We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest, relax, have some fun too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Daly Waters Pub
Ranked #1 of 1 Daly Waters B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Rest, relax, have some fun too”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Let the mischievous child in you come out here! Hang your hat, bra, thong, jangles, cap, whatever takes your fancy in this bar. Enjoy a refreshment or a dip in the pool. It all here, everything a traveller needs for a rest from such a long journey. Spend time looking through all the "stuff". I hear a rumour that they remove the items quite quickly after you have gone, shame on them! It's a bit of fun, but I would like to know my items would be there for a while before being discarded. Being a romantic I hoped to go back in 10 years and find them.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CAH1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalywaterspub, Owner at The Daly Waters Pub, responded to this review, 9 March 2017
Thank you for your excellent review We do not intentionally remove the "stuff" We do take everything down and wash it usually 3 times a year That which survives the machine is returned to it's place. There are items around the place that have been there for many years. See hou in 10 years Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    135
    40
    14
    11
See reviews for
66
157
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Only dropped in here for a quick beer on our travels from Darwin to Adelaide but what an amazing place! Great service, well presented and would have loved to have stayed for food but didnt have time. Ladies bathrooms were modern and clean! A happy little place to visit for sure!

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here numerous times while passing through. Always friendly staff, good cold beer and a bloody good meal! For the history of the pub, service they provide and memories they create, you can't go wrong with the price of the room. I think everybody should stay here at least once!

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Petersen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We stayed here for 1 night in September 2016 as part of an organised tour.

Watch for the wallabies on your drive up to the pub - they're everywhere. We arrived here after a long day of travelling and given its location, it was still over 30 degrees at 6pm when we got here so a cool pint was very welcome.

We had accommodation just off the pub itself - it was basic, but fine for one night. Our room had bunk beds, with air con - there was also some mossie spray too which was definitely needed. There was one bathroom with a shower and toilet in the dorm, otherwise we had to use the communal toilets outside - again, this was fine for one night.

The pub is infamous for its collections - tonnes of ID badges, flip flops, road signs, clothes, flags etc. It's got a great atmosphere - there's a pool table and in the end, we just sat and played cards.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLush101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We were almost on the last stretch of the drive from Sydney to Darwin travelling for work. We had prepaid for our room but my hubbie said will we keep driving- we would be in Darwin by bedtime? We flipped a coin and decided to stop for the night and boy am I glad we did - what an experience!

On arrival late afternoon we had a friendly greeting and easy check-in, stopping for a cold drink in this iconic, friendly relaxed pub.

We then headed over to our motel room which was diagonally opposite the pub. The room had air con, fridge, tiny but fine ensuite and I have to say was absolutely spotlessly clean. That really impressed me. The room was basic and if as a couple we were stopping more that one night we now think we would pay for a cabin to have more space but for one night this did us very nicely.

We headed over for a drink before dinner, and had cheesy garlic bread followed by really good steaks - with the first bernaise sauce the whole trip (yum!).

Staff could not do more to help you and were all very friendly.

We took lots of photos and loved the relaxed humour of the place.

I think we feel fortunate to have visited in off peak season as I reckon it's absolutely pumping over winter.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vixporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Daly Waters Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daly Waters Pub

Property: The Daly Waters Pub
Address: Stuart St, Daly Waters, Northern Territory 0852, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Daly Waters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Daly Waters
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic multi-award winning Daly Waters Pub is an iconic Australian outback pub. There are a variety of accommodation styles to select for your stay ranging from deluxe 2 bedroom cabins to backpacker dorms. All accommodation is air-conditioned with linen supplied. The pub is 600 kms south of Darwin, 290 kms south of Katherine and 900 kms north of Alice Springs. It is a welcome stop for weary travellers with meals available from 7.00 am til 8.30 pm. There are 6 beers on tap and an extensive selection of wines. During the Dry Season (May - October) there is free entertainment nightly. There is a shady caravan park with powered and unpowered sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your The Daly Waters Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daly Waters Pub Northern Territory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing