We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belated Xmas meal with family”
Review of The Crown Joule's

The Crown Joule's
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Codsall
Price range: USD 9 - USD 23
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We visited Jan 2018, we booked for 10people the week before and pre ordered food 2 days before. Food was on time, prompt and enjoyable..... could not fault it. Wasn’t particularly keen on where we were sat (middle of the room, amongst 2 x noisy tables) but that was me being picky! Will definitely visit again

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Joules Beer is worthy driving miles for. We both had Shropshire Hop, I’d never had it before but I will when next I’m near a Joules Pub. We were both disappointed with our meals. My fellow footi fan had faggots with peas and potatoes, the faggots were dry and peas were an odd texture. I had the stew of the day, I couldn’t recognise which meat was in it and the dumplings were dry. Food was really only 2 out of 5 but the beer raised my score to 3. Next time I’m in Codsall I will definitely come in for a beer but eat elsewhere

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank 457stuarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We visited the Crown last night to have a quick drink on the way to visiting friends. It was 5.30pm and the pub was very busy with many children running up and down by the bar. The bar area was packed and two bar staff were unable to cope. One of them left the bar leaving just one to serve the many customers. We waited for 15 minutes and still were not served so sadly, we left. We have been to the Crown many times and it has lately become a bit 'hit and miss.' There never seems to be any Managers around to support the staff and to keep an eye on what is going on.This is a shame as it has great potential. Let's hope Joule's can address some of the issues.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Service
Thank Julie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

Called into this pub at half term late in the afternoon. it was very quiet but the staff were very welcoming. The meals were all home cooked with fresh vegetables and they were piping hot. The portions were quite large for the adults. One of the children had the home made fish fingers and the other the chicken nuggets and they were lovely. My boyfriend and l both had the stew, which was tasty and very filling. All in all a good lunch, we would go again.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 667viviennej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Decent beer and service.top boozer in a local village.had a few teething problems but is great now.would reccomend

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank jonlad84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown Joule's also viewed

Codsall, Staffordshire
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Codsall, Staffordshire
Codsall, Staffordshire
 
Codsall, Staffordshire
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to The Crown Joule's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing