We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
176
95
35
15
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
95
35
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom villa mt hutt golf resort beautiful golf course clay bird shooting gas fire ski fields southern alps full kitchen hunters restaurant mini bar excellent accommodation fantastic location lake coleridge stayed longer spa bath south island
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2018

We were blown away by the view from our apartment straight across to snow dusted mountains. The apartment was large, clean and had everything we needed plus some. Using the fireplace would have been awesome in cooler temps. Beds were comfy and the complimentary snacks in the mini-bar was a lovely bonus. It's location is a little remote and nothing very close by as far as restaurants/cafes go so be prepared to cook for yourself or eat at their restaurant. We did and it was lovely, service was attentive also and prices what you would expect for a resort restaurant. View from the restaurant was great also. Didn't get a chance to eat at the café but it looked great also.Would definitely stay here again and bring friends! We don't play golf but if you did you would be in golfers paradise as it sits upon a top rated course.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Duncan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape816916, General Manager at Terrace Downs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Dear Duncan5

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us here at Terrace Downs Golf Resort, we appreciate your comments.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback such as yours and this will act as further motivation for the team to strive to continually improve the quality of our goods and services.
I will share your comments with the team, especially the kitchen they will be delighted as they have recently began a new menu and shared platter concept that is proving very popular.
Thank you again for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us we do appreciate it and we look forward to see you back at Terrace Downs again in the future.

Kind Regards

Simon Harper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Had a golf deal so decided to stay a couple of nights, enjoyed the villa (two bedroom) and all its facilities. Weather was kind to us for our round of golf, course in very good condition with plenty of challenges for us. Especially as I won the haggle (and enjoyed the post match beers)Will be back!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frankand2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape816916, General Manager at Terrace Downs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Frankand2013

Thank you for your review of your recent time with us at Terrace Downs, it sounds like you really enjoyed yourself.
Congratulations with the win of the haggle, always makes the beer taste better in the Clubhouse after the round.

Thank you again for your feedback it is greatly appreciated and will share your comments with the golf team they will be delighted by your comments.

Kind Regards

Simon Harper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

Stunning scenery and great activities on offer! We did the archery and clay shooting which was fantastic and I would highly recommend it for any skill level. We only experienced the restaurant for breakfast which was perfectly adequate. My rating drops to just 3 because the villa we stayed in did not meet our expectations (for what we paid). There was a foul cooking odour of fatty fried food that was throughout the entire unit, and it was most unpleasant. We had bought some food to prepare a romantic dinner, etc. but the ambiance just wasn't there unfortunately as it was dominated by the smell. The living area was quite old fashioned looking and in need of a make over. Cleanliness was generally good, apart from the shower floor tiles that needed a good scrub, and the bed was comfortable. Sorry, just not what I'd expect in this price bracket.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LeeMc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape816916, General Manager at Terrace Downs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear LeeMc2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at Terrace Downs, I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, let me express me our sincerest apologies. We appreciate all feedback and I will be reviewing your comments with the housekeeping team and taking the necessary actions to rectify the situation.

Thank you again for your review of , feedback such as yours assists us to continuously strive to improve the quality of our goods and services.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Terrace Downs again in the future.

Simon Harper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Terrace Downs is in a great spot..not far from Christchurch or the Mt Hutt ski fields. We enjoyed almost all aspects of our stay. It is certainly not a cheap stay, but this is a premium resort with premium facilities. I struggled to find a good pillow which impacted my sleep quality, but this was a minor blip on an otherwise excellent stay. Recommended.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SteveJ1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape816916, General Manager at Terrace Downs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear SteveJ1973

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at Terrace Downs, we appreciate all and any feedback from our valued guests.

Thank you also for recognizing Terrace Downs as a premium resort and enjoying the range of the facilities we provide to our guests.

The housekeeping team will check the pillows in your villa and we will make the necessary changes as required and on your next visit we trust you have a better night's sleep.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back in the future.

Kind Regard


Simon Harper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed here with family early September in a two bedroom and three bedroom Villa. The rooms were lovely and the beds were super comfy and huge. Unfortunately our shower had almost nil pressure but we were able to shower in the master ensuite which was good. The view from our Villa was amazing. We played Archery which was great fun with great guides. The food was yum but service was a little off at times. We didn’t play golf but those on the course looked like they were enjoying themselves. Overall we had a great experience.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DemiB110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape816916, General Manager at Terrace Downs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear DemiB110

Thank your comments and feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Terrace Downs, we appreciate your feedback as this helps us as we strive to continuously strive to improve the quality of our goods and services.

The views at the resort of the gorge and Mt Hutt are indeed breathtaking and it is unique location that never ceases to delight our guests.

The maintenance team will check the water pressure in the villa and make the necessary adjustments. Chef will be delighted that you like the new menu and we apologise for the service being a little off, we will pass this feedback onto the team.

Thank you again for your feedback it is very much appreciated and valued

Kind Regards

Simon Harper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews