We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (744)
Filter reviews
744 results
Traveller rating
263
304
115
30
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
304
115
30
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews howler monkeys palenque ruins jungle setting amazing pool nice terrace small group swimming pool buffet breakfast common areas mexico city couple of nights rooms are large middle town animals insects chiapas
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 744 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

I am a travel agent and have been working with the hotel for over 20 years. I was there with a very small group.
Service is decaying. Front desk is the worst! I arrived and was told they did not have my reservation nor had rooms available, which was not accurate. They had my reservation and they had PLENTY rooms available. Excuses are not accepted after the bad moment I experienced.
I know nobody from the hotel will read this comment because, as you can see in other reviews, the hotel’s answer is just a robotic, pre-written statement. They don’t even care to answer any of us personally. A shame, indeed.
The hotel is ok, good rooms. Nice gardens and pool. Mediocre restaurant/food service.
But I guess that, for Palenque, in the jungle, is your best choice.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Aurora_150800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHAN-KAH, Gerente at Chan-Kah Resort Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thank You for your feedback


In Chan-Kah Resort Village, our commitment is always you have had an unforgettable stay.We highly appreciate your feedback, to still improving day to day our quality and service.
We are very sorry for the bad experience you experienced during your stay and we will take immediate action to improve our quality and service.


Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in the resort. The bellboy was really friendly. The maids do their job excellent in cleaning the room. The location is really lovely and you can relax with the noises of the animals, that's gorgeous. We ate dinner at the hotel and it wasn't that delicious. I recommend to eat outside. If you go to palenque centro, there is a street with lots of restaurants. We went to Cafe Jade and it was delicious.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHAN-KAH, E-commerce at Chan-Kah Resort Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

In Chan-Kah Resort Village, our commitment is always you have had an unforgettable stay.We highly appreciate your feedback, to still improving day to day our quality and service.

Best regards

Adriana MartĂ­nez.
E-commerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

A very atmospheric Hotel in the rain forest. Stayed 2 nights as part of a group tour. Loved the bungalows in the grounds with verandah to sit on. The grounds are very pretty and it was lovely to hear the wildlife. Generally the service at the Reception is not too brilliant, but one the bellboys and one or two of the Restaurant staff were very helpful to me personally. Bread presented for breakfast had visible mould and the coffee was not great. But there is a Starbucks which is separate and possibly a life saver for coffee drinkers! Overall it wouldn't take much for it go from an average hotel (my opinion) to a very good one.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chan-kahRV, E-commerce at Chan-Kah Resort Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

In Chan-Kah Resort Village, our commitment is always you have had an unforgettable stay.We highly appreciate your feedback, to still improving day to day our quality and service.

Best regards

Adriana MartĂ­nez.
E-commerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Palenque without Chan Kah is not Palenque for us. We stayed there first 1992, again 2002 and 2018! Yes, it is not modern but the bungalows are renovated now and the bathrooms as well (as we have seen - we had no 45, directly on the "river"). The most impressive is the wonderful garden. You get the feeling that you are in the middle of the rainforrest. The wonderful surrounding is for us always the reason to stay at Chan Kah and it is very close to the ruins of Palenque. We like the bedroom and the view from the bed directly into the jungle with all ist animals and flowers. The staff could do much better: The staff at the restaurant is not very service orientated, but asking immediately for some tip! The quality and the selection of the meals is soso. There is a Starbucks for good breakfast coffee in the restaurant integrated - it is better to go there and grab a coffee for breakfast. We only speak a little spanish - it might be good if the staff at the check in are able to speak english instead us asking a lot of things in very fast spanish at didn`t react as we mentioned that we could not understand.

Room Tip: Standalone Bungalows at the river (ex. 45)
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sigrid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chan-kahRV, E-commerce at Chan-Kah Resort Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

In Chan-Kah Resort Village, our commitment is always you have had an unforgettable stay.We highly appreciate your feedback, to still improving day to day our quality and service.

Best regards

Adriana MartĂ­nez.
E-commerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Maybe this hotel was great like 20 years ago. Not anymore.
1) Ni WiFi in the Rooms
2) rooms with mildew and humidity smell
3) common areas need love/upkeep
4) really bad attitude from the front desk/reception
5) they have signs in the room warning you of the room “inventory so that you don’t “take” anything with you.
6) most rooms are far away

On the positive side, nice pool area (but could use some upkeeping)

I did not enjoy my stay here. Besides the fact that they charged me extra for a king size bed. Not much but the service is not their best feature.

There are other newer options, not sure why there are great reviews about this place.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Moe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chan-kahRV, E-commerce at Chan-Kah Resort Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

In Chan-Kah Resort Village, our commitment is always you have had an unforgettable stay.We highly appreciate your feedback, to still improving day to day our quality and service.

Best regards

Adriana MartĂ­nez.
E-commerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews