We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great relaxing break after the festivities”
other travellers have booked this property
Sloy cabin by Loch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sloy cabin by Loch
Cabin viewed from the shore Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Sloy cabin by Loch
Cabin viewed from the shore
Living area
View through French windows
Beech at cabin
Sunset over loch
Camp fire on beech
Kitchen area
Lots of space and privacy
Hot tub with great views
Pretty woodland setting
Regular visitor. Taken by guest
Osprey at nearby nest. Taken by one of our guests
Different view at every turn
Double bedroom
Its all about the great outdoors
Nearby Kilchurn castle
Bike hire on site
Cabin floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Dalavich, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Louise P
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great relaxing break after the festivities ”
Reviewed 16 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Loved cabin, lovely and warm considering horrible weather. Had everything you could need. Daughter especially loved loft bed in living room. Get bird food for birds and you will have loads on veranda.
Would love to return if busy life allows and would not hesitate to recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
siw81
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Seclusion in Scotland ”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We went to Dalavich to escape our hectic lifestyles and more importantly escape work and Dalavich offered just that. So let's start with the Pros.. The cabin site is really nice with forest walks directly from the edges of the site and a local shop and restaurant and shop run by the community adds to its charms. We rented the hottub which was really nice to sit under the stars at night and relax, the cabin itself is situated right on the Loch so you wake up with an amazing view through the kitchen windows in the morning. The cabin cold easily fit more people and it is lovely and peaceful now the Cons.. The cabin really needed a thorough clean such as all around our bedframe was the hairs and what I can only describe as skin cells of past occupants, in the bunk room one of the unmade beds was covered in dog hairs. Although the cabin does come with things to get you started like some washingup liquid etc I really expected it to come with a roll of bin bags etc rather than having to buy our own. The only possible thing which I think would be good in the cabin is a thermostatic heater in the bunk room like there is in the other rooms so you can regulate the temperature, we were travelling with our 19month old son who stayed in the bunk room in a travel cot and we have to keep going in and and to regulate the temperature so I would hate to think what this would be like for a few people. So the big question is would we stay again... Possibly, I next time would like to see how this compares to the other cabins for hire on site as I think this is one of the older ones purely based on its location on the site. All in all it's a nice cabin to use as a Base for exploring and walking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpfordy
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely homely cabin. Stunning location & views. On looking around I would say this cabin has one of the best spots, overlooking the loch with its own private bit of beach. Lots of birds visiting right outside the cabin each day.

The cabin is very well equipped, with everything you should need. Yes the sky tv can cut in & out dependant on the weather but that's wasn't something that bothered us to much. We didn't use the hot tub so can't comment on that.
There are loads of beautiful walks close by, but not that well signposted, if I went again I would research this first or get hold of some maps. Very quiet peaceful location. There is a local shop which is ok for basics, milk, bread etc.you will need to travel if you want to do a weeks worth of food. The shop had sausages, bacon & a small freezer with burgers etc, not much else to put a meal together.
The community run social club was surprisingly large. We didn't use it ourselves, but it looked good, nice seating areas & bar, free wifi is available here but quiet slow if a few people are using it. My teenage daughter & her friend went a few times in the evening & said there was a pool table & air hockey which they enjoyed. It is only open 4 or 5 nights a week.
The drive from the main A85 is only about 14 or 15 miles but it is down mainly single track roads, lots of passing places, but allow a good 30 to 40 mins for this. Partner, who is a very good keen fisherman, was a bit disappointed he caught nothing from the shore, advises it's probably best to fish from a boat, which are available to hire from the village.
The location & surrounding area is what really makes this cabin. Could have been slightly cleaner, thick dust in the bathroom extractor, few cobwebs on the ceiling & windows could have done with a clean, if not for these points I would have given it top marks. The beds are comfy, setting etc clean & surdy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmadavie
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Romantic getaway”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Just came back from a wonderful stay at sloy. It really is a treat!

The location is beautiful. Whilst not completely isolated from other cabins it does feel private and far enough away from neighbours.

Very close to the loch and lovely in the hot tub under the trees.

Will will look to return as soon as we can!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing