We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Log cabin surrounded by small Oak trees
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Log cabin surrounded by small Oak trees
Great outlook from French windows & Veranda Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Log cabin surrounded by small Oak trees
Great outlook from French windows & Veranda
Kitchen
Nearby Avich Falls
Ample parking and garden space
Guest photo of Red Squirrel
Spacious shower room
Clear waters of sheltered Loch Awe
Dining area
Friendly locals
Nearby Kilchurn Castle
Cosy winter retreat
Bike hire on site
Cosy living area with wood burning stove
Guest photo of Osprey on nearby nest
Sunset over Loch Awe
Cabin floor plan
Hot tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Dalavich, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louloubel...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in Oak Log Cabin and we will be back. Our party of 5 ranged from 2yrs old to 60+ years old and we had a dog with us too. Our stay was throughly enjoyed by everyone.

The cabin is lovely and clean. It has everything you need to have an enjoyable stay.....great little kitchen, lovely living space and really comfortable beds!! My partner and I shared the bunk bed room with our toddler and even the bunk beds were comfortable. The log burning hot tub was perfect for relaxing in at night.

The area itself is stunning. Loch Awe is beautiful! Davalich where the cabin is situated is a tiny village about 15miles along a one track road. It is the ideal place for getting away from busy everyday life and just relaxing! Loads excellent walks nearby too.

We will definitely be returning!! It looks like the cabin has recently had new owners too...they are doing a great job!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brouwersg...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Even better than expected!”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a fantastic time at the cabin. The place was clean, comfortable and cosy and set in a beautiful location. It seems there had been some recent improvements that the photos don't show. New corner sofa and chairs, big flat screen and all the beds were really comfy too. Perfect for what we wanted - a few days of doing nothing very much at all.

The kids (and big kids) loved the hot tub and we were in and out of it all weekend. The hot tub does feel quite open and the neighbouring cabin looks straight on to it. I think there may have previously been a tree there but the neighbour was telling me that he'd chopped a load of trees down last weekend (this might be news to the owner). So yeah, could do with a bit of screening maybe.

Overall we loved it and would definitely like to come back again. I'll add some photos below because the photos used don't do it justice. Everyone was very helpful, Dalavich was a nice village, friendly people and a great local shop that does awesome milkshakes and sells just about everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The accommodation was clean and well presented, the owners very helpful even despite our late arrival at 8pm, they assisted us with keys etc. The location is beautiful and very isolated (if that's what you want) just a long drive on a single pass lane for about 20 miles to get there but there is a village shop which supplies the basics in case you forget anything. Our only disappointment was the sight of a JCB at work and men in high-vis jackets each day. It was also a bit cold to use the outside spa but maybe worth considering this if the weather warms up. Would revisit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Dec 2016
Thanks for your review. With regards to the amount of accommodation we would point out that our listing is very clear as to how many beds the cabin has and it's size. We do feel a little disappointed that you have down graded us on this as the cabin is exactly as advertised. If you wanted more space perhaps you should have booked one of our larger cabins but of course this would have costs a little more.
The sofa bed is of a very high quality, with metal frame and the best mattress available.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jan C
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Secluded”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cabin was clean and tidy and had everything you would need in your home from home. The pot belly stove added a romantic touch to our Highland getaway, a glass of wine and candlelight....what more could you ask for.
The site was well kept and the staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty of walking locally to be had.
My only gripe was the single track road to and from the main road, but it didn't put me off wanting to return again...Lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Single track road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2015
Thanks very much for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay.
Sorry you found the last 14 miles of your journey a little arduous, it's somewhat out of my control and a price we pay for being away from the madding crowd. It's a bit like marmite, some hate it, others love it because of the amazing scenery and seclusion.
Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing