We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
South Perth
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Close to perfect!”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here for one night only last year. Really couldn't fault them, reception & staff were friendly, pleasant & very professional. Car park was not part of hotel but very close & not a problem. They were recovering from a recent fire that could have made life difficult for them but they explained in advance about their kitchen difficulties & the rest was perfect. Room was excellent & bed very comfortable. We had stayed the night before at their Sydney branch ... that was good but Canberra surpassed them in every aspect.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_CBR, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear JudMen,

Thank you for taking your time to leave your feedback from your recent stay with us at the Diamant Hotel.
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us last year and to hear your lovely comments about our staff members, which have been passed onto them.
I can inform you with great pleasure that our restaurant Bicicletta has fully recovered from the fire in July and is very happy to be serving both the public and our guests with their lovely authentic Italian food and just recently won the award for Best Hotel Restaurant in Canberra.
Your lovely comments inspire us all here at The Diamant, both within the restaurant and the hotel itself, to continue creating a memorable and very enjoyable experience for all that come to the hotel.
Thank you again for your kind words about the hotel and our staff members. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Maurits de Graeff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    559
    264
    88
    30
See reviews for
176
615
132
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Victoria Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The reception and room were quite nice. Behind the nice facade though the hotels service ethic and processes are quite poor.

We asked for a cot during our reservation and called to ensure it was noted - despite this they still didn't prepare it. The staff don't have a good service ethic and their is an element of poor attention to detail - the hallways to room are poorly maintained.

I'd try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southbank67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Hotel is ok but not great. There was a very clear lack of directions from the staff and the sprawling nature of the hotel makes it difficult to navigate. Staff did not tell us car park was not attached to hotel and we struggled with bags up the street after parking then up and down many stairs to get to our room. Not a good start!! TV reception was appalling and staff were unable to help. I will probably not visit again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbie15711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed for one night - hotel was fantastic, manages to achieve that nice modern feel without feeling sterile. Room was fantastic - very comfortable. Bed was AWESOME, bathroom great, convenient parking and very friendly and professional hotel staff.

Definitely one of the best hotels i've stayed in, and great value for money - highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happiestcamper000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2012

When the room was initially booked we were told it would be on a higher floor and with a view of the courtyard. Upon checking in, the room was unavailable but we were upgraded to a premiere room on the ground floor. The bathroom is very nice, the double doors are a great touch to the room. The only problem is that EVERYTHING is nickled and dimed, the mini bar, of course, but the snack table on the desk has many things at of course, a price. When coming into the rooms make sure to read the in&out card that is on the desk. It breaks down prices of everything. If I had not read it, I'd have thought that the room came with a few complimentary items. Unfortunately it is hooked to a tether. That chocolate chip cookie I see right now not only comes at a price of kilojoules but also with a price tag of 5.00. Couples with kids who bring their kids to the hotel, be careful since it is in plain view.
Reception is very nice, the staff are very hospitable. Internet was a bit of a hassle to get working since we were not told about the need for a password. The room did come equipped with a cable to plug into the laptop but as I said, you need to call the front desk for the password. The rooms offer broadband internet. It is free though. If you are on ground floor you may be able to log onto the network wirelessly. The TV is a flatscreen but positioned oddly in the room. IMO it should be on a TV stand or attached to the wall entirely, but it does include a DVD player. The TV does, however, need to be bigger.
There is a lounge in the room which is very nice. The wardrobe does lack storage space, but there are two of them. Complimentary slippers in one of them.
The hotel is very nice but not worth 300 a night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dion d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.2 km away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#16 of 57 in Canberra
1,305 reviews
1.2 km away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,249 reviews
1.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#7 of 57 in Canberra
634 reviews
2.9 km away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,570 reviews
1.7 km away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Gallery Hotel

Property: Peppers Gallery Hotel
Address: 15 Edinburgh Ave, Canberra 2601, Australia (Formerly Diamant Hotel Canberra)
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Canberra
#8 Family Hotel in Canberra
#9 Business Hotel in Canberra
#13 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#14 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price range (per night): $125 - $367
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Gallery Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra combines a unique CBD location with Peppers signature boutique features, designer ambience and service experience. The Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra building is heritage registered, with original features that blend effortlessly with a modern Peppers setting. Every detail has been well thought out - with Bang & Olufsen technology, marble features in boutique rooms and apartments. All Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra rooms have rain showers, luxury bedding, smart technology and original artwork. Choose from Hotel Room, Deluxe and Premier Rooms, and Suites. Unwind in your fully self-contained apartment with one, two or three bedrooms and a balcony. Located within the original Hotel Acton building, this historic and heritage listed site has been transformed into the NewActon Pavilion - Canberra's first true urban village, where Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra has taken up residence as the city's first luxury boutique hotel. Featuring the renowned Bicicletta Restaurant and Library Bar, guests can enjoy true Italian cuisine. Bicicletta specialises in homemade pasta and produce from different regions of Italy and Australia, catering to all occasions including formal sit-down meals. Relax at Soma Day Spa or explore the New Acton precinct, close to the iconic Lake Burley Griffin and within walking distance of Canberra's many high-end attractions. The where Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra provides complimentary WiFi in all rooms as well as public areas. Australia's Capital Territory is home to some great attractions, many within walking distance from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra which is located ten minutes from the city centre, near Canberra's many cafes, bars, shops and restaurants. The National Zoo & Aquarium and National Arboretum Canberra is a short drive away, as are the Botanical Gardens and Telstra viewing tower. Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra is located just 7.5Km from Canberra International and is on the doorstep of Canberra's key cultural, entertainment, sport and commercial facilities, making it the perfect choice for your next Canberra stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamant Hotel Canberra - By 8 Canberra
Hotel Diamant Boutique
Diamant Boutique Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing