We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely base for area”
other travellers have booked this property
Fountain and Courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fountain and Courtyard
Outside Les Hirondelles Front of one of our cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Fountain and Courtyard
Outside Les Hirondelles
Front of one of our cottages
Property From The Air
Bedroom in Les Hirondelles
Twin Bedroom
Swimming Pool
Pool with Les Rossignol and Les Hirondelles in the background
Pool
Chateau at Verteuil
Canoeing at the Rejallant
Cognac
Hennessy Factory at Cognac
Plan d'eau at Villefagnan
Fishing at Plan d'eau in Villefagnan
Futuroscope
Ariel view of Futuroscope
Surrounding Fields
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Villefagnan, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
petertheg...
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely base for area”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed here for a few days whilst visiting relatives who live in the area. It is a gated property and so very private. there is a swimming pool available to guests.
The house itself is quite suitable for the four of us who stayed. The downstairs is open plan with kitchen, dining and lounge facilities. There is a t.v. with satalite so it is possible to receive English channels. However, during our stay the reception was not fantastic, but hey, who goes on holiday to sit watching t.v.
There are two bedrooms, one fitted with twin beds, the other has a massive king size bed.
The facilities are ample for a holiday stay, with more than enough cutlery, plates and pots and pans
To the rear of the property is a private garden area, with barbeque provided, so on hot summer evenings it is possible to relax outside while enjoying freshly cooked food.
The hosts are British, and they made us extremely welcome. They live in the complex and so are always on hand for help and advice.
A car is a must have when staying here. Although there is a town within a drive of about 10 minutes, there are no local shops around, not that we found anyway.
All in all a lovely place, and if we visit our relatives again we will most certainly consider staying here again..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy of a gated property
Liked least: It was very hot during our stay, and a fan would have been appreciated in the bedrooms at night
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Thank you very much The property you stayed in was actually Les Tournesols , but still in Le Grand Lieu complex. Hope to see you back again .
Regards
Jim Wilson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bittan196...
Haslev, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanks Jim”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely traditional French cottage. We, a family of 4, had a great holiday.
Car is essential as the village is small and does not have any shops.
It is central for a lot of day trips.
Jim and his family welcome you with a helpful and friendly atmosphere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete L
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great base for a relaxing Rural break”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I had to write and say what a wonderful relaxing holiday we have just enjoyed, staying in Le Grand Lieu. Accomodation was good, setting is rural, but only few miles from Ruffec, and easy to find. Local shopping facilities in Villefagnan are basic, like all local villages, but plenty of supermarkets in Ruffec. transport is essential, but as the area is so sparsely populated not a hassle. There are great family cycle routes throughout the Charente, including one which goes past your door, which are all well signposted and easy to follow the lack of hills makes for pleasant ambling rides. The local canoeing at Rejillant is great fun and offers unrivalled views you can't experience any other way, a definite recommendation. Eating out needs to be planned ahead, as places don't open if they don't have bookings, or people in early (7pm ish) Friday night Moules and Frites at Plan d'eau is a great experience, but again make sure you book !.

Our Hosts Jim, Corrine, Dee and Hannah, were very helpful and accomodating and provided loads of information that we made use of. .. And the Pool was a lovely treat to come back to after a days exploring.. I am looking forward to returning here in the future to continue our French adventure !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great Location for cycling, walking and Canoeing
Liked least: nothing really, it is very different to home,and I think you need to be prepared to go with the changes
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andyyates...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful location and wonderful, traditional accommodation provided the ideal setting for a lovely, relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our family stayed at Le Grand Lieu in August last year and we all really enjoyed the peaceful surroundings of the French countryside. Within easy reach is the beautiful town of Rufec which has some lovely restaurants and shops.
We all enjoyed the Grand Lieu pool which aloud us to cool down after enjoying the summer sunshine.
Relaxing evening were spent making good use of the BBQ which accompanied our lovely Geet with shopping for supplies posing no problem with local supermarkets just a short drive away.
To entertain the kids, a shot drive took us to the monkey park near Romagne which is well worth a visit. Or a slightly longer drive will take you to Futurescope.
The owners, Jim, Corina and Diane were wonderful hosts and made us feel extremely welcome. We will definitely be returning to Le Gran Lieu for another stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Le Grand Lieu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing