We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will always keep going back for more.”

Rookin House Activity Centre
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Troutbeck
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established for over 20 years Rookin House has an amazing range of activities at competitive prices.We can offer activities for individuals, families and large groups including stag& hen and corporate.We are situated half way between Keswick and Penrith (9miles from each) and 4 miles from Ullswater.The mountain range of Blencathra provides a stunning back drop for the centre.Activities include Horse Riding, Pony Trekking, Clay Pigeon Shooting, Air Rifles, Archery, Indoor Karting, Human Bowling, Zip Wire, Assault Course, Argo Cat Off Road Experience, Dakar 4 X 4 and a Stalwart Army Truck.Pre-booking advisable.
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Have been going for years and years. Never fails to be great. Whole bunch of different things to do. Go-karting in the huge stables with the floor sprayed to make it a bit skiddy is brilliant fun. Only possible let down is the quads that have health and safety limitations so are rather tame (much more fun 20 years ago when the rules were different) though the kids like the mini ones. Great for large or small groups, and is also an excellent and sizeable equestrian centre for individual lessons etc. Staff are lovely and highly experienced. Oh and it is often mucky (though you'll be kitted out in the right gear) - if that's not your thing then you may not enjoy it so much.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rookinhouse_13, General Manager at Rookin House Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Thanks for your kind review, hopefully you will be coming for a few more years to come :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"clay pigeon shooting"
in 94 reviews
"go karting"
in 38 reviews
"quad biking"
in 86 reviews
"great fun"
in 49 reviews
"rookin house"
in 117 reviews
"assault course"
in 15 reviews
"pony trek"
in 11 reviews
"argo cat"
in 34 reviews
"self catering"
in 14 reviews
"hen do"
in 8 reviews
"off roading"
in 4 reviews
"great morning"
in 7 reviews
"different activities"
in 7 reviews
"explained everything"
in 6 reviews
"staff were lovely"
in 5 reviews
"lake district"
in 17 reviews
"outdoor activities"
in 4 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

My partner and i did the couples activity today what a fab day we have had! Clay pigeon shooting archery bit of competitive fun between us! Then quad biking which was fantastic! Dakar off roading which was a bit scary but good fun! We then finished our day off go-karting back to being competitive! Really good facilities and staff very friendly warm and welcoming defo reccommend.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank lisajLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Got to the beautiful farm and was given a safety briefing, clear instructions given and friendly staff on the desk.
We had to wait for another couple to finish quad biking so we sat outside on the bench in the sunshine with the farm dogs who were also very friendly.
We then went into the barn for go-karting, given overalls and helmets by the instructor. She went through everything again and was helpful and reassuring. We opted for 35 laps but honestly could have gone all day! We had an absolute blast! Skidding around in horse poop and overtaking each other. Would highly recommend this activity especially if you want to learn how to drift like a boss. Would definitely come back again. Thanks for having us :)

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank bethanynash90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

There is a range of activities which could be fun. But for us, it wasn't a great experience, at least in the first part.

We visited this place for clay pigeon shooting and quad bike ride.

The actual shooting took about 20 min, but the guy that was giving us the instructions and happened to be the owner of the place kept bullying his politics talks on us for nearly 30 min. He seemed to be Middle East expert, though he has never been in Middle East or close to it (according to himself) in his entire life. We tried our best not to confront him, and just enjoy the moment but on the other hand he kept going on and on before the shooting, during the shooting and after the shooting.
We enjoyed the quad bike ride though ( with a different instructor).

Date of experience: August 2018
5  Thank Samad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2018

I enjoy my clay pigeon shooting but finding a good ESP layout has been difficult . Because of bad weather I was not able to visit the Watch Hill ground I had intended and therefore looked for a alternative which proved to be Rookin House . The main objective seems to be to introduce first time shooters to the sport . I am an experienced shot who likes a more difficult target and the chap who was to look after me soon realised what I wanted and with the aid of some very good traps was able to provide the targets i enjoyed . However with No ESP layout suitable for a shooting party I feel the centre is missing out on a possible oppertunity, I enjoyed the good but limited facilities ,pity I and my friends are looking for a ground for next years boys shooting holiday .

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Marikosan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rookin House Activity Centre also viewed

Lake District, Cumbria
 
Pooley Bridge, Penrith
 

Been to Rookin House Activity Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing