We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sands Holiday Apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Living room Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Living room
Living room
Living room
Living room
Living room with original victorian fire place
kitchen
kitchen
Ground floor bedroom with original wood floor
double bedroom wheelchair accessible
Internal hall way of the apartment with vintage artwork
Lower level second bedroom with two single beds
Lower level second bedroom with two single beds
Lower level second bedroom with two single beds
Wet room bathroom/ wheelchair accessible
outdoor sitting area
Garden/courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Westgate-on-Sea, Isle of Thanet, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Erica Lou...
2 reviews
“Sands Holiday Apartment”
Reviewed 20 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Once again we have enjoyed staying in this lovely apartment. It's very spacious, very close to amenities and a real hone from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue T
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely large flat in brilliant location, close to a fab beach”
Reviewed 31 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The flat is beautiful, it is just like stepping into someone's home. It is large and has everything you could need. The beds were really comfortable. It is 5 mins walk from Westgate on Sea beach, brilliant when you are carrying coolbox, chairs, blanket, play equiprment etc etc! - we tried many other beaches but this was our definite favourite - not crowded, sandcastle type sand, easy to get onto beach, lifeguards. The shops in Westgate on Sea were really handy - a fab greengrocers and a busy but good Coop. The fish and chip shop, just round another corner from the flat, served great food with very friendly staff. We went to Dreamland and were pleasantly surprised, there were many new rides and inside Dreamland it was really clean and spruced up. The food prices were a bit steep, (you can't take your own food), but overall it was a brilliant day out. There were extra activities on the day we went - the kids loved the football skills - even in 35 degree heat! We also went to Wildwood which was another brilliant day out - saw the bears and wolves as well as many other animals. There is a rope bridge over the bear compound so you can take photos quite easily, we got some lovely ones of the bears playing. We enjoyed a couple of hours at the Turner Contemporary gallery and saw Paula the Polar Bear which was great - she is very life like! We hired a 4-person bike at Minnis Bay - an hour was enough but it was a great laugh. The Ramsgate tunnels were also interesting and we went to the Micro museum at Ramsgate, lovely friendly staff, and spent hours playing old computer games and learning about the history of computing and gaming from brilliant info boards on display at the museum. One other thing worth a mention is that we didn't seem to pay for parking at Margate or Ramsgate, there always seemed to be free parking and it was quite close to the centre. The charges at Broadstairs and Minnis beach car parks were a different story - £4 per hour and £4 for 2 hours respectively, but maybe there was cheaper parking if you knew where. We loved Kent and felt there was a lot more to do so will come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingdomVi...
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful and spacious”
Reviewed 12 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had a lovely stay, visiting Margate about a mile away and the sea is a 3 minute walk away. we had a lovely time in the nice clean apartment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konnie B
Berlin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice, Comfortable Apartment Close to Train Station and Shops”
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed in this apartment for a two weeks’ holiday in Westgate on Sea. It was well equipped; we found everything we needed including a washing machine and a dishwasher. There were two bedrooms. The main bedroom was on the ground level as the rest of the apartment. The second bedroom was downstairs, just below the main bedroom. We even had a private little court where we liked to sit when the weather was fine.

From the apartment, it was a 100 m walk to the main road with a lot of shops, cafés and restaurants. Westgate Station was a 200 m walk from the apartment. The seafront was about 300 m away.

Though we had no private car park, we always managed to find a place to leave the car very close to the apartment.

We did a lot of sightseeing in the area. We went to several gardens including the famous Sissinghurst. Should you like to go there, we recommend a visit during the week as Sissinghurst is always very busy. Don’t miss ancient Canterbury with its cathedral and historic Rochester with its cathedral and interesting places connected with Charles Dickens. We went on a boat trip on the river Medway and really enjoyed it.

Whatever you plan to do during your stay in Westgate on Sea, this is the ideal place to start from.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ms_Shorty...
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous apartment + great location = wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was our second holiday spent at the lovely Sands holiday apartment. Once again, Anna ensured that our much-treasured family holiday went smoothly. From booking, to the wonderful friendly welcome from Anna’s agent, Claire, to the prompt return of our security deposit, I cannot fault it.

Claire was there to greet us upon our arrival and was on-hand to deal with any queries throughout the week. The apartment is beautiful and provides everything needed for a relaxing holiday – a real home-from-home.

We spent each day at St Mildred’s Bay, which is a very short walk away. No car required, but if you are driving, there is some free parking adjacent to the beach.

On the one day the weather was overcast, we walked into Margate, explored the new Dreamland amusement park, visited the Turner Contemporary art gallery and then played Adventure Golf at Westbrook, before walking back to Westgate. There is no shortage of things to do within walking distance, or a short train journey away, for the less-energetic!!

I have been visiting Westgate-on-Sea since my childhood in the 1970’s and it remains beautiful and unspoilt. If you are looking for a real traditional seaside holiday, staying in a beautiful apartment, then this is for you.

Thank you, Anna!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect apartment near beautiful beach.
Liked least: Our week away coming to an end!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing