We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,233)
Filter reviews
1,233 results
Traveller rating
930
214
52
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
930
214
52
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool our honeymoon anse lazio outdoor shower curieuse island sushi ocean view buggy drivers buggy service four seasons pool restaurant special thanks heaven on earth indian ocean hotel beach kids club memorable stay
Filter
Updating list...
362 - 367 of 1,233 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2015

The hotel in general is pretty good but i wouldnt say it is value for money, or should i say it hasnt met our expectation.

We booked a sea view villa. The villa itself is great and I dont have any complain with anything inside the villa but I am not too happy with the view. It is an ocean view but half blocked by the villa right in front. I do expect I can see the sea from my private pool but not the back of someone else villa (the photo says it all). We should have changed to another one but since it was with all the honeymoon decoration (which I have to say that was great) and we unpacked already we were too lazy to change to another one...but even so, just from the layout of the resort it is hard to get the privacy as we could see each other villa pretty clearly...

Part of the honeymoon offer was a 50% off in spa treatment which we couldnt enjoy and quite annoyed by that. Even we booked a day in advance but they couldnt get 2 female therapists for the treatment and they refused to do the treatment in a separate room. As everyone know we had to be pretty much naked to do the treatment and i cant really let my wife to do that if there was a male therapist in the room right? the staff in the spa refused to find any solution for us!

I have to say some staff in the reception (especially the 2 gentlemen which I forgot the name) had been really helpful but unfortunately the same standard can not be held across all the staff...in fact we are quite disappointed with some of them which werent very helpful

The restaurant, Losean, was very good. The restaurant staffs were really good and service was excellent. Food quality was wonderful especially the buffet which was surprisingly good. Also...the cocktail was great!

The hotel is very big and if the villa is very high up it may be hard to walk to anywhere and need to ask for a golf car to pick you up. it is fine normally but in 'rush hour' it may take half an hour for a car to pick you up...

The pool was nice and the beach was absolutely wonderful. We could see quite a lot of sea life quite close to the shore.

In anyway, the hotel is good but value for money? probably not

Room Tip: get a villa with nothing in front
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuperRaptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, General Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2015

Dear SuperRaptor,

Thank you for staying at Raffles Praslin and also for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. While we are happy to read that you enjoyed Losean, the pool and the beach, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on some levels of service and cost. We are continuously working to improve our offering and feedback like yours helps us to do so. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future. Should you choose to visit again, please contact me personally and I will be happy to oversee your stay.

Kind regards,

Ian Robinson
Interim General Manager, Raffles Praslin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Enjoyed our stay so much, didn't want to leave. All the staff knew us by name and could not do enough for us - nothing was too much trouble. The rooms, view, beaches, food were excellent. We had dinner on the beach, with our very own chef, and specially prepared treats sent to our room, on a couple of occasions, complementary! I will never forget the memories made and shared at Raffles Praslin for my 50th Birthday.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank ash1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, General Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2015

Dear ash1949,

Thank you so much for choosing Raffles Praslin for your 50th birthday, and also for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, including the room, beach and the food. We thoroughly enjoyed having you as a guest, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Ian Robinson
Interim General Manager, Raffles Praslin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

What can I say? Amazing, fab, brilliant? All of them! We got married at Raffles and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left everything was just perfect. Anny and Eluna just couldn't do enough to make sure it all ran like clockwork.

Room was amazing - as high up as we could be with fantastic views. Great bed, lovely bath, outdoor shower and fab plunge pool.

Pre-Wedding:
Arranged for an island BBQ the night before the wedding and the food (plentiful!) was delicious. The chef was attentive and all the food cooked to perfection.

Wedding Day:
90 minute couples massage with Elizabeth and Shamsa (sorry if name is slightly wrong!) - we both felt sooooo relaxed afterwards - just bliss!
Hair and make up for me with Elizabeth - what a fab lady - job well done.
Wedding - stupendous! Great location, great weather, great company (thank you Anny and Eluna for being our witnesses, oh and my now hubby for turning up!). Big thanks also to Laurent Levy for being our photographer. Although he isn't employed by Raffles he is on their list of recommended photographers and was extremely patient and professional. Also thank you to Rahout (again sorry for spelling!) for going the extra mile, not least catching champagne corks! Thanks to housekeeping for preparing our room for our return and running us a lovely bath. Had our wedding dinner again down on the beach - another great meal.

Post Wedding:
Wedding breakfast - in our villa, arranged for when we wanted. All the food came hot and exactly what we ordered - the guy even brought a latte machine with him!

So all in all a fabulous stay. Other thanks to Hanny in the Curieuse restaurant - very attentive. We'll definitely be back at some point, especially to see how our tree is getting on!

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Hufflepuff33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, General Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2015

Dear Hufflepuff33,

Thank you so much for choosing Raffles Praslin for your wedding celebration, and also for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read your feedback and am very happy to hear that you found everything to be perfect during your stay. I will be sure to share your comments with the team, particularly those you mentioned, who be very pleased to hear that they influenced your stay. We wish you and your husband a lifetime of happiness, and we hope to welcome you both back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Ian Robinson
Interim General Manager, Raffles Praslin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Best hotel that i have ever been, all is great:beach, view, room, servicing,all.
Only small remark is that we can move within hotel facilities with hotel golf/electric cars and sometimes is boring to wait for them.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DiProenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, General Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2015

Dear DiProenca,

Many thanks for staying at Raffles Praslin and also for taking the time to review us. We are thrilled to hear that this is the best hotel you have ever been to and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Thank you as well for the feedback regarding buggies, which we have taken into account. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Ian Robinson
Interim General Manager, Raffles Praslin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015

The views from the Raffles are absolutely gorgeous! The pictures give you a pretty good idea of what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised by the actual size of the room. The outdoor terrace especially is quite spectacular. Higher up rooms generally have the better views. There is one set of rooms that overlooks the reception, these are possibly the least desirable as you can see the parking lot which doesn't allow for that 'secluded' feel. The resort was nice enough to change our rooms the next day closer to our friends who had just checked-in and we were lucky enough that the parking lot was no longer in site.
The rooms face the East so if you would like to sit on the beach and watch the sun go down you'd have to take a boat across to nearby Curieuse island. The beaches all around the Seychelles are quite amazing. Anse Takamaka which is the house beach is beautiful. However, afternoons and late evenings see the tide coming in which doesn't leave a lot of beach leftover. The location of the resort is quite close to probably one of the best beaches in Seychelles, Anse Lazio. We went here 2 days in a row. It's large enough to find a secluded spot and is quite protected from the rough seas giving a sort of calm protected cove. It is a short hike from the hotel (30mins odd). Taxi is highly recommended.
The food options on the resort are fairly limited. Comfort food such as pizza's, pastas and burgers are only available as room service and not available at any of the resorts restaurants. There is only the pool-side restaurant open for lunch with extremely limited options. Out of the seven days we ate there only once. Rest of the days we were in our rooms ordering Room Service. For dinner you only have 2 real options. An asian restaurant which serves Thai, Chinese, Sushi and Indian and a Mediterranean restaurant. The Mediterranean restaurant was the black sheep of the resort. It was a stark contrast to the outstanding service and food quality otherwise experienced. We had dinner there just once and it was terrible. After being asked more than once why we didn't touch the food, we provided our feedback only to be told that the food was not to our palette. We felt this to be quite a rude statement and if used just once we would have let pass. However, this point was driven home multiple times and no responsibility was being taken by the restaurant for their disappointing showing. We are quite well travelled and the food at this restaurant was nothing close to being Mediterranean. Our included meal was comped off and we weren't even given an apology from the Manager nor the Chef. Obviously we never went back.
The Asian restaurant on the other hand was the exact opposite. I could not offer enough praise for this restaurant and Chef Sunil in particular. He made it a point to visit each and every guest on a daily basis, customise orders and ensure everyone was happy with their selection. He also made the effort to develop a rapport with the guests and went above and beyond traditional 'chef' duties. A special thanks also to Mr. Hani who was a really friendly and great server at the restaurant.
All in all the property is absolutely gorgeous but lacks a little bit in the food department. However, it's great for a 2-3 night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balisfootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesPraslin, General Manager at Raffles Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2015

Dear Balisfootprints,

Thank you very much for choosing Raffles Praslin for your stay and for taking the time to share such a detailed review on TripAdvisor. We are constantly evaluating our offering and feedback like yours is very helpful. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your villa and the beach, as well as Anse Lazio. Thank you also for your feedback regarding Losean. We are sorry to hear about your experience regarding the service and your experience there - please rest assured that this has been taken into consideration. I sincerely hope you will come to stay with us again and we can welcome you and your partner again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ian Robinson
Interim General Manager, Raffles Praslin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews