We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great meal, was very impressed by the unusual food”
Review of Lanterne Rooms

Lanterne Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1,531 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 12 - USD 25
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I avoid fishcakes in Thai cuisine as they always seem a bit rubbery, but I am so pleased I gave the Malaysian alternative Otak Otak a try. Full of flavour and full of fish, just delicious. Followed with sharing Prawns with Vermicelli in a delicious sauce, then Coconut and Lime Posset, mmm-mmm. Can't wait to return on my next visit to Canberra.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy T, Public Relations Manager at Lanterne Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi Maureen,

Thank you for dining with us and thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed our food, and in particular our Otak Otak!

Hope to see you again next time you're in Canberra,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Absolutely fantastic! Food was superb and staff are always friendly and attentive. This restaurant exceeds my expectations every single time.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank lucywarren93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy T, Public Relations Manager at Lanterne Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi Lucy,

Thank you for your ongoing support of our restaurant and thanks for taking the time to leave us a review!

Hope to see you again soon,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Two of us shared lamb rice paper rolls, otak otak fish cake, Angus beef kampung curry and slow cooked lentils. Servings were good for the price and flavours were authentic. Not the friendliest welcome on arrival but table service by others was attentive and polite. 25 minutes walk from Canberra CBD along pleasant tree lined streets. Best to book.

1  Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy T, Public Relations Manager at Lanterne Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi Own,

Thanks for dining with us, we're glad you enjoyed our dishes and flavours.

All the best,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

I had heard about this restaurant and was looking forward to trying it out and I was not disappointed! The food was outstanding. We had the tasting menu and every dish was the perfect combination of flavours and textures. My dessert of raspberry and lime posset with rose praline was sublime. The service was friendly and attentive. If you are in Canberra do give this restaurant a visit!

1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy T, Public Relations Manager at Lanterne Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi Susan,

Thanks for coming in and thank you for recommending our restaurant to visitors! We're so glad you enjoyed your meal with us - the posset is one of our favourites as well!

Many thanks,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Wanted a special lunch to celebrate our anniversary and was very pleased we chose Lanterne Rooms. A little surprised by the restaurant tucked away in the Campbell shops. It looks. Itching special and you would easily just walk past. Inside it is tidy and clean but nothing spectacular. The service was impeccable and we were given plenty of attention. We chose the executive lunch as this let us sample all the things that had caught our attention from the menu. Meals came out very quickly and were an explosion of flavour. Good quantity of everything. A little rest between courses would have been welcomed. Overall it was a lovely meal, we left extremely satisfied. Photos don’t do justice to the flavors.

1  Thank Ree_Views1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy T, Public Relations Manager at Lanterne Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi,

Thanks for choosing our restaurant to celebrate your anniversary. We're so pleased you enjoyed dining with us.

Many thanks,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lanterne Rooms also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Lanterne Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing