We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Love swimming, must visit the Gorge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mossman Gorge

Mossman Gorge
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 277.09*
and up
Mossman Gorge Dreamtime Walk and Low Isles Snorkeling and Sailing Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love swimming, must visit the Gorge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

If you love to throw on your bathers, this is the place to see. Wow, was the first impression of the gorge. The sound of the water rushing pass, the smell of the fresh air, the gorgeous forest backdrop. Swimming in the fresh water is refreshing and a relief from the very hot, humid weather. The water is so clear, take goggles if you can, to watch the fish swim below, they don't seem afraid of people, you can almost touch them.

There were lots of people when we got there, around 2pm. Road leading down to the gorge is unsealed and narrow in certain parts, parking is a little restricted. We waited on the left side for about 10 minutes for parking to become available. Like most parts of Northern QLD should bring some insect repellent as there are a few march flies around.

Still I think if you want to cool off and enjoy fresh water swimming and a forest back drop, it's worth the wait.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank koannieok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    890
    407
    94
    28
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We decided to check out Mossman Gorge ourselves instead of in a tour. There is great signage explaining where to go and distances and it's an easy walk around any of the 4 circuits. Possibly more breathtaking than the Daintree and you can swim in the gorge without fear of crocodiles. This is a must do stop for any traveller to the region

Helpful?
3 Thank Kelliejane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyers, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“'Must do' for a Far North Queensland visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

The 2km walk is worth the effort - steep in places, & nasty, prickly plants to watch out for though! The swim at the end is wonderful & refreshing.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingpurple72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful, but watch the currents in the water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

A must see if you are visiting Cairns/Port Douglas. One of the most gorgeous places I've ever seen. I'd recommend visiting the water hole early in the morning before the tour buses arrive. The circuit walk is breathtaking.
Be very careful when swimming in the water hole. The water looks still and peaceful but there are strong currents in certain places. My husband pulled a little girl out of the water who was in trouble when her dad got swept away from her.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ec00pes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“SUCH A BEAUTIFUL PLACE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Every time we visit far north Queensland we go to Mossman Gorge. We took our teenage son and his friend with us and we had to go back three times over the ten days we stayed in Port Douglas. The boys loved the swimming, met new friends up there and arranged to catch up again while we were there. My husband and I swam, took mountains of photo's and enjoyed a fabulous 2.5km hike through the National Park. We found a few quieter spots to swim further downstream and had one of our photos put onto a canvas when we came home. We are looking forward to the opening of the new Visitors Centre being built.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mossman Gorge also viewed

Daintree Region, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Mossman Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing