We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE best ice cream in the North!”

Chill At The Cowshed
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Horwich
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Locally, there is always a massive queue outside another fairly well known ice cream parlour on the A6 just outside Chorley. The people come from miles around to experience the ice cream. It's a long time to wait so I suggest you try here instead. The quirky interior, great snack menu, coffee's and now Prosecco and beers set this apart from the other places........did I forget to mention the ice-cream? Sorry - there is no comparison. Don't just take my word for it, it really does take some licking!

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Came here in a group of 8 for a regular monthly lunch with friends, it was also my birthday.
Lovely quirky surroundings and great atmosphere. Food was great and had plenty of choices. Staff were very pleasant, having a bit of banter with us as we were a 'lively' group and could have a laugh with them.
Wasn't rushed even though it was extremely busy and had a thoroughly enjoyable couple of hours. Would definitely go again

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank SandraBBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

The barn at Chill at the cow shed is absolutely perfect for a party. We booked this for our little boy's first birthday for around 43 people. The venue is gorgeous with lots of original features and already decorated. the staff were really friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kerri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

First time here dont think it will be the last.The staff were very friendly&polite and helpful.The cowshed is a lovely little set up the tables were set up when we got there so there was no waiting around.Ive never had an afternoon tea like this b4 but it was well worth it.Give it a try you'll be surprised

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank 762davek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Cute and cosy with helpful friendly staff lovely place for waarming up after walk in beautiful nearby country side lovely courtyardfor sunniery daysgreat selection of ice creams highly recommend!

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chill At The Cowshed also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bromley Cross, Bolton
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Chill At The Cowshed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing