We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Joyous Famiky Christmas Break”
other travellers have booked this property
Old St John's Church...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old St John's Church...
Plenty of outdoor space... Summer colour...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Old St John's Church...
Plenty of outdoor space...
Summer colour...
Vaulted ceiling above the kitchen...
Plenty of space to relax.
Double-sided fireplace for those cosy nights.
The well equipped kitchen..
The dining area and former pulpit.
The 'snug' area.
The 'master' suite is in the spire of the Church.
The bathroom contains a sunken bath.
Enter a caption for your photo
Middle room - this is a TWIN room (can also be arranged as a super-king by request).
The downstairs double bedroom.
How things used to be!
Aerial view of the church and gardens...
View from the spire offering an unbroken 360 degree view.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gamblesby, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gillian L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Joyous Famiky Christmas Break”
Reviewed 30 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

What a fabulous property, absolutely first class. We selected St John’s as a central point for our family to meet up over Christmas, Dundee, Huddersfield and Corwen (North Wales), grandparents, parents and grandchildren it was the perfect choice.
Our grandson, who is 5 1/2, was worried that Santa would miss him in Dundee but he had no need to worry as the Church was trimmed for Christmas with not one but two trees! The Christmas card, chocolates, wine and Port waiting to welcome us was a lovely gesture.
The party included a toddler and a baby, high chairs and cot were provided as well as kiddy friendly plates, tumblers etc. There was even a dolly, pushchair and walker in the corner for the toddler, she thoroughly enjoyed playing with them.
Thanks you so much for allowing us to rent your property, Harry has already stated that he would like to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anthony F
1 review
“Perfection... wow”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The workmanship and quality of the restoration was fabulous, we stayed on a business trip and would love to visit for pleasure.

The owner was fabulous with more than enough information to leave you at ease in the lovely property, it was Autumn and quite cold when we stayed but the place was wonderfully warm, fabulous heating and a wonderful log burner, we were so busy that we were unable to look at the viewing platform but we will when we stay for pleasure.

What a beautiful find... very well done on your achievement.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah J
Stockport
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The Church is amazing, and Massive!!. Its in a beautiful village with lovely walks, we even had a visit from "daisy" the cow from the farm next door who had escaped. (Quickly rescued by the farmer, which the children weren't happy about, but bringing "Daisy" home wasn't an option)

Its close enough to amazing days out including Killhope Lead Mine and South Tynedale Railway, both Visits I can highly recommend, make sure to visit the Hub museum next to the Railway station in Alston for a trip down memory lane. Its also easy driving to Ullswater, which is a another great day out.

There Church was very clean and comfortable with everything we needed. We were even lucky enough for a couple of cold nights which meant we could put the lovely wood burning fire on, which was fab.

Phil the owner was very responsive to emails and helped us with any questions and our deposit was returned swiftly too.

The children especially loved the viewing room in the spire which has the best views for miles.

All in all a lovely property for a great break I would highly recommend.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toby_and...
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautifully kept, unique and family-friendly”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We were a group of 7 - two families meeting in the Lakes for a week of hiking, water sports and dog walking. The owner, Phil got in touch well in advance to ensure the bedrooms were configured to our needs and was very helpful in providing a full brochure about the property which included advice on everything from shopping, deliveries and local activities including picturesque walks, some of which started from the church.

Our original plan was to eat out some nights but after enjoying the spacious and well-equipped kitchen on our first night, we ended up around the big table sitting on the pews for almost every meal.

The beds were comfortable, the 4 bathrooms were lovely and the wonderful showers deserve a special mention - just what you want after a day out.

The grounds were very well maintained and it was a lovely surprise that we could open the hatch to climb the ladder into the spire - the views were lovely and being able to sit up there was a really nice touch.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing