We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable and quiet location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Woodlands Cottage

External view of Woodlands Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
External view of Woodlands Cottage
External view of the entrance to Woodlands Cottage. View of the front entrance to Woodlands Cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
External view of Woodlands Cottage
External view of the entrance to Woodlands Cottage.
View of the front entrance to Woodlands Cottage.
Dining area.
Living area with wooden floor and underfloor heating.
Dining area with underfloor heating and granite tiles.
Kitchen with granite tiles and underfloor heating.
One side of the Main bedroom with a king sized bed.
Other side of the Main bedroom.
Walk in Power Shower
Twin room
Twin room.
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Bathroom - Bath, sink, toilet and walk in shower
External view of Woodlands Cottage
Garden area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
VALERIE s...
Brechin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable and quiet location”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Welcoming and helpful, very comfortable and well equipped, a freezer would be an excellent addition.
Beautiful and very quiet location, don't expect a local shop or pub, however not too far away

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and Quiet
Liked least: no freezer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdy7
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great family break”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We meet up as a family a few times a year and need suitable accommodation. This on paper appeared to meet our needs and we weren't disappointed. The on line pictures do not do this place justice. We have 3 cars and had plenty of parking, we wanted a comfy open plan lay out, and this really delivered. I was relegated to one of the single beds in the small bedroom, but was pleased to find that they were comfy, quite often the single beds intended for children are lacking. The sofas x 3 in the living room, were really comfy and since we stay in every evening, this is an important feature. There's a large bright family bathroom with a good walk in separate shower, not the usual bath over shower often found. The kitchen had a good range of pots and pans and we were pleased to find larger size frying pans, geat for sautéing. The area is very quiet and peaceful and probably great to take walks from, for us it was well placed, almost equal distance between Lincoln and Newark. There were a few negatives. There is no space for any drawers or wardrobe in the small, just enough room for 2 beds. We had to store our clothes in the larger bedroom wardrobe and use the living room Drawers. There was only 1 large glass in the cupboards, so I had to purchase a second so we could have long drinks. But it does need 4 tall glasses. I had tried to contact the owner by email, prior to arrival, to ask if the fridge has a freezer section (it does) but she never got back to me. I also wanted to know if there was a cafetière, but there was no reply at the phone. On arrival, we were greated and when we asked about the cafetière, they very helpfully leant us one and subsequently brought us a new one. Personally I found the house hard to find, but I was going off duff google maps information, make sure you have the right info as, again I got no reply to ringing, when I got lost. overall very pleased.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great comfy sofas
Liked least: Poor selection of drinking glasses and no bedroom furniture twin room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for your review, your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I must apologise for not having responded to your questions or been in to answer the phone, but we were abroad on holiday. Thank you for the glass and I have added four more so that there are sufficient tall glasses in the future. The caffetiere is also permanently housed in the cottage too. Many thanks for taking the time to review the cottage, we constantly try to make sure our guests have the best stay possible so your tips are very helpful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
691vale
Rosignano Marittimo, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cottage!”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

beautiful cottage! very clean! very friendly people! the cottage is in a beautiful place! super recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for your review, It is greatly appreciated and I am really pleased that you had a good holiday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dipper111
1 review
“Excellent family accommodation”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Can't rate this property highly enough. Better than the photos suggest. Very good chill out mini break over the New Year with my wife and 3 kids, ages - 13, 11 & 9. Excellent facilities and amenities in the cottage. Louise was very welcoming. I can recommend the Lord Nelson pub for a meal, about 5 miles away in Collingham. Cheers, really enjoyed !!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illyace
Colchester, Essex UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A perfect stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A very comfy and clean holiday let with everything we needed for our stay. Our young daughter loved all the space and the thoughtful extras like books and games. It is situated in a quiet village that was very convenient for our trips to Sundown Adventureland, Newark and Lincoln. We would have loved to stay longer!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing