We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ferienpark Weissenhaeuser Strand(Wangels)(Great Value!)
USD 80
USD 62
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 563
USD 551
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Teichwiesenhof(Oldenburg in Holstein)
USD 112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Hotel Seelust(Hohwacht)
USD 167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
USD 153
USD 149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 156
USD 152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
46
80
21
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
80
21
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Parking can seem to be a challenge at first arrival, as you need to pass a turnpike, but just grab a ticket and park your car, reception will fix it later. The hotel rooms were spacious and clean, in bright not so modern colors. There was a small balcony best suited to dry swimsuits, but with a lovely view to forest and sand dunes. The restaurant at the hotel was great for breakfast, did not try for other meals, and other restaurants can be found in the area, although with somewhat limited variations on the menu. Great place for families with indoor waterpark and reptile/play park in the area. The swimming pool at the hotel was also good, but no jumping from the ledge. A beautiful pier nearby and a beach with rentable chairs to avoid wind. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHCBrunoWolf, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Strandhotel Weissenhaeuser Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Dear Annett H,

Thank you very much for your nice and pleasant review of our Strandhotel Weissenhäuser Strand, here on Tripadvisor. We highly appreciate this, because we are well aware that this causes you an extra effort.But very important for us to get this direct feedback, as well as for other readers to reasure them of their possible hotel choice.
Regarding your comment about parking facilities: There are spaces for all hotel- as well as holiday resort guests, even when sold out. However, during peak times it might happen that you get space in the not so direct surroundings of your accommodation. We kindly ask for your understanding when this happens, since we are unable to reserve a fixed space.
The hotel rooms at the Strandhotel Weissenhäuser Strand have last been fully renovated 8 years ago and these colours are more or less timeless, but as always in hotels, not everybody's taste!
Too bad that you did not try one of our very large varieties of restaurants. The restaurant Sonnenrose at the Strandhotel, where you had breakfast, is obviously not the only one. Have a look at our Weissenhäuser Strand Website to get all other information about the hotel as well as the holiday park. Your next booking should also be made there, since it guarantees the highest availability and best rates and deals at all times. Besides that, it is the perfect place to let us know all our special requests, so that we can even better prepare for your next stay with us here at Weissenhäuser Strand.
We are certainly looking forward to that.
Best regards

David Depenau
Geschäftsführer Ferien- und Freizeitpark
WEISSENHÄUSER STRAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We are a family with two kids. We did not book early enough, as we suddenly came up with the idea of visiting Weissenhäuser Strand again. The staff at the booking was eager to offer us a solution, and we ended up with two double rooms. Of course more expensive than a family room, but that we just had to cope with, in respect to our late booking (about one week before the visit, in July). It´s a lot to do i Weissenhäser Strand, that´s why we came back for the third time. We found the hotel very nice, with a good breakfast, clean and spacious rooms and a good service. I recommend it highly, as the Weissenhäuser Strand in general.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ketil67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHCBrunoWolf, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Strandhotel Weissenhaeuser Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Dear Ketil67,

We are very pleased to read your nice comments about our Strandhotel Weissenhäuser Strand, here on Tripadvisor. It goes without saying that we gladly forward your compliments to our entire team.
We are sorry to read that you did not get the requested room choice due to your indeed late booking in high season. But we are glad that it all worked out at the end and you had a nice stay with us again here at the Baltic sea.
This gives us the opportunity not only to thank you for your stay with us, but also to give you a good recommendation for your next stay: Please become one of our more than 109.000 Facebook fans. You will than never miss any news about the Strandhotel, the holiday park, the surroundings of Weissenhäuser Strand, and most importantly any advance booking offers as well as sometimes also last minute hotel and resort offers and deals.
When making your next booking, please make sure to only use our own official Weissenhäuser Strand website. This will ensure that you not only get the best and most complete information, but also the highest availability and best rates at all times. While making your booking, you should also let us know any special requests you might have. We can then even better prepare for your next stay with us here at the Strandhotel Weissenhäuser Strand or the holiday park.
We are certainly looking forward to having you as our valued guest again here at Weissenhäuser Strand.

David Depenau
Geschäftsführer Ferien- und Freizeitpark
WEISSENHÄUSER STRAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Fantastic place for a family trip or in a larger group. We visited 7 families together and really enjoyed the many activities for both children and adults.
We can recommend this place for all families but probably not a place to go without children.

Room Tip: Clean but a little old
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clausa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHCBrunoWolf, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Strandhotel Weissenhaeuser Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

Dear clausa10,

We are very pleased to read your nice comments about our Strandhotel Weissenhäuser Strand, here on Tripadvisor. We highly appreciate your effort, since this is always the best reference for other guests to get first hand experience.
Although you mentioned positively the fact that there are many activities for adults and children, you also say that it would probably better to come only if you have children. So, you confused us somewhat. It is indeed correct that the Ferienpark Weissenhäuser Strand attracts mostly families with children. But the Strandhotel fills that other gap. We highly suggest you visit our Weissenhäuser Strand Website to make sure you are fully informed about our full range of offers and activities. And you will see that there is also a lot to do for adults. You may also consider to be part of our very large Facebook fan community with currently more than 91.000 Fans. With those 2 tools you will never miss any news, events and of course also attractive advance purchase and many more other deals. The booking should then definetely be made via our Weissenhäuser Strand website, to ensure you get the best hotel deals and availability. Besides that, you should also let us know all your special requests, so that we can even better prepare for your stay.
We are anxiously looking forward to welcome you again here at the Baltic sea
Best regards

David Depenau
Managing Director Ferien- und Freizeitpark
WEISSENHÄUSER STRAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Upon our arrival we thought that the strand hotel was underwhelming and lacked something but boy were we wrong! As we got inside there was a classy and elegant feel to the place and we were greeted with the loveliest staff after our long journey from NZ. We got to our room and it was comfortable, spacious and nice and light. There was a nice complementary breakfast buffet that had everything we could've dreamed including fresh buns! the Strand Hotel has everything to offer in the way of family fun with pools, restaurants, shops and workshops. highly recommended. We will hopefully be staying here at the end of this year with our children.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

I only stayed one night on my way home to Sweden, but am happy to have discovered this place. It is a very comprehensively equipped holiday complex by the beach, in a peaceful location, frequented by a wide spectrum of people, most of whom Germans of mid to higher status, it seems. I felt in very good company, which isn't easily found in similar complexes in Britain or the US or Australia or Spain. I'd take family here any time, too.

Mingled a bit at the bar, which is very professionally run with proper barkeepers who do the whole spiel, mixing drinks. Restaurant is excellent, too, both for dinner and for breakfast. The breakfast buffet, actually, is probably one of the nicest and best organized I have ever seen anywhere in the world.

Some of the architecture where the hotel rooms are located seem a bit old-school communist era in style (which is weird, because this place is actually located in former West Germany), but the rooms are great and spacious and nice.

Staff are very professional and also speak English well. Don't be surprised if they seem a bit blunt or brisk sometimes, that's simply the way people express themselves around this area of Germany, I've found. They are simply trying to be direct and helpful.

It may not be the cheapest place, but you get a lot for the money, and I think I could spend weeks here. They have pools and restaurants, etc.

I'll be back here whenever I drive to Sweden in future.

Room Tip: Try to avoid south facing rooms. They can get hot, and don't seem to cool down much at night. Internationals beware: No air cons!
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChrisEbbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHCBrunoWolf, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Strandhotel Weissenhaeuser Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2015

Dear ChrisEbbert,

what a pleasure to read your very detailled and certainly fantastic comments about our Ferien- und Freizeitpark Weissenhäuser Strand. You gave our holiday park such high ratings, and compared us with similar vacation spots in other countries, which makes us very proud. All readers of your comments here on Tripadvisor will hopefully make their decision to visit us too!
The holiday complex Weissenhäuser Strand has been around since the 70's which explains the architecture. But as you have most probably also noticed, we have done, and are still doing a lot of upgrades to the exteriors and interiors of most apartment buildings, the bungalows as well as the Strandhotel. Of course it goes without saying that more than 1000 holiday accommodations need their time to be renovated, and we are doing our very best to do this as fast as we can with the financial resources we have on our own, since we are a privately run holiday resort.
Also our wide range of leisure facilities are indeed second to none compared to most places across Europe, as you have noticed so well. And each winter we continue to renovate, upgrade and add new facilities such as lately our new maritime Brauhaus Möwenbräu with its beautiful seaside terrace. The new minigolf course and much more.
We also thank you for the nice comments about our staff, their professionalism, friendliness and attitude. This is obviously one of the most important assets of any hotel and holiday resort.
Now, we certainly do hope that you return to the Weissenhäuser Strand as soon as you can. And hopefully this time not only for one night, but for an entire vacation, and discover things you have not seen.
Please check our Weissenhäuser Strand website, or even better, become one of our currently 72.300 Facebook Fans. This will then always keep you informed about whats going on, whats new, and of course also attractive vacation packages, special advance booking offers which you should book right there.

Thank you again very much for your effort with this review. It has been a pleasure to serve and impress you

very best regards

David Depenau
Managing Director Ferien- und Freizeitpark
WEISSENHÄUSER STRAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews