We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique place in the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Daly Waters Pub
Ranked #1 of 1 Daly Waters B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A unique place in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We stayed here for 1 night in September 2016 as part of an organised tour.

Watch for the wallabies on your drive up to the pub - they're everywhere. We arrived here after a long day of travelling and given its location, it was still over 30 degrees at 6pm when we got here so a cool pint was very welcome.

We had accommodation just off the pub itself - it was basic, but fine for one night. Our room had bunk beds, with air con - there was also some mossie spray too which was definitely needed. There was one bathroom with a shower and toilet in the dorm, otherwise we had to use the communal toilets outside - again, this was fine for one night.

The pub is infamous for its collections - tonnes of ID badges, flip flops, road signs, clothes, flags etc. It's got a great atmosphere - there's a pool table and in the end, we just sat and played cards.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLush101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    135
    40
    14
    11
See reviews for
66
157
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We were almost on the last stretch of the drive from Sydney to Darwin travelling for work. We had prepaid for our room but my hubbie said will we keep driving- we would be in Darwin by bedtime? We flipped a coin and decided to stop for the night and boy am I glad we did - what an experience!

On arrival late afternoon we had a friendly greeting and easy check-in, stopping for a cold drink in this iconic, friendly relaxed pub.

We then headed over to our motel room which was diagonally opposite the pub. The room had air con, fridge, tiny but fine ensuite and I have to say was absolutely spotlessly clean. That really impressed me. The room was basic and if as a couple we were stopping more that one night we now think we would pay for a cabin to have more space but for one night this did us very nicely.

We headed over for a drink before dinner, and had cheesy garlic bread followed by really good steaks - with the first bernaise sauce the whole trip (yum!).

Staff could not do more to help you and were all very friendly.

We took lots of photos and loved the relaxed humour of the place.

I think we feel fortunate to have visited in off peak season as I reckon it's absolutely pumping over winter.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vixporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Best service from Mick and fantastic meals at great prices! The hotel has so much memorabilia make sure you stay a couple of days at least to see everything!!
So glad we made the stop... even in the wet season!!!

Room Tip: Go in the off season Feb - April
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2017

A must for everyone passing by. Great Staff, Awesome music, great friends are made. Even the Manager hangs out having a laugh with everyone. The Beef and Barra was amazing. Friends we made here will last a lifetime

Room Tip: Camping only
See more room tips
Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fez66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We stopped in on a Saturday night and set up our camper van in the caravan park that is part of the pub. Really nice grassy park. Really clean bathrooms and plenty of them.

Then we headed to the pub for a really delicious dinner and a great night. Sitting out front. The atmosphere made it lots of fun for us. Couldn't stop taking photos as it is such a cool iconic pub.

Chatted to the locals, staff and owner. All so friendly and so helpful.
Would love to visit again.
Best spot to stop on route from Katherine to Tennant Creek. Or just go for fun !

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Daly Waters Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daly Waters Pub

Property: The Daly Waters Pub
Address: Stuart St, Daly Waters, Northern Territory 0852, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Daly Waters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Daly Waters
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic multi-award winning Daly Waters Pub is an iconic Australian outback pub. There are a variety of accommodation styles to select for your stay ranging from deluxe 2 bedroom cabins to backpacker dorms. All accommodation is air-conditioned with linen supplied. The pub is 600 kms south of Darwin, 290 kms south of Katherine and 900 kms north of Alice Springs. It is a welcome stop for weary travellers with meals available from 7.00 am til 8.30 pm. There are 6 beers on tap and an extensive selection of wines. During the Dry Season (May - October) there is free entertainment nightly. There is a shady caravan park with powered and unpowered sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your The Daly Waters Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daly Waters Pub Northern Territory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing