We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great house and beautiful location”

Review of The Burren

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Burren Rear view of The Burren
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The Burren
Rear view of The Burren
Sitting area
Dining area
The other side of the kitchen
Downstairs seating area
One of the bedroom
Another bedroom
View of the living area from the terrace
Upstairs seating area
One of the ensuites
View from the upstairs seating area
Upstairs seating area
One side of the kitchen
View from the balcony
Rear garden
Front garden
The Burren from the beach path
Path to the beach
Our local beach
View from the balcony
Another view of the beach
The beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Tyrella, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kay P
Leek
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great house and beautiful location”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We found this house through Tripadvisor reviews. We have just returned after spending a great week at The Burren. We are all originally from that part of Co Down and wanted somewhere to accommodate our family reunion for our mother's 90th birthday. The house was perfect for that occasion. Sleeping for 11 people plus a large open plan dining and lounge areas and large well equipped kitchen for 11 people made it so much easier to accommodate the family and the many relatives who joined us throughout the week. Our mother is in a wheelchair and it was so easy to accommodate her needs when we brought her out to the house on her birthday.
The location is great and sitting upstairs viewing the Mourne mountains sweeping down into Dundrum Bay cannot be beaten! We of course, indulged in many beach walks and drives around the area to lots of seaside towns.
Everyone agreed it was a great week undoubtedly enhanced by excellent accommodation of a high standard. Hopefully we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Creaky floorboards upstairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2013
The Ritchie Family are delighted that The Burren was a good venue for your family event. We do hope to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the upstairs living room.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Mar 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Burren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
justsuz
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect from beginning to end!”
Reviewed 2 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Our extended family have just returned from what can only be described as a delightful weekend at The Burren. There were 11 of us in total staying at the house and it still felt like there was oodles of room to spare. Every inch of this house has been carefully thought out and rather than this being a house converted into a holiday let, this house has been purpose built to accommodate holiday makers. Each room has generous proportions, incl ensuites; there are 2 living areas, both with beautiful vistas, especially the sitting area upstairs with a picture window framing panoramic views over the Mournes and Tyrella Beach; it has a fully equipped and again, spacious kitchen and the owners even had the foresight to ensure there was an ensuite bedroom downstairs as well. They've thought of everything. This is an extended family run holiday let and I dealt with 2 members of the family who I found to be more than helpful and extremely efficient which made for a very hassle free planning process.

As you can see I can't speak highly enough of this house, the area and all it offers. To top it all off there is a private lane that takes you directly to the beach which feels private to the house as not many people seem to use it. This was the icing on the cake for us and as our weather was beautiful we were able to take a number of walks along this stunning stretch.

A car is necessary to access this property as it's 5 miles, along a little country road, from the main road between Ballynahinch and Dundrum (just outside Clough). It's a hidden gem and I can guarantee you will enjoy your time here. Our party ranged in age from 7 - 75 so there's something for everyone here :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2012
Thank you for your generous review - we hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Combination of views, beach, and decor/size of house.
Liked least: It's not completely private. An elderly lady lives in a cottage right beside the house - but she's really nice!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Oct 2012
Thank you for your generous review - we hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Aug 2012
Thank you for your generous review. You'll be glad to know that we have just upgraded the path to the beach so in future it will offer a smoother and cleaner walk to the beach after heavy rain!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing