We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location, excellent hosts and perfectly...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Can Cassou

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Serralongue village, just 10 minutes walk away.
Le village.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Serralongue, Pyrenees-Orientales, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
ericasaye...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, excellent hosts and perfectly relaxing.”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Set in a beautiful mountain backdrop, this really is a stunning location to take a holiday. We booked two weeks, but really could have done with longer. So much to explore. Wonderful walks straight from the property. The owners of the holiday gite happily showed us walks and routes through the forest to amazing swimming holes etc. Nature is in abundance here, the kids loved it! Such an adventure! Weather is amazing, crisp heat or on the odd occasion it rained it was stunning. The village is a short distance and beautiful. Lovely cafe and very friendly people all about.

The property itself was quaint, pretty and very comfortable. Very rustic and true to the area. Also extremely well kept and clean, with mod cons. There is a small private pool that is awesome for families staying at the property and a lot of fun. Ideal to cool off in. Very safe, clean and well maintained by the owner.

We are planning our next visit as Martin, Nora and their dog Truffle are amazing, extremely warm and welcoming. We were so sad to leave. If you want a relaxing break, away from the crowds with no hassles then you need to visit Can Cassou. It's a beautiful part of the world and extremely affordable and reasonable for the quality of accommodation. Close to Spain too. Stunning place. We shall return. Thank you Martin and Nora for your hosipltality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
A charming family who really enjoyed everything that this location has to offer. We hope they come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
btbLondon
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Small but enjoyable”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Can Cassou is small and basic but it is very quiet and has what you need as a base for visiting and walking in a very beautiful area. The main potential problem is that the bedroom and the living room/kitchen are in separate but close together buildings and it you are there when it's raining (and it does rain in the Pyrenees but luckily only on one day during our visit) you could get wet moving between the two - there are, however, umbrellas provided.

The bedrooms are comfortable and have good shutters to keep out the light.

The kitchen is small but well equipped and usable and the armchairs in the living room very comfy. Of course we spent little time in the living room as we were mainly outside - this would have been easier if there were an outside light over the eating area.

It is a wonderful area fro walking and there are good walks straight from Can Cassou without needing to drive anywhere. I recommend the (steep) walk up to les Tours.

Martin was a friendly and helpful host.

One tip, if you need petrol drive over the border into Spain, it's much cheaper there. It's a pleasant drive through wonderful countryside - combine it with a trip to Campradon - a pretty town with lots of attractive small shops and a small market on Sundays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Moving between the bedrooms and living room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thanks for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay in this wonderful region. Your point about the outside light is a good one and we are going to come up with a solution.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan de B
1 review
“Paradise in the Pyrenees”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A well equiped, tastefully decorated gite in a beautifull natural setting. While being fairly close to the owners home it was very private. We awoke to the sound of the oriole and the wryneck and enjoyed the friendly company of Truffels, their dog. Martin and Nota are very friendly and knowlegable about the area.
Do your grocery shopping in advance as the nearest supermarche is 15 km. away. There is a good restaurant in the village, a 20 min. walk. The pool in the garden is very refreshing.
Jan and Susan

Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
These guests were absolutely lovely and a real pleasure to get to know - they were very interested and knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the area and I learnt quite a lot about some of the birds that frequent our little corner of the forest.

There is a quicker route to the village that takes less than 15 minutes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A s
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hospitality in a stunning location”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We really enjoyed ourselves and felt very comfortable on our stay in the gite. Located in a woodland backdrop, it was very peaceful and close to nature. Martin and Nora were very welcoming upon our arrival, and helpful during our stay, advising us on some of the local places to visit and things to do.
Being interested in wildlife we found the location superb and perfectly positioned for exploring the local landscape.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhMWillia...
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect quiet retreat. Plus Truffle.”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Can Cassou is a fantastic getaway for a balance of peace and quiet in the Midi-Pyrenees countryside. Well equipped gite, with private pool and space for lounging and a BBQ. The owners could not be more accommodating, striking the balance perfectly between helpful, social and leaving you to your own devices.
The local village is very pretty, and Martin and Nora can help you with ordering your morning bread and croissant, and I recommend booking in for dinner at the cafe. Very high standard.

Other larger towns are reachable easily by car, and it is recommended that you stock up on essentials on your way up the valley in the many larger towns on the route.
There are some great walks from outside your door, especially up to the tower to get a fantastic panoramic view of the mountains.
Truffle is simply an added bonus!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing