saty

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Md R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews