We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Granddaddy”

Point Prim Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 399.34*
and up
Private Coastal Lighthouse and Winery Tour from Charlottetown
More Info
USD 81.03*
and up
Coastal Lighthouse and Winery Tour
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Point Prim lighthouse is the first lighthouse on Prince Edward Island....marks the entry to the bay toward Charlottetown. It has been restored.

There is a very nice shop on the premises....many locally made items of wood and cloth.

It cost the two of us $10.00 to go into (and up) the lighthouse...worth the $$$ (which also supports it's maintenance.)

The lighthouse is open seasonally.

And, on the road to the lighthouse, keep your eyes open on the right hand side for a home that has a number of structures made of glass bottles....a stop without any charge for admission.

Thank gold-vintner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointPrimLighthouse, Public Relations Manager at Point Prim Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Hi there! Thank you for the great recommendation. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit, and our new gift shop!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

Mu husband climbed the steps in the lighthouse while I wandered the little gift shop. A lovely array of goods that are definitely not of the usual tacky touristy variety. I bought a number of gifts to bring home for friends.

Thank Rosalind P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointPrimLighthouse, Public Relations Manager at Point Prim Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your review! We are glad that you both enjoyed your visit to our lighthouse (and that you found some gifts in our new gift shop!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We visited several lighthouses during our trip to PEI, and this one was our favourite. It is nicely located overlooking a red rocky and sandy beach. The views are incredible and worth the trip.

Thank LuluReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointPrimLighthouse, Public Relations Manager at Point Prim Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Hi, we're glad you enjoyed your visit - thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Great location. Nice part of a cruise ship tour. A nice old lighthouse worth a trip out of Charlottetown. Climb the tower and enjoy the view. A good point if exploring the lighthouses of PEI. I cant tell if there is any charge here as we were on a bus tour. We did get a short explanation of the lighthouse

Thank pjlew71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointPrimLighthouse, Public Relations Manager at Point Prim Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Hi, we're glad you enjoyed your visit! We enjoy the cruise ship buses rolling in!

There is a charge for visitors ($5 for adults and $3.50 for children under 12, HST included).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

The point itself is dramatically scenic. We did not pay a fee to go up the lighthouse since many reviewers indicated how steep the access was. Nevertheless the surrounding is stunning. Worth the drive to the point.

Thank TorontoFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointPrimLighthouse, Public Relations Manager at Point Prim Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hi, we're glad you still enjoyed your visit. Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Point Prim Lighthouse also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Point Prim Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing