We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Soulful, clean and well-stocked”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
paths through the woods close to the cabin
Local shop/post office/café in Dalavich village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Dalavich, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon J
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Soulful, clean and well-stocked”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cabin is very quaint and rustic with everything you need to feel comfortable and at home, plus lots of extra little touches like nice bathroom soaps, some wood for the pot belly stove and even a hairdryer. The cabin is well-insulated and heated, the fridge is roomy and there are games for playing on rainy days. This is not a lake-front cabin as advertised, but it's very close and you can see it through the trees. The owner, Irgun, was very friendly and helpful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mose72
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Recommended ”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have stayed in four cabins on site and this has been the best so far.

The cabin is spotless, everything was clean, the utensils, pots, kitchen etc. The kitchen has the essentials of coffee, tea, coffee oils etc. I think a pint of milk was left by the owner.

The bedroom we stayed in is nicely appointed with a double bed. There are two others, one with bunks beds.

The owner leaves a bag of logs and tinder to start the fire, and this is free.

There is TV although this didn't work when we stayed, the owner stated that she was getting it fixed. There is free and unlimited WiFi provided.

Although the cabin isn't on the Loch, it is close by to it and it is on the playing field.

Please note that there is a £15 charge per dog, per stay. This is mentioned in the blurb, but missed it.

I highly recommend the cabin and we look forward to staying here again.



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
I am pleased that you enjoyed staying in the cabin. It was nothing wrong with the TV, but the satellite dish had moved slightly in the wind and was put right by our local TV/satellite expert. It is always nice to know when something is not working so things can be put right without delay. You left the cabin clean and tidy which is much appreciated. Looking forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
451sjl
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely location cozy cabin and very clean”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lovely clean welcoming cabin. Cozy log burner and large dining table for family and partners. The weather was very mixed but we had some lovely walks and drives. Family had three other very dirty cabins which was disappointing but no complaints about ours. Cabin very warm and comfortable with loads of utensils. Lovely weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely log burner.
Liked least: Can opener difficult to use.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you had a lovely time and enjoyed the cabin and the surrounding area despite the mixed weather. Ingun
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A credit to the owner”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 3 nights February half term week with family (2 adults, 1 five year old and a small dog). Excellent communications from the owner with regards to booking, directions, what to bring, etc.

Quite a tortuous drive down the narrow single track road from the A85 at Taynuilt, and the same if you approach from the southern end of the loch, but you'll appreciate it for the quiet isolation and solitude of the place.

Park is a mix of holiday lets and privately owned homes (some showing their age and a bit rough around the edges), and a couple currently under construction. Rowan is relatively newly built, immaculate inside and out and well equipped, the heating unit kept the cabin warm on the coldest nights and we also made use of the wood burner for extra cosiness. This was the first cabin we have ever stayed in that has an 'upstairs' and this became a den for our five year old during the evenings which gave us parents a little bit of peace for a short time at least! The wooden verandah on the front of the cabin had numerous feeders that were well attended by different bird species and also red squirrels which could be watched from just feet away behind the glass French doors.

Lovely walks just a short distance away, a lot of the older trees almost look like they're covered in fur in winter due to the sheer amount of lichen growing on the branches.

We took all food etc that we needed for our short stay as it's about a 45 min drive to Oban which has numerous supermarkets, there is a small shop in the village which sells the basics but note that it only opens at certain times and not every day during the week depending on time of year. If you do travel to Oban it's worth taking the minor road past Loch Avich across to the A816 at Kilmelford and then north to Oban.
There is also a restaurant/bar on site but we didn't get the opportunity to sample it due to the timing of our midweek winter stay.

Would like to return for a longer stay in summer, this time with the fishing rods!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, scenery, wildlife
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
Thank you very much for your nice review. I am pleased you enjoyed this peaceful, remote location. Looking forward to your return.
Ingun
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell4lov...
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Breath-taking”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We arrived after a long 8 hr journey and immediately felt relaxed. The location and cabin are absolutely stunning. After unpacking we enjoyed a coffee whilst sitting admiring the view and all the beautiful birds on the balcony. The log burner was brilliant and really felt cosy in the evenings and you could just feel all the stresses melting away. After a lovely comfortable night we woke to a beautiful sunrise over the loch and whilst enjoying our breakfast we were visited by two red squirrels. We also saw two deer on the road to Oban - another breath-taking drive. The second morning we woke to a dusting of snow absolutely stunning. Our black lab Marley loved the long walks around the loch and running on the beach at Oban and lying by the log burner every evening. The cabin has everything you could wish for and the owner is very attentive and helpful. We didn't want to leave and will definitely return Thank-you Ingun for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquility
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
Ingun
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing